University of Hartford Libraries

Accounting and Taxation Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

ACH Rules: A Complete Guide to Rules & Regulations Governing the ACH Network
Mortensen Library Reference HG2321 .A28 (University Affiliated patrons may get online Password from Mortensen Reference Office)

AICPA Code of Professional Conduct
[http://www.aicpa.org/Research/Standards/CodeofConduct/Pages/default.aspx]
The AICPA Code of Professional Conduct has been updated for all Official Releases through June 2008.

AICPA Professional Standards
Mortensen Library Reference HF5667 .A523 2012 (3 volumes)

Business Ratios and Formulas: A Comprehensive Guide
Mortensen Library Reference HF5691 .B73

Career Opportunities in Banking, Finance, and Insurance
Mortensen Library Reference HG173 .F55 2002

CPA Exam: An Introduction to the Exam, Test Taking Tips, and past examination questions with solutions
Mortensen Library Permanent Reserves HF5661 .C656 2000 (Ask at Mortensen Circulation Desk)

Handbook of Accounting and Auditing
Mortensen Library Reference HF5635 .H22 1997

Lambers CPA Review - Auditing and Attestation, v.3
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://library.hartford.edu/eres/reserves/Haggan/Lambers%20CPA%20Review%20Textbook%20Bundle/CPA%20AUDIT/LambersCPAReviewAUDIT.pdf]
CPA resource.

Lambers CPA Review - Business Environment & Concepts, v.4
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://library.hartford.edu/eres/reserves/Haggan/Lambers%20CPA%20Review%20Textbook%20Bundle/CPA%20BEC/LambersCPAReviewBEC.pdf]
CPA resource.

Lambers CPA Review - Financial Accounting and Reporting, v.1
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://library.hartford.edu/eres/reserves/Haggan/Lambers%20CPA%20Review%20Textbook%20Bundle/CPA%20FAR/LambersCPAReviewFAR.pdf]
CPA Review Resource

Lambers CPA Review - Regulation, v.2
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://library.hartford.edu/eres/reserves/Haggan/Lambers%20CPA%20Review%20Textbook%20Bundle/CPA%20REG/LambersCPAReviewREG.pdf]
CPA resource.

Leading United States Supreme Court State Tax Cases: Official Syllabi, Notes, and Indices
Mortensen Library Reference KF6736 .L43 1994

Petersonís MBA Programs
Mortensen Library Reference HF1131 .P44 (2009 edition)

Schaumís Outline of Theory and Problems of Intermediate Accounting I
Mortensen Library Reference QA182.S3 E54 2007

Schaumís Outline of Theory and Problems of Intermediate Accounting II
Mortensen Library Reference QA182.S3 .E55 2007

Schaumís Outline of Theory and Problems of Tax Accounting
Mortensen Library Reference QA182.S3 M67 1980

Social Security Handbook
[http://ssa.gov/OP_Home/handbook/handbook-toc.html]
Basic Guide to the Social Security Programs

Wiley GAAP 2012: Interpretation and Application of Generally Accepted Accounting Principles
Mortensen Library Reference HF5616.U5 W55 2012

Wiley Practitioner's Guide to GAAS 2016: Covering All SASs, SSAEs, SSARSs, and Interpretations
Mortensen Library Permanent Reserves HF5616.U5 W558 2016 and Mortensen Library Reference HF5616.U5 W558 2013 and Mortensen Library Shelves HF5616.U5 W558 2012.


Careers

The Best 296 Business Schools
Mortensen Library Reference HF1131 .B47 (2015 edition) and Mortensen Library Shelves HF1131 .B47 (2014 edition)

Petersonís MBA Programs
Mortensen Library Reference HF1131 .P44 (2009 edition)


Dictionaries

Black's Law Dictionary
Mortensen Library Reference KF156 .B53

Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Accounting
Mortensen Library Reference HF5621 .B54

BUSINESS: The Ultimate Resource- Dictionary of Business and Management
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/ultimatebusiness]
Definitions of international business and management terms. Abbreviations and acronyms.

Collins Dictionary of Business
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/collinsbus]
Business reference covering business theory and practice.

Dictionary of Accounting
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/acbaccount?institutionId=4005]
Terminology relating to accounting and taxation.

Dictionary of Accounting and Auditing: 10,000 + Terms Currently Used in the USA, UK, Canada and Australia
Mortensen Library Reference HF5621 .D53

Dictionary of Business
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/acbbusiness?institutionId=4005]
Basic vocabulary used in both British and American business.

The New Penguin Business Dictionary
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/penguinbus?institutionId=4005]
General business terminology.

Wall Street Lingo thousands of investment terms explained simply
Mortensen Library Reference HG4513 .P48 2007


Encyclopedias

Accountants' Handbook
Mortensen Library Reference HF5621 .A22

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management: Accounting
Mortensen Library Reference HD30.15 .B455

Encyclopaedia of Business (Capstone)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/capstonebus]
Reference information of business.

Encyclopedia of Business and Finance (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/eBooks?ste=22&docNum=CX3402799999]
Search the full two volumes of the 2nd edition (2001) Encyclopedia which presents information on a wide range of business issues. UofH only.

Encyclopedia of Small Business (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781414410401&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Search the full two volumes of the 2007 edition encyclopedia for small business owners. Includes financing, planning, marketing, human resources etc. UofH only.

Encyclopedia of Taxation and Tax Policy
Mortensen Library Reference HJ2305 .E53

West's Encyclopedia of American Law
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780787693732&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Search the full text of the 13 volume, 2005 edition of this comprehensive encyclopedia on all aspects of American law and the legal system. UofH only.


Databases

ABI/INFORM Complete
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/abicomplete/advanced?accountid=11308]
Thousands of the leading English language business and management journals. Full text and/or full image available for most articles after 1989. Indexing and abstracts from 1970. Also searches Hoover's Company Records for company and industry information. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

BNA Tax Management Portfolios
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://taxandaccounting.bna.com/btac/]
The BNA Tax and Accounting Center offers practitioners a comprehensive array of analysis, news, primary sources, and practice tools covering federal, international, and state tax issues and financial accounting.

Cabell's Business College Set
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.cabells.com]
The College/Library/Business Set includes the Cabell's Directories in Accounting, Economics and Finance, Management and Marketing. Professors and graduate students in Business frequently use the Cabell's Directories to assist them in publishing their manuscripts. Also, administrators and accrediting committees use them to evaluate publication records. Contains articles and other information on a myriad of Business topics.

Checkpoint (RIA)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://checkpoint.riag.com/login?iploc=univofhart]
Comprehensive full text database of tax information at the federal and state level. Includes codes, regulations, cases and other primary materials as well as secondary sources such as handbooks and other materials from RIA.

Credo Reference
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.credoreference.com/search/advanced]
Search over 550 full text online reference titles in a wide variety of subjects and online reference types, incl. Bibliographies, Atlases, Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Statistics, and speeches. All individual titles are listed in the Library Catalog.

Emerald Fulltext
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.emeraldinsight.com/Insight/menuNavigation.do?hdAction=menu_ca_sb_quick_search]
Database of articles from approximately 200 journals covering business, management, and administration issues. Full text. Available in both PDF and HTML formats.

FindArticles (Look Smart)
[http://www.findarticles.com/]
Searches for articles in approximately 900 magazines and journals. Emphasis on trade publications. Text only - no graphic content available. Some articles available to subscribers or for a fee only.

Global Financial Data
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://www.globalfinancialdata.com/GFDPlatform/Login.aspx]
LOGIN as ANONYMOUS to use full database or create your own user name and password to save searches, etc. Global Financial Data provides accurate, verified financial data and statistics. Compiled from original sources, the GF Database is an online collection of more than 20,000 data series, which span decades or even centuries of information, and cover more than 200 countries. It is accessible anytime, anywhere 24 hours a day. Offers daily close data for US stocks, daily stock market histories begin as early as 1962 for major US stocks, and delivers original end-of-day trading values for individual United States stocks. PLEASE NOTE: There is a 20 person seat limit. So please, LOGOUT, to end your session properly.

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

Mergent Archives
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.mergentarchives.com]
Years Covered: 1909-2010
Online database providing you with access to a vast, indexed collection of corporate and industry related documents.

Mergent Online
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.mergentonline.com]
Offers a wealth of detail on items including business description, history, property, subsidiaries, officers and directors, long-term debt and capital stock. Financial statements are presented in "as-reported" form and in native currencies, maintaining the full integrity of this critical information.

Worldwide Tax Summaries (Pricewaterhouse-Coopers)
[http://www.pwc.com/gx/en/tax/corporate-tax/worldwide-tax-summaries/taxsummaries.jhtml]
A key reference tool for all tax practitioners. It draws on the breadth and depth of expertise offered by PwC, and gives you quick access to information about the corporate and individual tax systems in over 150 countries worldwide, in an easily digestible format.


Websites

General Resources

1040.com
[https://www.1040.com/]
Tax information for ordinary people. Includes both state and federal information, and a collection of links to more.

AccountantsWorld
[http://www.accountantsworld.com/]
Free online registration. Information, links and data on Accounting across the web.

AICPA Online
[http://www.aicpa.org]
Publications and other information from the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants.

American Accounting Association
[http://aaahq.org/index.cfm]
News, educational materials, research, publications by and about the profession, etc.

BNA Tax Management
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://taxandaccounting.bna.com/btac/]
Information on the latest US tax changes. Subscriber access available for valid University of Hartford users.

BusinessUSA.gov
[http://business.usa.gov/]
One stop access to compliance information, forms and contact for doing business with the government.

CPA Links (AICPA)
[http://www.aicpa.org/Research/ExternalLinks/Pages/default.aspx]
Gateway to accounting-related sites, maintained by the AICPA.

CPANet
[http://www.cpanet.com/]
Large collection of links for the accounting profession. Arranged in subject categories. Also links to news of interest.

Deloitte: International Tax and Business Guide
[https://dits.deloitte.com/]
International tax information for over 126 countries.

Entrepreneurship.org
[http://www.entrepreneurship.org/]
Variety of information for entrepreneurs, aimed at growing their businesses.

Ernst and Young International
[http://www.ey.com/]
Access to analysis and reports from the accounting and consulting firm. Use Gateway to our Site to get to information from offices around the world. Ideas, Solutions, Results includes Ernst and Young publications. Searchable.

Essential Links to Taxes
[http://www.el.com/elinks/taxes/]
"Online resources to taxpayer tips and information"

Financial Accounting Standards Board
[http://www.fasb.org/]
Information from and about FASB, including downloadable documents.

Find Accounting Software
[http://findaccountingsoftware.com/]
Free site that allows a business to search for and locate the best software available for their accounting needs.

Minority Business Development Agency
[http://www.mbda.gov/]
Resources to support the growth of minority owned businesses in the US. Includes business listings, online resources, statistics, etc. From US Department of Commerce.

Mortgage Loan (Business Calculators)
[http://www.mortgageloan.com:80/calculator/]
Online business calculators for mortgages, other loans, CD and investments, debt and credit, tax, retirement, etc. Very handy free services from the Mortgage Loan company.

Resource Library (Smart Pros)
[http://accounting.smartpros.com/Resource-Library.xml]
Link to a variety of resources for accounting and taxation.

Section on Taxation: Other Related Sites
[http://www.abanet.org/tax/sites.html]
Maintained by American Bar Association. Emphasis is on links to tax law sites at the federal and state level.

Securities Class Action Clearinghouse (Stanford Law School)
[http://securities.stanford.edu/index.html]
Regularly update information on class action lawsuits related to securities fraud. Includes full text of briefs, filings, etc. related to the suites.

Start Here, Go Places
[http://startheregoplaces.com/]
The American Institute of Public Accountants created this free site to connect students interested in business and accounting to career sites, scholarships, internship opportunities and colleges.

Tax and Accounting Sites Directory
[http://www.taxsites.com/]
Includes federal, state and international tax information, links to accounting firms, associations, etc. Maintained at the University of Northern Iowa.

Tax Links
[http://www.taxlinks.com/]
Searchable database of IRS rulings since 1954. Also provides links to outside sources of additional US tax information.

Tax Me if You Can
[http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/pages/frontline/shows/tax/]
Based on a PBS Frontline broadcast on corporate tax shelters. Includes link to related Marketplace (NPR) broadcasts.

Tax World
[http://www.taxworld.org/]
More than tax code. Check "Tax Policy and Comments" for discussion of issues.

US Securities and Exchange Commission
[http://www.sec.gov/]
Current news, regulations, information from the SEC, including access to the official EDGAR site

Will Yancy's Home Page
[http://www.willyancey.com/]
Comprehensive links to tax and accounting information. Maintained by a professor at Texas Christian University.


Connecticut

State of Connecticut, Department of Revenue Services
[http://www.ct.gov/drs]
State tax forms (download and print using Adobe Acrobat) and other information.


Statistics

Will Yancy's Home Page
[http://www.willyancey.com/]
Comprehensive links to tax and accounting information. Maintained by a professor at Texas Christian University.


Statistics- United States

State Tax Collection Data by State
[https://www.census.gov/govs/statetax/]
Summary information on tax revenues of the 50 state governments, as well as D.C. Annual since 1992.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Accounting and Taxation