University of Hartford Libraries

Applied Social Research Subject Guide


Books

Biographies

Biographical Dictionary of Social and Cultural Anthropology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/routsca?institutionId=4005]
Offers an important, and fascinating overview of the historical and contemporary reach of anthropological research.


Dictionaries

The Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/bksoc]
Defines sociological concepts in a lively and sensible way

Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/cupsoc]
Entries cover schools, theories, theorists and debates, with substantial articles on all key topics in the field.

Collins Dictionary of Sociology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/collinssoc]
Guide to the terms and concepts used in every area of sociology, and to related terms in political science, economics and anthropology.


Encyclopedias

Concise Encyclopedia of Sociolinguistics
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/estsocioling?institutionId=4005]
Provides uniquely comprehensive and authoritative coverage of all aspects of sociolinguistics.

Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/routencsca?institutionId=4005]
covers the many important areas of overlap between anthropology and related disciplines.

Encyclopedia of Urban America: The Cities and Suburbs
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/abcurban?institutionId=4005]
Topics range from problems typically associated with urban life such as crime, pollution, and congestion to the arts and humanities, social concerns, religion, infrastructure, key individuals, and economic issues.


Databases

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

ProQuest Social Science Journals
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/socscijournals?accountid=11308]
ProQuest Social Science Journals is a definitive resource for those who need access to a variety of social science journals. The database includes over 530 titles, with more than 300 available in full text.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Applied Social Research