University of Hartford Libraries

American History Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

American Civil War Reference Library
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/eToc.do?userGroupName=a23uh&prodId=GVRL&inPS=true&action=DO_BROWSE_ETOC&searchType=BasicSearchForm&docId=GALE%7C9780787691417&contentSegment=9780787691417]
Offers comprehensive and wide ranging research options on this compelling era of American history.

American Decades
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781414411170&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Historical information on American History of the 20th Century.

American History Through Literature, 1820-1870
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780684314921&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Designed for the general reader, this set presents literature not as a simple inventory of authors or titles but rather as a historical and cultural field viewed from a wide array of contemporary perspectives.

American History Through Literature, 1870-1920
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|5BBN&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Designed for the general reader, this set presents literature not as a simple inventory of authors or titles but rather as a historical and cultural field viewed from a wide array of contemporary perspectives.

American Home Front in World War II
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780787693855&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
The Almanac discusses major events on the home front, including the changing role of women, Civil Defense and the draft. Biographies highlights 26 key figures, such as John L. Lewis, J. Robert Oppenheimer and others. Primary Sources includes primary material from a variety of sources, including speeches, documents and other material.

American Inaugurals: The Speeches, The Presidents, and Their Times
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781410304803&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Presents the inaugural addresses of each of the 43 United States Presidents. Each entry includes a brief biography, a list of important events during that president's term of office, the actual text of the speech, and notable quotes. Illustrated with portraits and reproductions of period paintings, photos, and engravings.

American Revolution Reference Library
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/eToc.do?userGroupName=a23uh&prodId=GVRL&inPS=true&action=DO_BROWSE_ETOC&searchType=BasicSearchForm&docId=GALE|9780787691479&contentSegment=9780787691479]
Supplies the in-depth information about the American Revolution that students and researchers need for class assignments and reports.

American Social Reform Movements Reference Library
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/eToc.do?userGroupName=a23uh&prodId=GVRL&inPS=true&action=DO_BROWSE_ETOC&searchType=BasicSearchForm&docId=GALE%7C9781414409764&contentSegment=9781414409764]
Chronicles and illustrates movements from the American Revolution to the present day.

American Women Writers: A Critical Reference Guide from Colonial Times to the Present
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781558625389&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Provides coverage on the best-known American women writers spanning from colonial days to the present, including biography, criticism, and bibliography for each; also includes lesser-known writers whose work is found in journals, letters, stories, and even hymns.

The American Years
Mortensen Library Reference [E174.5 .G753 2003]

Americans at War
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780028659930&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
overs major American conflicts from the Colonial Wars through the War on Terrorism in the context of cultural and social events and conditions on the home front.

Bowling, Beatniks, and Bell Bottoms: Pop Culture of 20th Century America
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?p=GVRL&sw=w&u=a23uh&v=2.1&it=etoc&id=GALE|9781414411811]
The hairstyles, slang terms, advertising jingles, pop music sensations, and all else described as popular culture is covered in this five-volume reference. Arranged chronologically by decade and by broad topics within each decade, this set focuses solely on the popular culture of the twentieth century, offering more detailed information on trends and fads than any other resource

Cambridge History of African and Caribbean Literature
Mortensen Library Reference PN841 .I74 2004

Century of American Icons: 100 products and slogans from the 20th century consumer culture
Mortensen Library Reference [HF6161.B4 C46 2002]

Colonial America Reference Library
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780787692940&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Provides students with the comprehensive information on the Colonial American period they need to write reports and class assignments including biographical profiles and primary source documents.

Columbia Chronicles of American Life
Mortensen Library Reference [E169.1 .G667 1995]

Conspiracy Theories in American History
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/abcconspir?institutionId=4005]
A to Z guide to American conspiracy theories.

Country Studies
[http://lcweb2.loc.gov/frd/cs/cshome.html]
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world

Current Population Reports: (All Series)
[https://www.census.gov/main/www/cprs.html]
Full text of all Population Reports by the United States Government.

Current Population Reports: Consumer Income (Series P-60)
[https://www.census.gov/prod/www/population.html]
Full text of Consumer Income Reports by the United States Government.

Current Population Reports: Special Studies (Series P-23)
[http://www.census.gov/prod/www/population.html]
Full text of Population Special Reports by the United States Government.

Early Civilizations in the Americas Reference Library
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|5BKQ&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Provides a comprehensive overview of the history of the regions of the American continents in which two of the world's first civilizations developed: Mesoamerica (the name for the lands in which ancient civilizations arose in Central America and Mexico) and the Andes Mountains region of South America (in present-day Peru and parts of Bolivia, northern Argentina, and Ecuador).

Encyclopedia Latina: History, Culture, and Society in the United States
Mortensen Library Reference E184.S75 E587 2005

Encyclopedia of New Jersey
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/rutgersnj]
Contains original articles, along with illustrations and maps, collecting a wealth of information about the state of New Jersey.

Financial History of Modern U.S. Corporate Scandals from Enron to Reform
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sharpecs]
The book examines the SEC's full disclosure system in corporate governance and the role of accountants in that system, including Arthur Andersen LLP, the Enron auditor that collapsed after it was accused of obstructing justice.

A Financial History of the United States
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sharpefhus]
American history from a financial perspective.

From Suffrage to the Senate: America's Political Women
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/ghssapw]
A comprehensive and valuable compendium of biographies of leading women in U.S. politics, past and present, and an examination of the wide range of women's movements.

Gale Library of Daily Life American Civil War
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/eToc.do?userGroupName=a23uh&prodId=GVRL&inPS=true&action=DO_BROWSE_ETOC&searchType=BasicSearchForm&docId=GALE%7C9781414430126&contentSegment=9781414430126]
Provides historical information on the battlefield and homefront experience and the political, economic, social, and cultural life of the North and South during the War. Primary source documents in the form of first-person accounts, letters, diaries, journals, newspapers, and literature bring to life the experiences of the Union and Confederate participants and the people they left behind.

Government, Politics, and Protest: Essential Primary Sources
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/eToc.do?userGroupName=a23uh&prodId=GVRL&inPS=true&action=DO_BROWSE_ETOC&searchType=BasicSearchForm&docId=GALE%7C9781414412634&contentSegment=9781414412634]
A collection of primary source documents that focus on leading social issues of the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries.

The Great American History Fact-Finder
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/hmgahff]
American history fact book.

Great Depression and the New Deal Reference Library
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/eToc.do?userGroupName=a23uh&prodId=GVRL&inPS=true&action=DO_BROWSE_ETOC&searchType=BasicSearchForm&docId=GALE%7C9780787693015&contentSegment=9780787693015]
Covers the failure of the U.S. economy and its gradual recovery, with special attention to the New Deal, as well as the global situation, including the rise of Hitler.

Handbook of American Popular Culture
Mortensen Library Reference [E169.1 .H2643]

Harlem Renaissance
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780787693022&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
This authoritative resource presents the people, places and times that defined an era and documents the launch of cultural development among African Americans in 1920s Harlem.

How Much is that in Real Money? A Historical Price Index For Use as a Deflator of Money Values in the Economy of the United States
Mortensen Library Reference HB235.U6 M39 1992

Immigration and Multiculturalism: Essential Primary Sources
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/eToc.do?userGroupName=a23uh&prodId=GVRL&inPS=true&action=DO_BROWSE_ETOC&searchType=BasicSearchForm&docId=GALE%7C9781414412658&contentSegment=9781414412658]
Provides primary source documents focused on immigration and multiculturalism in the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries.

Index to USDA Agricultural Economic Reports
[https://pubs.nal.usda.gov/sites/pubs.nal.usda.gov/files/aer.htm]
This 2002 Internet-based index includes listings for printed USDA Agricultural Economic Reports and links to full-text USDA Agricultural Economic Reports on the Internet.

Korean War Reference Library
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780787691660&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Covers the Korean War by exploring the major topics and events related to the period. The combined Almanac and Primary Sources covers the background of and issues related to the conflict in 13 chapters

New Americans: A Guide to Immigration Since 1965
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/hupnewam]
Provides an authoritative account of the most recent surge of immigrants.

Our Constitution
Mortensen Library Reference KF4550.Z9 R57 2005

Presidents: A Reference History
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/eToc.do?userGroupName=a23uh&prodId=GVRL&inPS=true&action=DO_BROWSE_ETOC&searchType=BasicSearchForm&docId=GALE%7C9780684314471&contentSegment=9780684314471]
Presents in-depth profiles of each American president and his administration. Includes black-and-white portraits of the presidents and extensive bibliographies. Also features a new history of the White House and a general introduction to the presidency.

Rawson's Dictionary of American Quotations
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/rawdaq?institutionId=4005]
Covers quotations from aspects of American life, culture, and politics.

The Reader's Companion to American History
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/rcah?institutionId=4005]
Critical events, issues, and individuals that shaped American history.

The Reader's Companion to the American Presidency
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/rcap]
History of the American president.

The Reader's Companion to U.S. Women's History
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/rcuswh]
Critical events, issues, and individuals that shaped American women's history.

Reconstruction Era Reference Library
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/eToc.do?userGroupName=a23uh&prodId=GVRL&inPS=true&action=DO_BROWSE_ETOC&searchType=BasicSearchForm&docId=GALE%7C9781414404547&contentSegment=9781414404547]
Provides targeted information on post-Civil War America, from the end of the war in 1865 to the Compromise of 1877.

Ripples of Hope: Great American Civil Rights Speeches
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/pershope?institutionId=4005]
Indispensable compilation of the words that have changed American history.

Slavery in America: From Colonial Times to the Civil War
Mortensen Library Reference E441 .S36 2000

Social Policy: Essential Primary Sources
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/eToc.do?userGroupName=a23uh&prodId=GVRL&inPS=true&action=DO_BROWSE_ETOC&searchType=BasicSearchForm&docId=GALE|9781414412641&contentSegment=9781414412641]
A collection of primary source documents that focus on leading social issues of the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries.

Social Trends & Indicators USA
Mortensen Library Reference HN60 .S62 2003

Supreme Court Drama: Cases That Changed America
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781414407722&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Profiles major U.S. Supreme Court decisions that have made a significant impact on American society. Each volume is organized by broad legal principles such as individual liberties, criminal justice, equal protection, and business and government law.

The United States Government Manual
The United States Government Manual is the official handbook of the Federal Government. This special edition of the Federal Register is currently updated to provide comprehensive and authoritative descriptions of the programs and activities of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. The Government Manual also includes information about quasi-official agencies, international organizations with U.S. membership, and Federal boards, commissions, and committees.

The USA: A Chronicle in Pictures
Mortensen Library Reference [E174.5 .W45 1991]

Vietnam War Reference Library
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780787691738&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Research the Vietnam War from every angle.

Witchcraft in America
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780787693206&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
This fascinating and informative source covers the history of witchcraft in the United States from the hysteria that facilitated the witch hunts during the colonial period to modern day followers of Wicca

Working Americans, 1880-2005
Mortensen Library Reference [HD8066 .D47]

World of Child Labor: An Historical and Regional Survey
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sharpecl]
Provides a current global snapshot with overview essays on the dimensions of the problem and on institutions and organizations combating child labor.

World War II Reference Library
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780787691868&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Provides background and information on major topics about the World War II period, biographies of significant men and women involved in the war, and primary sources such as full or excerpted speeches, diary entries, newspaper accounts and other original documents.


Biographies

An Encyclopedic Dictionary of Women in Early American Films: 1895-1930
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/routwfilm]
Collection profiling many of the women who were crucial in the development of cinema as an industry.

First Ladies of the United States
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/lrpfirstladies]
Whether editing speeches and appearing on the campaign trail, presiding over White House renovations and social events, championing important causes, or functioning as the president's most trusted adviser, first ladies have made significant contributions to the heads-of-state's careers and to the nation.

Marquis Who Was Who in America 1607-1984
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/marqwas]
Lifetime accomplishments of many world history makers.

Marquis Who Was Who in America 1985-Present
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/marquiswww?institutionId=4005]
Lifetime accomplishments of many world history makers.

Marquis Who's Who in America
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/marquisam?institutionId=4005]
America's most notable men and women from every field of endeavor. Also have earlier volumes in Mortensen Library Oversized [E663 .W62]


Dictionaries

Department of Defense Dictionary of Military and Associated Terms
[http://www.dtic.mil/doctrine/new_pubs/jp1_02.pdf]
U.S. Military Online Dictionary of Military Terms.

Dictionary of American History
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780684314150&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Serves students, scholars, and general readers interested in a wide range of topics in American history, from the well studied and familiar to the obscure.

Historical Dictionary of American Radio
Mortensen Library Reference PN1991.2 .H57 1998

Keywords for American Cultural Studies
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/nyupacs]
Entries in this volume synthesize a great deal of information about the historical and contemporary meanings of many of the central terms that structure the fields of American studies and cultural studies; they provide contexts for the usage of those terms by discussing how their meanings have developed over time; and they may even unlock a few mysteries and break a few codes.


Encyclopedias

9/11 Encyclopedia
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/abcne]
Details every event leading up to 9/11, going back up to a decade prior to the attacks, and including all participants from any place in the world. Also covered are events since the attack that have influenced our understanding of the ordeal.

Africa and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/abcafatrle?institutionId=4005]
Explores the many long-standing influences of Africa and people of African descent on the culture of the Americas

The American Economy: A Historical Encyclopedia
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/abcamerecon?institutionId=4005]
History of the American economy.

Assassinations and Executions: an Encyclopedia of Political Violence, 1865-1986
Mortensen Library Reference HV6278 .L45 1988

Assassinations and Executions: an Encyclopedia of Political Violence, 1900 through 2000
Mortensen Library Reference HV6278 .L45 2002

Baseball: An Encyclopedia of Popular Culture
Mortensen Library Reference GV867.64 .R52 2000

Black Women in America
Mortensen Library Reference E185.86 .B542 2005

Britain and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/abcbramrle]
Covers the close ties between Britain and the whole of the Americas, examining Britain's cultural and political legacy to the nations of the New World.

Culture Wars: An Encyclopedia of Issues, Viewpoints, and Voices
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sharpecw]
Featuring hundreds of A-Z entries and numerous photos, the encyclopedia examines the history and relevance of the issues, events, controversies, personalities, groups, and concepts that have contributed to the political and social polarization of American society over recent decades.

Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History
Addresses a wide array of subjects in over 2,300 articles to define in one source the cultural roots, participation in American life, and current condition of the African-American community.

Encyclopedia of American Cultural & Intellectual History
Mortensen Library Reference E169.1 .E624 2001

The Encyclopedia of American Prisons
Mortensen Library Reference HV9471 .S54 2003

Encyclopedia of American Social Movements
Mortensen Library Reference HN57 .E594 2004

Encyclopedia of American Studies EAS
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/jhueas]
Features broad, synthetic articles covering areas such as history, literature, art, photography, film, architecture, urban studies, ethnicity, race, gender, economics, politics, wars, consumer culture, and global America.

Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Culture
Mortensen Library Reference E169.12 .E49 2001

Encyclopedia of New England: the Culture and History of an American Region
Mortensen Library Reference F4 .E53 2005

Encyclopedia of Organized Crime in the United States: from Capone's Chicago to the New Urban Underworld
Mortensen Library Reference HV6446 .K43 2000

Encyclopedia of Popular Culture (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/eBooks?ste=22&docNum=CX3409099999&q=a23uh]
Search the full five volumes of the 2000 edition encyclopedia which presents signed articles on various aspects of US popular culture. Includes bibliographies, images, etc. UofH only.

Encyclopedia of Strikes in American History
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sharpestrikes]
Historical research on strikes in America comprised of two types of essays, those focused on an industry or economic sector and those focused on a theme.

Encyclopedia of the American Civil War
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/abcacw]
Comprehensive reference set on the political, social, and military aspects of the American Civil War.

Encyclopedia of the American West
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/americanwest]
The American West is an evocative term that conjures up images of cowboys and Indians, covered wagons, sheriffs and outlaws, and endless prairies as well as contemporary images ranging from national parks to the oil, aerospace, and film industries

Encyclopedia of the Antebellum South
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/abcas]
The work is dedicated to the history of the South and the southern lifestyle as it was in the half-century before the Civil War and looks at certain events a decade or so outside of this period to provide continuity

Encyclopedia of the Great Depression
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780028659084&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
This wide-ranging, multidisciplinary encyclopedia features entries on depression-era politics, government, business, economics, literature, the arts, society and culture.

Encyclopedia of the Romantic Era, 1760-1850
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/routromanticera?institutionId=4005]
Analytical articles pertaining to the Romantic era.

Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/vol/493]
America in the 19th century.

Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War: A Political, Social, and Military History
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/abcvw]
Comprehensive study of the Vietnam War sheds more light on the longest and one of the most controversial conflicts in U.S. history.

Encyclopedia of U.S. History - Politics and Government (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781414431215&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=etoc&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Provides a concise history of the U.S. government and political scene throughout American history, with a particular emphasis on how government and politics effects, and is affected by, social change.

Encyclopedia of U.S. History - War
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781414431178&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Provides a broad overview of war throughout American history, with a special emphasis on how war effects, and is affected by, political, economic, and social change in American and global society.

Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780028660851&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Provides students and researchers with a much-needed, comprehensive resource on the subject of colonialism and expansion.

Encyclopedia of World Trade From Ancient Times to the Present
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sharpewt]
This is the definitive reference on the history of trade in all time periods. It traces the historical and contemporary interaction of trade, commerce, and culture in fascinating detail.

France and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/abcframrle]
Covers the impacts that French and American politics, foreign policy, and culture have had on shaping each country's identity.

Germany and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/abcgeamrle]
Details the close ties between the German-speaking world and the Americas.

Greenwood Encyclopedia of American Regional Cultures: New England
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/abcarcne]
New England states are home to many long and proud cultural traditions, including the practices of indigenous Northeast tribes, the legacy of Puritan settlers, the Portuguese coastal communities, Maine's Acadian population, and many other spheres of influence. The historical paintings of John Trumbull, the Cape Cod house, the locally set work of John Irving and Stephen King, Celtic and French-Canadian music, lobstermen and maple syrup culture, the Southy accent and the Curse of the Bambino - all these things and countless more have contributed to region's identity

Guns in American Society: An Encyclopedia of History, Politics, Culture and the Law
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/abcguns?institutionId=4005]
Comprehensive single source of information on the gun issue to help readers educate themselves.

Historical Encyclopedia of American Labor
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/abcamlabor]
The history of the American labor movement is filled with advances, triumphs, setbacks, decline, and resurgence.

Iberia and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/abcibamrle?institutionId=4005]
Covers the reciprocal effects that the politics, foreign policy, and culture of Spain, Portugal, and the American nations have had on one another since the time of Columbus.

Ireland and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/abciramrle?institutionId=4005]
Covers the impact that Ireland and the nations of the Americas have had on one another since the time of Brendan the Navigator.

Melton's Encyclopedia of American Religions
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|1OCN&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Information is presented in two distinct sections, essays and directory listings describing the historical development of religious families and providing factual information about each group within those families.

New Encyclopedia of the American West
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/americanwest]
The American West is an evocative term that conjures up images of cowboys and Indians, covered wagons, sheriffs and outlaws, and endless prairies as well as contemporary images ranging from national parks to the oil, aerospace, and film industries.

Poverty and the Government in America: A Historical Encyclopedia
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/abcpga]
The most comprehensive encyclopedia available on the U.S. government's responses to poverty from the colonial era to the present day.

Slavery in the United States a Social, Political, and Historical Encyclopedia
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/abcslavery]
A comprehensive, contextual presentation of all aspects—social, political, and economic—of slavery in the United States, from the first colonization through Reconstruction.

Violence in America: An Encyclopedia
Mortensen Library Reference HN90.V5 V5474 1999

Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures & Daily Life—Volume 2: Americas
Mortensen Library Reference GN333 .W67 1998 v.2


Primary Documents

Africa and the West: A Documentary History from the Slave Trade to Independence
Mortensen Library Reference DT353.5.E9 A34 2001

Columbia Documentary History of Race and Ethnicity in America
Mortensen Library Reference E184.A1 C57 2004


United States - Statistics

Handbook of US Labor Statistics: Employment, Earnings, Prices, Productivity, and Other Labor Data
Mortensen Library Reference HD8051 .A63 (2001, 2006) and Mortensen Library Shelves HD8051 .A63 (1997-2000) and (1947, 1968, 1970-1973, 1975-1978, 1980, 1983, 1989) HD8051 .A62

Historical Statistics of the United States: Earliest Times to the Present
Mortensen Library Reference HA202 .H57 2006

Injury Facts (National Safety Council)
Mortensen Library Reference HA217 .A4

Places, Towns and Townships
Mortensen Library Reference HA203 .P58

State and Metropolitan Area Data Book
[http://permanent.access.gpo.gov/lps2647/]
Covers the following topical areas: age, agriculture, births, business establishments, communications, construction, cost of living, crime, deaths, education, elections, employment, energy, finance, government, health, households, housing, immigration, income, manufactures, marriages and divorces, media, natural resources, population, poverty, race and Hispanic origin, residence, retail sales, science and engineering, social services, tourism, transportation, and veterans. Mortensen Library Reference HA202 .S84 (1979-1998)

State Profiles: the Population and Economy of Each U.S. State
Mortensen Library Reference HA203 .S734


Databases

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

Biographical Directory of the United States Congress, 1774-Present
[http://bioguide.congress.gov/biosearch/biosearch.asp]
Provides biographical information on the more than 13,000 persons who have served in the United States Congress, including those who served in the Continental Congress.

C-SPAN Video Library
[http://www.c-spanvideo.org/videoLibrary/]
Links to government and public service broadcasts by C-SPAN since 1987

Essay & General Literature Index with Retrospective
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=egr,egi]
Years Covered: 1900-
Essay & General Literature offers access to tens of thousands of essays that are otherwise all but inaccessible. This resource also unlocks a wealth of information in thousands of collections and anthologies, making your library more valuable to researchers in a wide array of fields.

European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=hev]
This new bibliographic database is a valuable index for libraries, scholars and individuals interested in European works that relate to the Americas. EBSCO Publishing, in cooperation with the John Carter Brown Library, has created this resource from “European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750,” the authoritative bibliography that is well-known and respected by scholars worldwide. The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.

FedFlix (US Government produced Film Database)
[http://www.archive.org/details/FedFlix]
Featuring the best movies of the United States Government, from training films to history, from our national parks to the U.S. Fire Academy and the Postal Inspectors, all of these fine films are available for reuse without any restrictions whatsoever.

Founders Early Access
[http://rotunda.upress.virginia.edu/founders/FOEA.html]
The Rotunda Founders Early Access project makes available thousands of unpublished documents from our nation’s founders in a free online resource.

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

Historical Hartford Courant
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/hnphartfordcourant?accountid=11308]
Fully searchable images of America's oldest continuously published newspaper, covering 1764 through 1922. Use ProQuest Newspapers for current (1992- ). No coverage is available between 1923 and 1991. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library. Full text available.

Historical New York Times
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/hnpnewyorktimes/news/fromDatabasesLayer?accountid=11308]
Full images of the complete New York Times from 1851 to 2002. Search by keyword, by date, etc. Images of specific articles or full pages available..

History Cooperative
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.historycooperative.org/search.html]
Searchable full text of 16 scholarly journals in American history.

Humanities Abstracts
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=hma]
Strong resource index for all aspects of the Humanities including: Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology

National Portrait Gallery Portrait Search
[https://npg.si.edu/portraits/research]
survey of American portraits in public and private collections across the United States and abroad. The CAP encompasses portraits of American subjects or by American artists, generally limited to one-of-a-kind likenesses such as paintings, sculpture, drawings, miniatures, and silhouettes.

Newspapers of Connecticut (19th Century)
[http://cslib.cdmhost.com/cdm/landingpage/collection/p15019coll9]
The Newspapers of Connecticut collection is a sample collection of historical newspapers covering the various regions, perspectives and topics of the Civil War era in Connecticut.

ProQuest Newspapers
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/news/advanced?accountid=11308]
Search the text of major newspapers including the Boston Globe (1980- ), Christian Science Monitor (1990- ), Hartford Courant (1992- ), Los Angeles Times (1985- ), New York Times (1999- ), including the Book Review and Magazine), Wall Street Journal Eastern Edition (1984- ), and Washington Post (1987- ). Full text available.

ProQuest Newspapers
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/news/advanced?accountid=11308]
Search the text of major newspapers including the Boston Globe (1980- ), Christian Science Monitor (1990- ), Hartford Courant (1992- ), Los Angeles Times (1985- ), New York Times (1999- ), including the Book Review and Magazine), Wall Street Journal Eastern Edition (1984- ), and Washington Post (1987- ). Full text available.

ProQuest Social Science Journals
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/socscijournals?accountid=11308]
ProQuest Social Science Journals is a definitive resource for those who need access to a variety of social science journals. The database includes over 530 titles, with more than 300 available in full text.

The Supreme Court Database
[http://scdb.wustl.edu/]
Searchable online information for Supreme Court documents, decisions and opinions from 1953 to present.

Women Working, 1870-1930
[http://ocp.hul.harvard.edu/ww/]
Focuses on women's role in the United States economy and provides access to digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard University's library and museum collections.

World Digital Library (WDL)
[http://www.wdl.org/en/]
The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, digital images of significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.


Periodicals

General Resources

Journal of American Folklore
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://find.galegroup.com/itx/infomark.do?&serQuery=Locale(en%2CUS%2C)%3AFQE%3D(jx%2CNone%2C30)%22Journal+of+American+Folklore%22%24&type=pubIssues&queryType=PH&prodId=AONE&userGroupName=a23uh&version=1.0]
Mortensen Library Periodicals GR1.J86 A51 (1966-1994; ONLINE 1994-present)


United States - Statistics

Monthly Vital Statistics Report
[http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/products/mvsr.htm]
Monthly and cumulative data on births, deaths, marriages, and divorces, and infant deaths for States and the United States are presented with brief analyses of the vital statistics.


Websites

General Resources

Ad*Access (Duke University)
[http://library.duke.edu/digitalcollections/adaccess/]
Images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in US and Canadian newspapers and magazines, 1911-1955. Main subject areas: Radio, television, transportation, beauty and hygiene, and World War II.

American Folklife Center, The Library of Congress
[https://www.loc.gov/folklife/]
Site includes full texts of selected publications, digital presentations of collections, a growing list of links to other resources in ethnographic studies, the Folklife information service, and the Folklife Sourcebook: A Directory of Folklife Resources in the United States.

American Folklore
[http://www.americanfolklore.net/]
Retells American folktales, Native American myths and legends, tall tales and more. Indexed by state, ethnicity, and character.

American Historical Association
[http://www.historians.org/]
Links to teaching resources for primary and secondary school students, and an extensive calendar of historical events.

American Memory Collections: Motion Pictures (Library of Congress)
[https://www.loc.gov/rr/mopic/ndlmps.html]
Background information, essays, stills, biographies and bibliographies for each. Plug-in needed to view full movie.

American Memory Project (Library of Congress)
[https://memory.loc.gov/ammem/index.html]
Superb collection of American historical links, plus prints, photographic images, and other excellent graphics.

American Presidency Project
[http://www.presidency.ucsb.edu/]
The archives contain thousands of documents such as inaugural addresses, party platforms, candidates' remarks, Statements of Administration Policy, documents released by the Office of the Press Secretary, and election debates.

American Rhetoric
[http://www.americanrhetoric.com]
Growing collection of text, audio and video of speeches, sermons, lectures, debates, interviews, etc. Browse or search.

American Women's History: A Research Guide
[http://digital.mtsu.edu/cdm/landingpage/collection/women]
A clearly organized research guide providing links to biographical and reference sources, indexes of state and regional history resources, and a subject index. Information on finding primary sources, books , articles and theses is available.

Atlas of Historical County Boundaries
[http://publications.newberry.org/ahcbp/]
The Atlas presents in maps and text complete data about the creation and all subsequent changes (dated to the day) in the size, shape, and location of every county in the fifty United States and the District of Columbia.

The Avalon Project (Yale Law School)
[http://avalon.law.yale.edu/default.asp]
Provides digital primary documents in political and legal history. A rich and expanding resource which includes Jefferson's presidential papers and letters, the Hague Conventions Laws of War, the Nuremberg Trial Proceedings and much more.

Census of Agriculture Historical Archives
[https://agcensus.mannlib.cornell.edu/AgCensus/homepage.do]
Site serves as a public archive of Census publications published prior to 1987 frpm the USDA. These publications are primarily scanned print material now available in PDF format.

Civil Rights Oral History Bibliography (University of Southern Mississippi)
[http://digilib.usm.edu/crmda.php]
Extensive interviews with civil rights organizers and others involved in The Civil Rights Movement in Mississippi with additional supporting links.

Civil War Women (Special Collections Library, Duke University)
[http://library.duke.edu/rubenstein/collections/digitized/civil-war-women]
NEH Award-winning site providing transcripts and scanned images of writing by women during the Civil War period.

Crucible of Empire: The Spanish-American War
[http://www.pbs.org/crucible/]
This site offers a timeline of the major events of the war, original 1890s sheet music, photographs, and a section on "yellow journalism". There is a section of educational activities for teachers.

Department of Defense Dictionary of Military and Associated Terms (online search)
[http://www.dtic.mil/doctrine/dod_dictionary/]
U.S. Military Online Dictionary of Military Terms searchable online.

Docs Teach
[http://docsteach.org/]
An excellent Teaching Resource for History and the Social Sciences. Has ideas on lesson plans incorporating primary sources as well as links to many National Archives primary sources.

Documenting the American South (Academic Affairs Library, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)
[http://docsouth.unc.edu/index.html]
Library of Congress award-winning site emphasizing primary sources relating to 19th century Southern life and culture: slave narratives, diaries, autobiographies, and excellent graphics.

Documents from the Women's Liberation Movement (Special Collections Library, Duke University
[http://scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/wlm/]
Important, expanding website devoted to providing online primary source materials relating to the Women's Movement.

Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850-1920
[http://scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/eaa/]
9000 images, with database information, relating to the early history of advertising in the USA. Search across all or within individual categories. Timeline.

Exploring Amistad (Mystic Seaport Museum)
[http://educators.mysticseaport.org/documents/amistad_notes/]
Well-produced web resource on the Amistad Trial, with links to court records, historic maps, timelines, and graphic images.

FDR and the New Deal, 1933-1945
[http://www.loc.gov/teachers/classroommaterials/presentationsandactivities/presentations/timeline/depwwii/newdeal/]
Library of Congress resource listing for educators on FDR and the New Deal.

Fifty Years of Coca-Cola Television Advertisements
[http://www.loc.gov/teachers/classroommaterials/connections/cocacola-ads/]
Highlights of a collection donated to the Library of Congress. Representative ads from the 1950s through 1990s including international.

Five College Archives Digital Access Project
[http://clio.fivecolleges.edu/]
A developing digital archive of more than 24,000 items dealing primarily with women's history and the history of women's education at the Five Colleges(Amherst, Hampshire, Mount Holyoke, Smith, UMASS). The materials are primarily textual documents, handwritten manuscripts and printed publications.

Fourth World Documentation Project: North, South and Central American Documents (Center for World Indigenous Studies), The
[http://www.cwis.org/fwdp/americas.html]
Important resource for full texts of primary source documents relating to Native American affairs: treaties, issues of sovereignty, human rights concerns.

From Slavery to Freedom: The African-American Pamphlet Collection, 1824-1909 (Library of Congress)
[http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/aapchtml/aapchome.html]
American Memory Project site from the Library of Congress providing digital documents relating to slavery, Emancipation, and Reconstruction.

Historical Text Archive: African American History (Mississippi State University)
[http://historicaltextarchive.com/sections.php?op=listarticles&secid=8]
Links to archival materials and primary documents relating to the African American experience.

Historical Text Archive: History of the United States (Mississippi State University)
[http://historicaltextarchive.com/]
Links to archival materials and primary source documents in United States History.

Japanese American Exhibit and Access Project (University of Washington Libraries)
[http://www.lib.washington.edu/exhibits/harmony/]
Important online resource for primary documents, archival materials, and photographic images relating to the internment of Japanese Americans during World War II.

Jazz: A Film by Ken Burns
[http://www.pbs.org/jazz/]
Jazz presents a history of this distinctly American form of music. There are links to lesson plans and activities for educators.

Literature and Culture of the American 1950s
[http://www.writing.upenn.edu/~afilreis/50s/home.html]
Prepared for a course on American literary politics of the era, this site is a gateway to links on the literary figures and other participants and issues that defined the period, including the cold war, McCarthyism, and racism.

Living the Legacy: The Women's Rights Movement, 1848-1998
[http://www.legacy98.org/]
A resource for planning and researching the celebration of the 150th anniversary of the first women's rights convention held in Seneca Falls, NY on July 19 and 20, 1848.

Making of America
[http://quod.lib.umich.edu/m/moagrp/]
Digital Library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. Collection is strong on the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 1,600 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.

National Archives and Records Administration
[http://www.archives.gov/index.html]
Extraordinary resource which provides links to genealogical data, records of government agencies, the John F. Kennedy Assassination Records Collection, and much more.

National Endowment for the Humanities
[http://www.neh.gov/]
NEH serves and strengthens our republic by promoting excellence in the humanities and conveying the lessons of history to all Americans

National Women's History Project
[http://www.nwhp.org/]
This site is sponsored by a nonprofit organization that started the drive for Women's History Month. Its goal is to promote awareness of women's history. Links are provided to speakers and performers, events and celebrations, and other women's history sites . Includes a timeline of women's history.

President (University of North Carolina)
[http://www.ibiblio.org/lia/president/pres.html]
This collaborative effort between the University of North Carolina and the National Archives provides electronic resources emphasizing the modern presidency. Links to presidential libraries and museums.

Repositories of Primary Resources
[http://webpages.uidaho.edu/special-collections/other.Repositories.html]
A listing of over 5000 websites describing holdings of manuscripts, archives, rare books, historical photographs, and other primary sources for the research scholar.

September 11 Web Archive (Library of Congress)
[http://september11.archive.org/]
A collection of web pages from individuals, charitable organizations, the media, etc. showing their reactions and coverage of events related to the September 11 terrorist attacks. Search or browse.

Smithsonian Folkways
[http://www.folkways.si.edu]

Smithsonian Folkways Recordings
[http://www.folkways.si.edu]
Site for the nonprofit record label of the Smithsonian Institution which includes educational materials and a list of their recordings.

Spy Letters of the American Revolution
[http://www.clements.umich.edu/exhibits/online/spies/index-main2.html]
This site is built around original source materials held at Clements Library. Timelines from 1763-1783 and the Teacher's Lounge enrich this site for classroom purposes.

The Underground Railroad
[http://nationalgeographic.org/media/underground-railroad-journey-freedom-educator-guide/]
With a time line, classroom ideas, and links to other resources, this website explores the options for slaves in America - taking the chance for freedom on the Underground Railroad or staying on the plantation.

United States Courts
[http://www.uscourts.gov/]
Provides information from and about the Judicial Branch of the U.S. Government.

The Wars for Vietnam (Vassar College)
[http://vietnam.vassar.edu/]
A detailed, well-produced website emphasizing America's involvement in Vietnam. Contains a wealth of primary documents and links to image resources, veteran's organizations, and Vietnamese cultural sites.

We Shall Overcome: Historic Places of the Civil Rights Movement (National Park Service)
[http://www.nps.gov/nr/travel/civilrights/]
Detailed resource which chronicles the Civil Rights Movement through lists of historic sites.

WestWeb: Western History Resource (College of Staten Island, CUNY)
[http://www.library.csi.cuny.edu/westweb/]
Comprehensive, enjoyable and well-designed website with extensive links to primary source documents and photographic resources related to the American West.

Witchcraft in Salem Village (Danvers Archival Center/University of Virginia)
[http://etext.virginia.edu/salem/witchcraft/]
Extensive primary source documents relating to the witchcraft trials in Salem, including verbatim transcripts of legal documents, 1692.

Women in America, 1820-1842
[http://teachinghistory.org/history-content/website-reviews/22774]
A more complete and varied picture of the life of American women. Excerpts from the writings of European travelers of t he period, arranged by topic or author.

Work 'n' Progress: Stories of Southern Labor
[http://research.library.gsu.edu/WorknProgress]
A detailed history of the labor movement in the southern U.S., from the colonial and antebellum eras to the present, is presented. Lesson plans and resources for middle and high school students are included.


Statistics- United States

US Census Bureau
[http://www.census.gov/]
Official source of demographic and economic statistics for the US Selected international statistics also available. Includes links to other government statistics sources.


United States - Statistics

Census Data (2000)
[http://www.census.gov/main/www/cen2000.html]
All encompassing website for the data from the 2000 United States Census.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=American History