University of Hartford Libraries

American Music Subject Guide


Books

Composer's Voices from Ives to Ellington: an Oral History of American Music
By Vivian Perlis and Libby Van Cleve. Allen Library Stacks [ML390 P47 C65]

An Introduction to America's Music
By Richard Crawford. Allen Library Stacks [ML200 C73 I58]

Lissauer's Encyclopedia of Popular Music in America: 1888 to the Present
By Robert Lissauer. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 P67 L5]

New Grove Dictionary of American Music. 4 vols.
Edited by H. Wiley Hitchcock and Stanley Sadie. Allen Library Reserves [PERM RES ML101 U5N]

Women Composers and Music Technology in the United States: Crossing the Line
By Elizabeth Hinkle-Turner. Allen Library Stacks [ML1380 H55 W65]


Call Numbers

ML200
Music - United States


Periodicals

American Music

American Music Research Center Journal

Institute for Studies in American Music Newsletter

Journal of the Society for American Music


Subject Headings

African Americans - Music

Composers - United States

Music - United States

United States - Music


Websites

General Resources

American Music Center
The American Music Center has merged with Meet the Composer to form New Music USA.

American Music Resource
[http://www.amrhome.net]
Reference information about all styles of music indigenous to the Western Hemisphere. The collection houses over 800 bibliographies, lists, and files, and is indexed by topic (genre and style subdivisions) and subject (individuals - mostly composers).

A Guide to Harlem Renaissance Material
[http://www.loc.gov/rr/program/bib/harlem/harlem.html]
Library of Congress resources on African-American expressions of writing, music and art during the 1920s and 1930s. Links to external Web sites on the subject and bibliography.

H. Wiley Hitchcock Institute for Studies in American Music
[http://www.hisam.org/]
This internationally recognized center for American music publishes a semiannual publication and a series of monographs, serves as an information center, and sponsors conferences and symposia dealing with all areas of American music. Offers fellowships to scholars and composers.

New Music Box
[http://www.newmusicbox.org]


American

Afrocentric Voices
[http://www.afrovoices.com/]
This site includes research centers and collections featuring or including a significant portion of material by or about African American musicians.

American Folklife Center, The Library of Congress
[https://www.loc.gov/folklife/]
Site includes full texts of selected publications, digital presentations of collections, a growing list of links to other resources in ethnographic studies, the Folklife information service, and the Folklife Sourcebook: A Directory of Folklife Resources in the United States.

American Roots Music
[http://www.pbs.org/americanrootsmusic/index.html]
This PBS site explores Blues, Country music, Bluegrass, Gospel, Cajun, Zydeco, Tejano, and Native American music. The site includes oral histories and information about the musicians, their instruments, and the music.

Archives of African American Music and Culture
[http://www.indiana.edu/~aaamc/]
Repository of materials at Indiana University covering various musical idioms and cultural expressions from the post-World War II era for study and research. Online publications include Black Grooves and Liner Notes.

Music of the Southwest
This site is down as of 16-Jan-2017. Site includes text, audio, and video organized by instrument, musicians, ethnic group, and musical genre.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=American Music