University of Hartford Libraries

Architecture Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

African American Architects: a Biographical Dictionary, 1865-1945
Mortensen Library Reference NA736 .A47 2004

Almanac of Architecture and Design
Mortensen Library Reference NA9 .A27 2003

The Architect’s Handbook of Professional Practice
Mortensen Library Reference NA1996 .A726 2014

Architects’ Data
Mortensen Library Reference TH151 .N513 1995

Architectural Graphic Standards (Ramsey/Sleeper)
Mortensen Library Reference TH2031 .R35 2000

Architectural Graphic Standards for Residential Construction
Mortensen Library Reference TH2031 .A84254 2003

Architectural Graphic Standards: Student Edition
Mortensen Library Reference TH2031 .A84257 2008

ASTM Standards in Building Codes
Mortensen Library Reference TA404.5 .A512 2001

Becoming an architect: a Guide to Careers in Design
Mortensen Library Shelves NA1995 .W35 2014

Bloomsbury Guide to Art
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/bga]
Comprehensive surveys of the history of art and architecture.

Bridgeman Art Library Archive
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/bridgeart]
Every subject, concept, style and medium is represented, from the masterpieces of national museums to the hidden treasures of private collections. Fine art is just one of the sources of images; design, antiques, maps, architecture, furniture, glass, ceramics, anthropological artifacts and many others.

Building Construction Cost Data
Mortensen Library Reference TH435 .B84

Building Design and Construction Handbook
Mortensen Library Reference TH151 .B825 1982

Concrete Construction Engineering Handbook
Mortensen Library Reference TA681 .C743 2008

Construction Details from Architectural Graphic Standards
Mortensen Library Reference TH2031 .R353 1992

CRSI Design Handbook (w/CD-ROM)
Mortensen Library Reference TA684 .C78 2008

Design & Construction of Wood Framed Building
Mortensen Library Reference TH1101 .N423 1995

EPA New England Topics
[http://www2.epa.gov/aboutepa/epa-region-1-new-england]
Links to helpful PDF's on construction and architectural design of Green buildings specifically pertinent to New England and branching out Nationally.

Foundation Engineering Handbook: design and Construction with the 2006 International Building Code
Mortensen Library Shelves TA775 .D39 2005

Interior Graphic and Design Standards
Mortensen Library Reference NA2708 .R49 1986

Key Concepts in Urban Geography
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sageukug]
Key Concepts in Urban Geography is a new kind of textbook that forms part of an innovative set of companion texts for the human geography sub-disciplines.

Key Concepts in Urban Studies
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sageukus]
Clearly and concisely explains the basic ideas in the interdisciplinary field of urban studies.

Manual of Steel Construction: Allowable Stress Design
Mortensen Library Reference TA684 .A47 1989

Mechanical Engineer’s Handbook
Mortensen Library Reference TJ151 .M395 2006

Opportunities in Architecture Careers
Mortensen Library Shelves NA1995 .P5 2000

The Phaidon Atlas of 21st Century World Architecture
Mortensen Library Reference NA687 .P43 2008

Reinforced Concrete Designer’s Handbook
Mortensen Library Reference TA683.2 .R48

Roark’s Formulas for Stress & Strain
Mortensen Library Reference TA407.2 .R6 1989

Sweet’s Catalog File (Architects, Engineers & Contractors edition)
Mortensen Library Reference TH455 .S7864

Time Saver Standards for Architectural Design: Technical Data for Professional Practice
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/mharch?institutionId=4005]
One of the most widely recognized and respected resources for architects, engineers, and designers.

Time-saver Standards for Landscape Architecture: Design and Construction Data
Mortensen Library Shelves SB475.9.S72 T55 1988

Traditional Details for Building Restoration, Renovation, and Rehabilitation: From the 1932-1951 Editions of Architectural Graphic Standards
Mortensen Library Reference TH2031 .R3525 1990

Uhlig’s Corrosion Handbook
Mortensen Library Reference TA462 .U4 2000

Wood Reference Handbook: a Guide to the Architectural Use of Wood in Building Construction
Mortensen Library Shelves TA419 .W663 2000


Biographies

African-American Architects: A Biographical Dictionary, 1865-1945
Mortensen Library Reference NA736 .A47 2004

Biographical Dictionary of Artists, Andromeda
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/andbda]
Alphabetically arranged entries for painters, architects, and sculptors from pre-Christian times to the present.


Dictionaries

The American Heritage Abbreviations Dictionary
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/hmabbr?institutionId=4005]
Definition for abbreviations across disciplines.

Art & Architecture Thesaurus
[http://www.getty.edu/research/conducting_research/vocabularies/aat/]
Contributory Thesaurus provided by and updated by members of the Getty Museum. Also own Print 1990 edition at Mortensen Library Reference [Z695.1.A7 A76 1990]

Construction: Principles, Materials, and Methods
Mortensen Library Shelves TH145 .O43 1995

Dictionary of Architecture & Construction
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/mhbuilding]
Comprehensive in scope, this title's range spans terms encountered in the practice of architecture from Classical to green, from traditional materials to the latest products, from precise definitions of architectural styles to the particulars of specifications writing.

Dictionary of Architecture & Landscape Architecture
Mortensen Library Shelves NA31 .C864 2006

Dictionary of Architecture and Construction (Harris - McMillan)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/mhbuilding?institutionId=4005]
Broad coverage of terms that make up the basic language of architecture and construction.

A Dictionary of Art Terms: Painting, Sculpture, Architecture, Engraving and Etching, Lithography and Other Art Processes, Heraldry
Mortensen Library Reference N33.H14

Dictionary of Engineering Materials
Mortensen Library Shelves TA402 .K43 2004

Dictionary of Environmental & Civil Engineering
Mortensen Library Shelves TD9 .W43 2000

Dictionary of Landscape Architecture and Construction
Mortensen Library Shelves SB469.25 .C48 2005

Dictionary of Modern Design
Mortensen Library Shelves NK1165 .W66 2004

A Dictionary of Modern Design
Mortensen Library Reference NK1165 .W66 2004

Encyclopedia of Architecture: Design, Engineering & Construction
Mortensen Library Shelves NA31 .E59 1989

Illustrated Dictionary of Architecture
Mortensen Library Reference NA31 .B83 1998

Sturgis’ Illustrated Dictionary of Architecture and Building: an Unabridged Reprint of the 1901-2 Edition
Mortensen Library Reference NA31 .S93 1989

The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of 20th Century Architecture
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/thca]
A wide ranging and authoritative coverage of the whole spectrum of architecture and urban planning in the 20th century, and of leading architects and engineers the world over.

The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Art Terms
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/that]
Covers painting, sculpture, architecture, photography, the decorative, applied and graphic arts from all periods throughout the world up to the present day.

The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Design Since 1900
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/thdesign?institutionId=4005]
This comprehensive guide embraces all aspects of modern design: graphics, products, interiors, furniture and industrial and architectural design.

A Visual Dictionary of Architecture
Mortensen Library Reference NA31 .C44 1995


Encyclopedias

Building the World: an Encyclopedia of the Great Engineering Projects in History
Mortensen Library Reference T56 .I44 2006

Concise Encyclopedia of Composite Materials
Mortensen Library Reference TA418.9.C6 C635 1994

The Design Encyclopedia
Mortensen Library Reference NK1370 .B93 1994

Encyclopedia of 20th-Century Architecture
Mortensen Library Reference NA680 .E495 2004

Encyclopedia of Bridges & Tunnels
Mortensen Library Reference TG9 .J64 2002

Encyclopedia of Interior Design
Mortensen Library Reference NK1165 .E48 1997

Encyclopedia of Materials Science and Engineering
Mortensen Library Reference TA402 .E53 1986

Encyclopedia of Postmodernism
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/routpostm?institutionId=4005]
Comprehensive and authoritative coverage of academic disciplines, critical terms and central figures relating to the vast field of postmodern studies.

Illustrated Encyclopedia of Architects and Architecture
Mortensen Library Reference NA40 .I45 1991

The Thames and Hudson Encyclopaedia of 20th Century Design and Designers
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/thdesign]
A comprehensive guide to international developments in graphic design.


Databases

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

Applied Science and Technology Index
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=asi]
Indexing of articles from over 400 English language journals covering technical fields, including engineering, computer science, mathematics, chemistry, physics, etc. Limited number of simultaneous users. Be sure to logout/exit before closing your browser.

Art Index and the Art Index Retrospective
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aai,air]
Years Covered: 1929-
Indexing of articles from over 270 international art publications. Provides users with Art Literature, covering fine, decorative and commercial art. Limited number of simultaneous users. Be sure to logout/exit before closing your browser.

Art Index Retrospective
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=air ]
Years Covered: 1929-1984
Provides users with Art Literature, covering fine, decorative and commercial art.

ARTstor
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://library.artstor.org/]
Searchable database of over 300,000 images from museums around the world, and covering a wide range of cultures and time periods. New material added frequently. Requires Java and Flash. Cookies and popups must be enabled. See Quick Start Guide for technical information and basic searching guidance. Disable Pop Up Blocker before opening. Mac users must have OS 10.3 and use Firefox browser.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=bvh]
Years Covered: 1785-Present
Comprehensive American guide to the current literature of architecture and design. The index covers international, scholarly and popular periodical literature, including publications of professional associations; US state and regional periodicals; and major serial publications in the architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America and Australia.

BHA (Bibliography of the History of Art/International Bibliography of Art)
[http://primo.getty.edu/primo_library/libweb/action/search.do?vid=BHA]
This online resource provided free of charge from the Getty Museum is the complete index from 1991 to 2009. Mortensen Reference owns print from to 1991-1999 in Indexes and Abstracts Z5967 .B53

Essay & General Literature Index with Retrospective
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=egr,egi]
Years Covered: 1900-
Essay & General Literature offers access to tens of thousands of essays that are otherwise all but inaccessible. This resource also unlocks a wealth of information in thousands of collections and anthologies, making your library more valuable to researchers in a wide array of fields.

FindArticles (Look Smart)
[http://www.findarticles.com/]
Searches for articles in approximately 900 magazines and journals. Emphasis on trade publications. Text only - no graphic content available. Some articles available to subscribers or for a fee only.

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

GroveArt (Now Oxford Art Online)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.oxfordartonline.com]
Artists' biographies, essays on all cultures, civilizations, and art movements; articles on conservation and theory. A 720,000 item index includes all the visual arts with the exception of film. Links to related web resources and images. Full text available.

National Institute of Standards and Technology Publication Portal
[http://www.nist.gov/nvl/nist_publications.cfm]
Includes many of the most recent publications of the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST).

Oxford Art Online
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.oxfordartonline.com]
Artists' biographies, essays on all cultures, civilizations, and art movements; articles on conservation and theory. A 720,000 item index includes all the visual arts with the exception of film. Links to related web resources and images. Full text available.

RITA (Research and Innovation Technology Administration) National Transportation Library
[http://ntlsearch.bts.gov/repository/index.do]
The Research and Innovative Technology Administration (RITA) coordinates the U.S. Department of Transportation's (DOT) research programs and is charged with advancing the deployment of cross-cutting technologies to improve our Nation’s transportation system.

TRID - The TRIS and ITRD Database
[http://trid.trb.org/]
The TRIS/ITRD Online database contains over half a million records of published transportation research including technical reports, books, conference proceedings and journal articles. Currently there are almost 24,000 TRIS records with links to electronic copies of the full-text. The time span covers literature from the 1960s to the present, with some coverage of prior years. Highway Research Board publications are covered back to 1923. TRIS/ITRD coverage includes the disciplines of planning, finance, design and construction, materials, environmental issues, safety and human factors and operations for the modes of highways, transit, railroads, maritime and aviation. TRIS does not contain information on vehicle standards and specifications, patent information, market research, military transport or news articles.

Web Urbanist
[http://weburbanist.com/2011/08/26/reading-revolution-14-marvelous-modern-libraries/]
Web Urbanist covers the collective life of our times through the lens of creative visual culture in the beating hearts of our cities. From urban design to individual homes, and subversive street graffiti to compelling works of gallery art, our authors scour the net to find the most innovative, compelling and cutting-edge artworks and designs in the world.

World Digital Library (WDL)
[http://www.wdl.org/en/]
The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, digital images of significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.


Periodicals

Arcspace Magazine Online
[https://arcspace.com/]
Architectural News and Galleries.

Nineteenth-Century Art Worldwide
[http://www.19thc-artworldwide.org/about-the-journal]
An electronic journal of 19th century visual culture.


Websites

American Memory Project (Library of Congress)
[https://memory.loc.gov/ammem/index.html]
Superb collection of American historical links, plus prints, photographic images, and other excellent graphics.

Arch Daily
[http://www.archdaily.com/]
Online source of continuous information for a growing community of thousands of architects searching for the latest architectural news: design plans, projects, products, events, interviews and competitions among others.

Architecture - WWW Virtual Library
[http://vlib.org/Architecture]
Offering links for architectural studies.

Archives of American Art (Smithsonian Institution)
[http://www.aaa.si.edu/]
A repository of primary materials: letters, diaries, scrapbooks, catalogues,documentation of all kinds. Helpful "How to" box at the top of the screen to allow to search, question, etc.

arcspace.com
[http://www.arcspace.com/index.shtml]
architecture and design magazine that features today's most creative projects as well as the most influential of the past.

ArtPromote
[http://www.artpromote.com/]
Search for websites, images and other information for Art, Science and Humanities

ArtSource
[http://www.ilpi.com/artsource/welcome.html]
Networked resources on Art and Architecture with links to art journals online, electronic exhibits, image collections, vendor and organizational information.

Asian Arts
[http://www.asianart.com/]
Exhibits, articles, and galleries for the study and exhibition of the arts of Asia.

Built in America
[http://www.loc.gov/teachers/classroommaterials/connections/historic-buildings/]
Information from two Library of Congress projects. Historic American Buildings Survey and Historic American Engineering Records. Includes photographs, drawings, etc. Search or browse.

Chartres: Cathedral of Notre-Dame
[http://images.library.pitt.edu/cgi-bin/i/image/image-idx?c=chartres]
The most comprehensive collection of images and descriptions of Chartres Cathedral. Over 3000 high resolution images detailing architecture, sculpture, stained glass windows, wall paintings and manuscript illuminations.

Designinform Research Guides
[http://www.designinform.co.uk/researchguides.htm]
Links to websites in all types of design, architecture and art forms.

Digital Bridges: Bridges of the Nineteenth Century (Lehigh University Libraries)
[http://bridges.lib.lehigh.edu/]
Digital images from 19th Century American bridge engineering monographs, manuals and documents.

Earthquake Engineering (University of California, Berkeley)
[https://nisee.berkeley.edu/elibrary/]
Based on a text by V.V. Bertero, provides an illustrated introduction to earthquake engineering principles. Features photographs and an overview of recent research.

Earthquake Engineering Online Archive (University of California, Berkeley)
[https://nisee.berkeley.edu/elibrary/]
Over 500 photographs with annotations designed to illustrate particular facets of structural theory, response or design. Includes historic and modern structures.

Emporis Buildings- The Building Industry Platform
[http://www.emporis.com/]
International Database about Buildings, Construction and the Real-Estate industry.

Environmental Design Library
[http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/ENVI/]
Links to useful resources for Architecture, City Planning, Environmental Planning, Landscape Architecture and Urban Design

Environmental Planning Online (UC Berkeley)
[http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/ENVI/environmentalplanning_links.html]
A selection of websites pertaining to environmental planning, supporting landscape architecture, environmental planning, and city planning programs at the University of California, Berkeley.

The Florence Art Guide
[http://www.mega.it/eng/egui/hogui.htm]
Explore Florence monuments, museums, historic periods, artists and images through its indexes, check current events, schedules, travel, and all sorts of tourist information.

Global Development Research Center
[http://www.gdrc.org/]
Independent nonprofit think tank that carries out initiatives in education, research and practice, in the spheres of environment, urban, community and information, and at scales that are effective.

The Great Building Collection
[http://www.greatbuildings.com/]
The Great Building Collection - Gateway to world architecture. Search for thousands of buildings and hundreds of architects. Photographic images, architectural drawings, commentaries, web links and 3D models

Green Home Guide
[http://greenhomeguide.com/]
Learn all there is to know about environmentally friendly building and construction.

Green Building Guidelines
[http://www.co.contra-costa.ca.us/depart/cd/recycle/gbg/]
Green Building documents for download provided by the Contra Costa County Department of Conservation & Development in California.

Green Design; Sustainable Architecture: Resources
[http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/ENVI/GreenAll.html]
UC Berkeley Environmental Design Library extensive bibliography on sustainable design of buildings. Links to additional research guides on solar design, daylighting, and other design topics.

The Huntington Art Collections
[http://www.huntington.org/WebAssets/Templates/content.aspx?id=202]
One of the most important specialized art collections in the country, devoted primarily to British art of the 18th and early 19th century. Excellent images. Searchable.

Labyrinth (Georgetown University)
[http://labyrinth.georgetown.edu/]
Indispensable guide to the Medieval world online, with extensive links to texts, images, and archival databases. A truly extraordinary resource.

MIT Libraries: Rotch Visual Collections
[http://libraries.mit.edu/rotch/rotch-collections/]
Art, archaeology, architecture, photography, and more.

NetSERF: The Internet Connection for Medieval Resources (Catholic University of America)
[http://www.netserf.org/]
Enjoyable, well-organized site for all things medieval. Extensive links to museum collections, primary source documents, and image archives.

The State Hermitage Museum
[http://www.hermitagemuseum.org/wps/portal/hermitage/?lng=en]
Searchable site of one of the greatest museums of the world. Hundreds of high resolution, enlargeable images in a fast growing digital collection. Zoom in on details.

UCLA E-Resources
[http://www2.library.ucla.edu/search/1486.cfm]
Selected internet Sources on various academic topics. A most comprehensive and thoughtfully organized collection of links.

Urban Environmental Management from The Global Development Research Center
[http://www.gdrc.org/uem/]
Articles, links and information on aspects and issues with urban environmental management.

Voice of the Shuttle
[http://vos.ucsb.edu/]
Extensive links to every variety of Web site in the humanities, law, political science, anthropology, business and media studies.

Voice of the Shuttle: Architecture Page
[http://vos.ucsb.edu/browse.asp?id=2705]
The server offers general resources, architects, works, projects, design, historical preservation, museums and libraries, journals, and more.

WWW Virtual Library
[http://www.vlib.us/]
Distributed subject catalog. Megasite, constantly updated.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Architecture