University of Hartford Libraries

Architectural Engineering Technology Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

Almanac of Architecture and Design
Mortensen Library Reference NA9 .A27 2003

The Architect’s Handbook of Professional Practice
Mortensen Library Reference NA1996 .A726 2014

Architects’ Data
Mortensen Library Reference TH151 .N513 1995

Architectural Graphic Standards (Ramsey/Sleeper)
Mortensen Library Reference TH2031 .R35 2000

Architectural Graphic Standards for Residential Construction
Mortensen Library Reference TH2031 .A84254 2003

Architectural Graphic Standards: Student Edition
Mortensen Library Reference TH2031 .A84257 2008

ASTM Standards in Building Codes
Mortensen Library Reference TA404.5 .A512 2001

Becoming an architect: a Guide to Careers in Design
Mortensen Library Shelves NA1995 .W35 2014

Building Construction Cost Data
Mortensen Library Reference TH435 .B84

Building Design and Construction Handbook
Mortensen Library Reference TH151 .B825 1982

Concrete Construction Engineering Handbook
Mortensen Library Reference TA681 .C743 2008

Construction Details from Architectural Graphic Standards
Mortensen Library Reference TH2031 .R353 1992

CRSI Design Handbook (w/CD-ROM)
Mortensen Library Reference TA684 .C78 2008

Design & Construction of Wood Framed Building
Mortensen Library Reference TH1101 .N423 1995

EPA New England Topics
[http://www2.epa.gov/aboutepa/epa-region-1-new-england]
Links to helpful PDF's on construction and architectural design of Green buildings specifically pertinent to New England and branching out Nationally.

Foundation Engineering Handbook: design and Construction with the 2006 International Building Code
Mortensen Library Shelves TA775 .D39 2005

Handbook of Environmental Sociology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/gwenvsoc?institutionId=4005]
provides overviews of key topics in the field, summarizing and synthesizing existing research.

Interior Graphic and Design Standards
Mortensen Library Reference NA2708 .R49 1986

Key Concepts in Urban Geography
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sageukug]
Key Concepts in Urban Geography is a new kind of textbook that forms part of an innovative set of companion texts for the human geography sub-disciplines.

Key Concepts in Urban Studies
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sageukus]
Clearly and concisely explains the basic ideas in the interdisciplinary field of urban studies.

Manual of Steel Construction: Allowable Stress Design
Mortensen Library Reference TA684 .A47 1989

Mechanical Engineer’s Handbook
Mortensen Library Reference TJ151 .M395 2006

Opportunities in Architecture Careers
Mortensen Library Shelves NA1995 .P5 2000

The Phaidon Atlas of 21st Century World Architecture
Mortensen Library Reference NA687 .P43 2008

Reinforced Concrete Designer’s Handbook
Mortensen Library Reference TA683.2 .R48

Roark’s Formulas for Stress & Strain
Mortensen Library Reference TA407.2 .R6 1989

Site Details from Architectural Graphic Standards
Mortensen Library Reference TH2031 .A84 1992

Site Details from Architectural Graphic Standards
Mortensen Library Reference TH2031 .A84 1992

Sweet’s Catalog File (Architects, Engineers & Contractors edition)
Mortensen Library Reference TH455 .S7864

Time Saver Standards for Architectural Design: Technical Data for Professional Practice
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/mharch?institutionId=4005]
One of the most widely recognized and respected resources for architects, engineers, and designers.

Time-saver Standards for Landscape Architecture: Design and Construction Data
Mortensen Library Shelves SB475.9.S72 T55 1988

Traditional Details for Building Restoration, Renovation, and Rehabilitation: From the 1932-1951 Editions of Architectural Graphic Standards
Mortensen Library Reference TH2031 .R3525 1990

Uhlig’s Corrosion Handbook
Mortensen Library Reference TA462 .U4 2000

Wood Reference Handbook: a Guide to the Architectural Use of Wood in Building Construction
Mortensen Library Shelves TA419 .W663 2000


Dictionaries

Art & Architecture Thesaurus
[http://www.getty.edu/research/conducting_research/vocabularies/aat/]
Contributory Thesaurus provided by and updated by members of the Getty Museum. Also own Print 1990 edition at Mortensen Library Reference [Z695.1.A7 A76 1990]

Construction: Principles, Materials, and Methods
Mortensen Library Shelves TH145 .O43 1995

Dictionary of Architecture & Construction
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/mhbuilding]
Comprehensive in scope, this title's range spans terms encountered in the practice of architecture from Classical to green, from traditional materials to the latest products, from precise definitions of architectural styles to the particulars of specifications writing.

Dictionary of Architecture & Landscape Architecture
Mortensen Library Shelves NA31 .C864 2006

Dictionary of Architecture and Construction (Harris - McMillan)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/mhbuilding?institutionId=4005]
Broad coverage of terms that make up the basic language of architecture and construction.

Dictionary of Engineering Materials
Mortensen Library Shelves TA402 .K43 2004

Dictionary of Engineering Terms, Butterworth-Heinemann
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/bhidet]
A comprehensive dictionary of terms for engineering students containing significant numbers of entries for all aspects of the Engineering Field

Dictionary of Environmental & Civil Engineering
Mortensen Library Shelves TD9 .W43 2000

Dictionary of Landscape Architecture and Construction
Mortensen Library Shelves SB469.25 .C48 2005

Dictionary of Modern Design
Mortensen Library Shelves NK1165 .W66 2004

A Dictionary of Modern Design
Mortensen Library Reference NK1165 .W66 2004

Encyclopedia of Architecture: Design, Engineering & Construction
Mortensen Library Shelves NA31 .E59 1989

Illustrated Dictionary of Architecture
Mortensen Library Reference NA31 .B83 1998

McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Materials Science
Mortensen Library Reference TA402 .M347 2003

Means Illustrated Construction Dictionary
Mortensen Library Reference TH9 .M4 2000

Sturgis’ Illustrated Dictionary of Architecture and Building: an Unabridged Reprint of the 1901-2 Edition
Mortensen Library Reference NA31 .S93 1989

The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of 20th Century Architecture
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/thca]
A wide ranging and authoritative coverage of the whole spectrum of architecture and urban planning in the 20th century, and of leading architects and engineers the world over.

A Visual Dictionary of Architecture
Mortensen Library Reference NA31 .C44 1995


Directories

Environmental Guidebook: a Selective Reference Guide to Environmental Organizations and Related Entities
Mortensen Library Reference TD171 .S76 2002


Encyclopedias

Building the World: an Encyclopedia of the Great Engineering Projects in History
Mortensen Library Reference T56 .I44 2006

Concise Encyclopedia of Composite Materials
Mortensen Library Reference TA418.9.C6 C635 1994

The Design Encyclopedia
Mortensen Library Reference NK1370 .B93 1994

Encyclopedia of 20th Century Technology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/routt?institutionId=4005]
Up-to-date reference work for all those involved in teaching or researching the history of twentieth-century technology.

Encyclopedia of 20th-Century Architecture
Mortensen Library Reference NA680 .E495 2004

Encyclopedia of Bridges & Tunnels
Mortensen Library Reference TG9 .J64 2002

Encyclopedia of Interior Design
Mortensen Library Reference NK1165 .E48 1997

Encyclopedia of Materials Science and Engineering
Mortensen Library Reference TA402 .E53 1986

Illustrated Encyclopedia of Architects and Architecture
Mortensen Library Reference NA40 .I45 1991

The Thames and Hudson Encyclopaedia of 20th Century Design and Designers
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/thdesign]
A comprehensive guide to international developments in graphic design.


Databases

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

Applied Science and Technology Index
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=asi]
Indexing of articles from over 400 English language journals covering technical fields, including engineering, computer science, mathematics, chemistry, physics, etc. Limited number of simultaneous users. Be sure to logout/exit before closing your browser.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=bvh]
Years Covered: 1785-Present
Comprehensive American guide to the current literature of architecture and design. The index covers international, scholarly and popular periodical literature, including publications of professional associations; US state and regional periodicals; and major serial publications in the architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America and Australia.

BHA (Bibliography of the History of Art/International Bibliography of Art)
[http://primo.getty.edu/primo_library/libweb/action/search.do?vid=BHA]
This online resource provided free of charge from the Getty Museum is the complete index from 1991 to 2009. Mortensen Reference owns print from to 1991-1999 in Indexes and Abstracts Z5967 .B53

Compendex (Engineering Village)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.engineeringvillage.com]
Years Covered: 1969-present
The Engineering Village Compendex is one of the most comprehensive engineering literature databases available to engineers.

Energy Citations Database
[http://www.osti.gov/energycitations/]
Searchable database of information on research sponsored by the US Department of Energy and its predecessors. Some full text online, ordering information for those not online.

E-Print Network
[http://www.osti.gov/home/scienceinfo]
Searchable gateway to documents in scientific and technical fields of concern to the US Department of Energy. Full text available.

FindArticles (Look Smart)
[http://www.findarticles.com/]
Searches for articles in approximately 900 magazines and journals. Emphasis on trade publications. Text only - no graphic content available. Some articles available to subscribers or for a fee only.

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

GREENfile
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=8gh]
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.

IEEE Xplore
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://ieeexplore.ieee.org/search/advsearch.jsp]
Years Covered: 2005 - Present
The IEEE Xplore digital library is a powerful resource for discovery and access to scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. Full Text Access may be limited to our journal subscriptions. Click on "What can I access?" link to see coverage.

National Institute of Standards and Technology Publication Portal
[http://www.nist.gov/nvl/nist_publications.cfm]
Includes many of the most recent publications of the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST).

PolySearch Energy
[http://www2.hawaii.edu/~jacso/extra/egyeb/poly-energy.htm]
Search for abstracts (and occasional full text of articles) across up to 15 databases related to energy science. Results from each database display in a separate window.

RITA (Research and Innovation Technology Administration) National Transportation Library
[http://ntlsearch.bts.gov/repository/index.do]
The Research and Innovative Technology Administration (RITA) coordinates the U.S. Department of Transportation's (DOT) research programs and is charged with advancing the deployment of cross-cutting technologies to improve our Nation’s transportation system.

ScienceResearch.com
[http://www.scienceresearch.com]
This site is a free, publicly available web portal allowing access to numerous scientific journals and public science databases. Search for materials in the topics of astronomy, biology, chemistry, computers, environmental sciences, engineering, health and medicine, materials science, mathematics, physics, and social sciences. Full text. Also includes links to related sites.

SciFinder
[https://scifinder.cas.org/scifinder]
SciFinder Scholar is an application that provides access to the CAS databases, Chemical Abstracts and Registry. You must use your University email account to register (example: name@hartford.edu). Registration and use must occur on campus. Click this PDF for more detailed instructions:
SciFinder Instructions (PDF)

Link for registration: SciFinder Registration

Scitation (AIP) and SPIN - formerly Online Journal Publishing Service
[http://scitation.aip.org/]
Free access to this index (some full text or abstracts) of more than 40 professional journals and 1 million articles in physics, engineering and computer science including full text for Physical Review & Physical Review Letters. SPIN contains 1.5 million articles from leading Physics publications. You may search Scitation and SPIN in one search or separately.

TRID - The TRIS and ITRD Database
[http://trid.trb.org/]
The TRIS/ITRD Online database contains over half a million records of published transportation research including technical reports, books, conference proceedings and journal articles. Currently there are almost 24,000 TRIS records with links to electronic copies of the full-text. The time span covers literature from the 1960s to the present, with some coverage of prior years. Highway Research Board publications are covered back to 1923. TRIS/ITRD coverage includes the disciplines of planning, finance, design and construction, materials, environmental issues, safety and human factors and operations for the modes of highways, transit, railroads, maritime and aviation. TRIS does not contain information on vehicle standards and specifications, patent information, market research, military transport or news articles.


Periodicals

Arcspace Magazine Online
[https://arcspace.com/]
Architectural News and Galleries.


Websites

Arch Daily
[http://www.archdaily.com/]
Online source of continuous information for a growing community of thousands of architects searching for the latest architectural news: design plans, projects, products, events, interviews and competitions among others.

Architecture - WWW Virtual Library
[http://vlib.org/Architecture]
Offering links for architectural studies.

arcspace.com
[http://www.arcspace.com/index.shtml]
architecture and design magazine that features today's most creative projects as well as the most influential of the past.

Building Materials by McGraw-Hill Sweets
[http://sweets.construction.com/]
Searchable collections of catalogs for construction and building.

Built in America
[http://www.loc.gov/teachers/classroommaterials/connections/historic-buildings/]
Information from two Library of Congress projects. Historic American Buildings Survey and Historic American Engineering Records. Includes photographs, drawings, etc. Search or browse.

CMD First Source
[http://www.cmdfirstsource.com]
Information about building products, construction industry news, building codes, architecture firms, and links to trade publications. Some sections require free registration.

Cyburbia.org: Internet Resources for the Built Environment
[http://www.cyburbia.org/]
Comprehensive resources in planning, architecture, construction, building technology, transportation, environment, energy etc. Includes mailing lists, Usenet newsgroups. Hosts interactive message areas.

Designinform Research Guides
[http://www.designinform.co.uk/researchguides.htm]
Links to websites in all types of design, architecture and art forms.

Digital Bridges: Bridges of the Nineteenth Century (Lehigh University Libraries)
[http://bridges.lib.lehigh.edu/]
Digital images from 19th Century American bridge engineering monographs, manuals and documents.

Earthquake Engineering (University of California, Berkeley)
[https://nisee.berkeley.edu/elibrary/]
Based on a text by V.V. Bertero, provides an illustrated introduction to earthquake engineering principles. Features photographs and an overview of recent research.

Earthquake Engineering Online Archive (University of California, Berkeley)
[https://nisee.berkeley.edu/elibrary/]
Over 500 photographs with annotations designed to illustrate particular facets of structural theory, response or design. Includes historic and modern structures.

Emporis Buildings- The Building Industry Platform
[http://www.emporis.com/]
International Database about Buildings, Construction and the Real-Estate industry.

The Engineer's Edge
[http://www.engineersedge.com/]
Practical design and engineering resources for mechanical designers, engineers, or quality and manufacturing professionals. Includes hardware and material specs.

Environmental Design Library
[http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/ENVI/]
Links to useful resources for Architecture, City Planning, Environmental Planning, Landscape Architecture and Urban Design

Environmental Planning Online (UC Berkeley)
[http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/ENVI/environmentalplanning_links.html]
A selection of websites pertaining to environmental planning, supporting landscape architecture, environmental planning, and city planning programs at the University of California, Berkeley.

Global Development Research Center
[http://www.gdrc.org/]
Independent nonprofit think tank that carries out initiatives in education, research and practice, in the spheres of environment, urban, community and information, and at scales that are effective.

GlobalSpec
[http://globalspec.com]
Specialized engineering information page. Find product and supplier information, or limit your search to "the engineering web" or specific types of engineering information on the web.

The Great Building Collection
[http://www.greatbuildings.com/]
The Great Building Collection - Gateway to world architecture. Search for thousands of buildings and hundreds of architects. Photographic images, architectural drawings, commentaries, web links and 3D models

Green Home Guide
[http://greenhomeguide.com/]
Learn all there is to know about environmentally friendly building and construction.

Green Building Guidelines
[http://www.co.contra-costa.ca.us/depart/cd/recycle/gbg/]
Green Building documents for download provided by the Contra Costa County Department of Conservation & Development in California.

Green Design; Sustainable Architecture: Resources
[http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/ENVI/GreenAll.html]
UC Berkeley Environmental Design Library extensive bibliography on sustainable design of buildings. Links to additional research guides on solar design, daylighting, and other design topics.

Urban Environmental Management from The Global Development Research Center
[http://www.gdrc.org/uem/]
Articles, links and information on aspects and issues with urban environmental management.

Voice of the Shuttle: Architecture Page
[http://vos.ucsb.edu/browse.asp?id=2705]
The server offers general resources, architects, works, projects, design, historical preservation, museums and libraries, journals, and more.

Why the Towers Fell
[http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/nova/wtc/]
Companion to the NOVA program examining the collapse of the World Trade Center and methods to improve building safety. Includes film, photos, transcripts of interviews, links to additional information.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Architectural Engineering Technology