University of Hartford Libraries

African History Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

Africa
Mortensen Library Reference DT30.5 .E344 2006

Africa Development Indicators
[http://go.worldbank.org/U4SNSH1FC0]
Current Africa Development Indicators for download with access to statistics from 1965 to present. Have print (2002) Mortensen Library Reference HC800 .A475

African Development Indicators
[http://web.worldbank.org/WBSITE/EXTERNAL/COUNTRIES/AFRICAEXT/EXTPUBREP/EXTSTATINAFR/0,,contentMDK:21102598~menuPK:3083981~pagePK:64168445~piPK:64168309~theSitePK:824043,00.html]
World Bank Statistical Information on Africa with other links to further information and data.

The Companion to African Literatures
Mortensen Library Reference PR9340 .C65 2000

Country Studies
[http://lcweb2.loc.gov/frd/cs/cshome.html]
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world

Garland Handbook of African Music
Edited by Ruth M. Stone. Allen Library Reference [REF ML100 G37 A]

Internet African History Sourcebook
[http://www.fordham.edu/Halsall/africa/africasbook.asp]
On this site historical sources on the history of human societies in the continent of Africa are presented, when available, without making prejudgements about what is "African."

Nigeria's Diverse Peoples: A Reference Sourcebook
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/abcnigeria]
Explores the history of ethnic, regional and religious diversity in Nigeria.

South Africa's Diverse Peoples: A Reference Sourcebook
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.credoreference.com/book/abcsafrica]
Traces the fascinating racial history of South Africa before, during, and after the apartheid years.


Biographies

Biographical Dictionary of Modern Egypt
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/bdmodegypt]
Notable figures in modern Egyptian society.

Who's Who in Ancient Egypt, Routledge
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/routwwae]
Notable Figures in ancient Egyptian History.


Encyclopedias

Africa and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/abcafatrle?institutionId=4005]
Explores the many long-standing influences of Africa and people of African descent on the culture of the Americas

Africa: An Encyclopedia for Students
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/eToc.do?source=&etocId=GALE|CX3400199001&inPS=true&prodId=GVRL&userGroupName=a23uh&tabID=&action=DO_BROWSE_ETOC&searchId=&searchType=BasicSearchForm&docId=GALE|9780684314204&contentSegment=9780684314204&isDownLoadOptionDisabled=true]
Consists of 450 alphabetically arranged entries covering countries, regions, geographic features, cultural groups, personalities, and general subjects such as body adornment and clothing, oral tradition, and writing systems. Includes timelines, definitions and quick-reference fact boxes.

Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience
Mortensen Library Reference DT14 .A37435 2005

Encyclopedia of African History
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/routafricanhistory?institutionId=4005]
Encompasses all of African History.

Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East & North Africa
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780028659879&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=etoc&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Search the complete text of this 4 volume encyclopedia on the nations, cultures and peoples of the Middle East and North Africa. UofH only.

Encyclopedia of twentieth-century African history
Mortensen Library Reference DT29 .E53 2003

Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780028660851&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Provides students and researchers with a much-needed, comprehensive resource on the subject of colonialism and expansion.

Encyclopedia of World Trade From Ancient Times to the Present
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sharpewt]
This is the definitive reference on the history of trade in all time periods. It traces the historical and contemporary interaction of trade, commerce, and culture in fascinating detail.

Historical Dictionary of Liberia
Mortensen Library Reference DT631 .D95 2001

New Encyclopedia of Africa
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/eToc.do?userGroupName=a23uh&prodId=GVRL&inPS=true&action=DO_BROWSE_ETOC&searchType=BasicSearchForm&docId=GALE%7C9780684315577&contentSegment=9780684315577]
Addresses the entire history of African cultures from the pharaohs and the ancient civilizations of the south through the colonial era to the emergence of 53 independent countries, some of them newly emergent in world commerce and others deep in conflict.

Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures & Daily Life—Volume 1: Africa
Mortensen Library Reference GN333 .W67 1998 v.1


Primary Documents

Africa and the West: A Documentary History from the Slave Trade to Independence
Mortensen Library Reference DT353.5.E9 A34 2001


Databases

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

African Women's Bibliographic Database
[http://www.africabib.org/women.html]
English-language database contained over 35,000 citations from 1986 onward. The database indexes six types of materials: books and government documents; articles appearing in edited books; periodical and journal articles; Masters theses and Ph.D. dissertations as well as a few B.A. theses and honors papers; conference papers; and videocassettes.

Africana Periodical Literature Bibliographic Database
[http://www.africabib.org/perio.htm]
English-language database had indexed over 60,000 articles from over 500 English-language and multilingual journals and periodicals that specialize in African Studies or consistently cover the African continent.

Essay & General Literature Index with Retrospective
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=egr,egi]
Years Covered: 1900-
Essay & General Literature offers access to tens of thousands of essays that are otherwise all but inaccessible. This resource also unlocks a wealth of information in thousands of collections and anthologies, making your library more valuable to researchers in a wide array of fields.

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

Humanities Abstracts
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=hma]
Strong resource index for all aspects of the Humanities including: Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology

ProQuest Social Science Journals
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/socscijournals?accountid=11308]
ProQuest Social Science Journals is a definitive resource for those who need access to a variety of social science journals. The database includes over 530 titles, with more than 300 available in full text.

World Digital Library (WDL)
[http://www.wdl.org/en/]
The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, digital images of significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.


Periodicals

Journal of African Music and Popular Culture


Websites

Africa South of the Sahara (Stanford University Libraries)
[http://library.stanford.edu/africa-south-sahara]
Excellent resource for Sub-Saharan African cultural, political, and historical information. Searchable database with links by topic and region.

African American Women Writers of the 19th Century
[http://digital.nypl.org/schomburg/writers_aa19/]
A collection of 52 works by African American women reproduced digitally by the Schomburg Center of the New York Public Library. Included are poetry, fiction, biography, autobiography and essays. Searchable by author, title, genre, and keywords in the text.

The African Americans: Many Rivers to Cross
[https://www.pbslearningmedia.org/collection/the-african-americans-many-rivers-to-cross/]
Henry Louis Gates, Jr. recounts the full trajectory of African-American history in his groundbreaking series. Using video clips from The African Americans: Many Rivers to Cross, this collection of lesson plans addresses a wide range of themes of the African-American experience from 1500 to the present.

African Music Encyclopedia: Music from Africa and the African Diaspora
[http://www.africanmusic.org/]
Includes an index of artists, listings by country, a glossary, and useful links.

African Studies (University of Pennsylvania)
[https://www.africa.upenn.edu/]
Country-specific database with searchable, well-annotated links.

African Studies on the Internet (Center for African Studies, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)
[http://www.afrst.uiuc.edu/]
Excellent resource for African studies. Extensive links to archival, historical, and

Afrocentric Voices
[http://www.afrovoices.com/]
This site includes research centers and collections featuring or including a significant portion of material by or about African American musicians.

Bank Information Center
[http://www.bicusa.org/]
Information on the projects, policies and practices of the World Bank and other development banks. Includes publications and "toolkits" for those working with the banks. Multilingual.

Exploring Amistad (Mystic Seaport Museum)
[http://educators.mysticseaport.org/documents/amistad_notes/]
Well-produced web resource on the Amistad Trial, with links to court records, historic maps, timelines, and graphic images.

John Henrik Clarke Africana Library (Cornell University)
[http://africana.library.cornell.edu/]
Provides excellent links to African American historical sites, electronic journals, political, and cultural resources.

Repositories of Primary Resources
[http://webpages.uidaho.edu/special-collections/other.Repositories.html]
A listing of over 5000 websites describing holdings of manuscripts, archives, rare books, historical photographs, and other primary sources for the research scholar.

Smithsonian National Museum of African Art
[http://africa.si.edu]
Highlights of temporary and permanent exhibits with extensive information.

W.E.B. Du Bois Institute for African-American Research (Harvard University)
[http://www.fas.harvard.edu/~du_bois/]
Research projects, events, and publications related to the study of the history, culture, and social institutions of African Americans.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=African History