University of Hartford Libraries

Anthropology Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

Canada's Diverse Peoples: A Reference Sourcebook
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/abccanada]
Comprehensive reference that takes readers on a chronological tour of Canada's ethnic history.

Encyclopedia of Television (1997)
With more than 1,000 original essays, the Encyclopedia of Television examines specific programs and people, historic moments and trends, and major policy disputes.

The Former Soviet Union's Diverse Peoples: A Reference Sourcebook
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/abcsoviet?institutionId=4005]
Guide to understanding the history of the ethnic diversity of the former Soviet Union and the current ethnic issues of the region.

The Former Yugoslavia's Diverse Peoples: A Reference Sourcebook
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/abcyugo?institutionId=4005]
Exploration of the ethnic history of the former Yugoslavia traces the roots of the conflicts that convulsed the region in the 1990s.

Gale Library of Daily Life American Civil War
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/eToc.do?userGroupName=a23uh&prodId=GVRL&inPS=true&action=DO_BROWSE_ETOC&searchType=BasicSearchForm&docId=GALE%7C9781414430126&contentSegment=9781414430126]
Provides historical information on the battlefield and homefront experience and the political, economic, social, and cultural life of the North and South during the War. Primary source documents in the form of first-person accounts, letters, diaries, journals, newspapers, and literature bring to life the experiences of the Union and Confederate participants and the people they left behind.

Iran's Diverse Peoples: A Reference Sourcebook
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/abciran?institutionId=4005]
Documents the origins, evolution, and current status of all major ethnic groups in Iran.

Nigeria's Diverse Peoples: A Reference Sourcebook
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/abcnigeria]
Explores the history of ethnic, regional and religious diversity in Nigeria.

What People Wore: a Visual History of Dress from Ancient Times to Twentieth-century America
Mortensen Library Oversized [GT513 .G6]


Biographies

Biographical Dictionary of Social and Cultural Anthropology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/routsca?institutionId=4005]
Offers an important, and fascinating overview of the historical and contemporary reach of anthropological research.

Cassell's Peoples, Nations and Cultures
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/orionpnc]
Cultural information about people around the world.


Dictionaries

Cambridge Dictionary of Human Biology and Evolution
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/cuphbe]
Study tool for both professionals and students covering a broad range of subjects within human biology, physical anthropology, anatomy, auxology, primatology, physiology, genetics, paleontology, and zoology.

Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/cupsoc]
Entries cover schools, theories, theorists and debates, with substantial articles on all key topics in the field.

Collins Dictionary of Sociology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/collinssoc]
Guide to the terms and concepts used in every area of sociology, and to related terms in political science, economics and anthropology.

Dictionary of Human Geography
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/bkhumgeo?institutionId=4005]
Dictionary of human culture.

Holidays, Festivals, and Celebrations of the World Dictionary
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/hfcwd]
Covers popular, ethnic, religious, and historic events of international, national, regional, and local significance.

Sage Dictionary of Cultural Studies
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sageukcult]
Containing entries from Active audience to Youth culture on key concepts and theorists, the Dictionary provides an unparalled guide to the terrain of cultural studies. The definitions are authoritative, stimulating and written in an accessible style.


Encyclopedias

The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Hunters and Gatherers
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/cuphg]
Hunting and gathering was humanity's first and most successful adaptation, occupying at least 90 percent of human history.

The Encyclopedia of American Folk Art
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/routfolkart?institutionId=4005]
A-Z encyclopedia covers every aspect of American folk art.

Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology: Health and Illness in the World's Cultures
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sprmedanth]
The Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology is unique because it is the first reference work to describe the cultural practices relevant to health in the world's cultures and to provide an overview of important topics in medical anthropology.

Encyclopedia of Nationalism: Fundamental Themes
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/estnationala]
Covers fundamental themes from Anthropology to Western Europe.

Encyclopedia of Nationalism: Leaders, Movements, and Concepts
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/estnational]
covers leaders, movements, and key concepts of nationalism.

Encyclopedia of Race and Racism
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/eToc.do?userGroupName=a23uh&prodId=GVRL&inPS=true&action=DO_BROWSE_ETOC&searchType=BasicSearchForm&docId=GALE%7C9780028661162&contentSegment=9780028661162]
Examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modem era.

Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/routencsca?institutionId=4005]
covers the many important areas of overlap between anthropology and related disciplines.


Statistics

The Official Guide to Racial and Ethnic Diversity: Asians, Blacks, Hispanics, Native Americans, and Whites
Mortensen Library Reference E184.A1 R8 1996


Databases

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

Historical Hartford Courant
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/hnphartfordcourant?accountid=11308]
Fully searchable images of America's oldest continuously published newspaper, covering 1764 through 1922. Use ProQuest Newspapers for current (1992- ). No coverage is available between 1923 and 1991. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library. Full text available.

Historical New York Times
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/hnpnewyorktimes/news/fromDatabasesLayer?accountid=11308]
Full images of the complete New York Times from 1851 to 2002. Search by keyword, by date, etc. Images of specific articles or full pages available..

ProQuest Social Science Journals
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/socscijournals?accountid=11308]
ProQuest Social Science Journals is a definitive resource for those who need access to a variety of social science journals. The database includes over 530 titles, with more than 300 available in full text.


Periodicals

American Ethnologist
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www3.interscience.wiley.com/journal/118902573/home?CRETRY=1&SRETRY=0]
Mortensen Library Periodicals GN1 .A53 (Microfilm 1974-1982; Bound 1983-2008; ONLINE 1997-present)

Music and Anthropology


Websites

General Resources

Annual Reviews
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.annualreviews.org/]
Search engine for all 26 of Annual Reviews' products with table of contents and abstracts.

Anthropological Index Online
[https://aio.therai.org.uk/]
Multiaccess search engine for anthropology. Has information from 1984-1997. Current information is being added regularly. Citations are emailable.

Biblical Archeology
[http://www.biblicalarchaeology.org/library/]
Biblical archaeology site that focuses on the peoples and cultures of the Levant

Digital Dead Sea Scrolls
[http://dss.collections.imj.org.il/]
Access to searchable, fast-loading, high-resolution images of the scrolls, as well as short explanatory videos and background information on the texts and their history.

Division of Anthropology, American Museum of Natural History
[http://anthro.amnh.org/]
The anthropology collection is preserved in the Museum's storage areas and displayed in the Museum's cultural exhibitions, and over 180,000 objects have been digitally imaged and can be accessed through this website.

Egyptology Resources (University of Cambridge)
[http://www.newton.cam.ac.uk/egypt/]
Excellent resource for the study of ancient Egypt. Comprehensive links to archaeological sites, visual materials, and museum collections.

Ethnographic Studies Resources
[http://www.loc.gov/folklife/other.html]
A Library of Congress internet resource for information on Anthropology, Ethnomusicology, Folklore and Folk life.

Evolutionary Psychology: A Primer (U.California, Santa Barbara)
[http://www.cep.ucsb.edu/primer.html]
Introductory article from 1997 outlining the basic biological principles underlying the topic. Includes a comparison of the phylogenetic and adaptationist approaches to psychology. Bibliography.

Folklore and Mythology Electronic Texts
[http://www.pitt.edu/~dash/folktexts.html]
Hundreds of fairy tales and legends are presented in this site. It is arranged alphabetically by title o r topic. The country of origin is listed, as well, for easy reference.

Grimms' Fairy Tales
[http://www.nationalgeographic.com/grimm/index.html]
Twelve Grimms brothers fairy tales are presented in the unvarnished versions that are close to the German folklore tradition. This visually appealing site also provides biographical information about the Grimms and links to other appropriate sites.

Human Origins Program (Smithsonian institution)
[http://humanorigins.si.edu/]
Dedicated to understanding the biological and cultural foundations of human life.

nationalgeographic.com
[http://www.nationalgeographic.com/index.html]
Award winning site provides curriculum support, K-12, in geography.

Voice of the Shuttle
[http://vos.ucsb.edu/]
Extensive links to every variety of Web site in the humanities, law, political science, anthropology, business and media studies.

WWW Virtual Library
[http://www.vlib.us/]
Distributed subject catalog. Megasite, constantly updated.


United States

American Folklife Center, The Library of Congress
[https://www.loc.gov/folklife/]
Site includes full texts of selected publications, digital presentations of collections, a growing list of links to other resources in ethnographic studies, the Folklife information service, and the Folklife Sourcebook: A Directory of Folklife Resources in the United States.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Anthropology