citation and style guides - Subject Guide
Return to Subject Guide list
Return to Reference category
The American Heritage Guide to Contemporary Usage and Style
Authoritative survey of English usage, grammar, and style.
ANSI/NISO Z39.18 - 2005 (R2010) Scientific and Technical Reports - Preparation, Presentation, and Preservation
This standard outlines the elements, organization and design of scientific and technical reports, including guidance for uniform presentation of front and back matter, text, and visual and tabular matter in print and digital formats, as well as recommendations for multimedia reports.
Associated Press Stylebook and Briefing on Media Law
Mortensen Library Reference PN4783 .A83 2011
Check Status
Columbia.edu Editorial Style Guide
Based on the Columbia Guide to Online Style, provides general guidance and examples from humanities (MLA and Chicago) and scientific (APA and CBE) styles of citing electronic information sources.
Elements of Style by William Strunk
Online version of the original text of Elements of Style. Click "Check Status" for access.
Check Status
MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing
Mortensen Library Reference LB2369 .G533 2008
Check Status
AIP Style Manual (American Institute of Physics)
Full text (pdf) of the 4th edition of the official physics style manual.
APA Style Guide Website
Official guidelines for citing electronic information sources, including EBSCOhost and other online databases. Official Site.
APA Style Resources
Multiple sites providing guidance on APA style citations.
Chicago Manual of Style
Search the full text of the 15th (2003) edition. Free registration required.
Chicago Style Citation Quick Guide
Explanation and examples for basics of using Chicago or Turabian style citations.
Citation Style for Research Papers (CW Post, Long Island University)
Guidelines for APA, MLA, and other major style manuals. Color coded for easy navigation.
Citation Styles
Guidelines for MLA, APA, Chicago, Columbia styles for electronic resources.
Citing the Internet
Examples in APA, MLA, and Turabian styles. Note especially examples for citing documents from EBSCOhost.
Documentation Guidelines: Citing Sources in Your Paper (Duke University Library)
Basic guidance in using the major styles to cite printed and online sources.
The Elements of Style (Bartleby)
Full text of William Strunk's classic guide to proper usage.
Guide for Citing Electronic Information
Links to finding resources on citing Electronic Styles.
Guide to Grammar and Writing
Basic searchable, detailed guide to sentence structure, punctuation, and more. Includes an online dictionary and thesaurus, web links for writers, and even an interactive grammar advice column.
Guide to Harvard Referencing (Leeds Met University)
Guide to citing print and electronic materials using a form favored in the sciences.
Karla's Guide to Citation Style Guides (University of Iowa)
Links to guides on citations of both print and electronic materials in several styles.
Modern Language Association (MLA)
Choose MLA style for guide to formatting citations based on MLA guidelines. Official Site.
On-line Resources for Documenting Electronic Sources
Links to basic style guides as well as specific guides for APA, MLA and Turabian style.
OWL (Online Writing Lab) at Purdue
This site provides strong guidance in writing career related documents including resumes, curriculum vitae (cv's) and cover letters.
Resumesamples.info
Samples and tips on how to write effective resumes.
Son of Citation Machine
Citation Machine is an interactive web tool designed to assist high school, college, and university students, their teachers, and independent researchers in their effort to respect other people's intellectual property.
Writing Links from the University of Hartford's Center for Reading and Writing
The University of Hartford's Center for Reading and Writing provides a list of links for help with MLA and APA guidelines, writing a thesis, and other resources for writers.
Zotero
Zotero is a free, easy-to-use Firefox extension to help you collect, manage, and cite your research sources. It lives right where you do your work — in the web browser itself.