Woodwind Music Subject Guide - University Libraries, University of Hartford
Skip to Top Navigation Skip to Utility Navigation Skip to Search Skip to Left Navigation Skip to Content
  • Services
  • User Information
  • Get Help
  •  

    Woodwind Music - Subject Guide

    Return to Subject Guide list
    Return to Music category
    Printer-friendly version
    Sections in this category: Bassoon Music in the Library | Books about the Bassoon | Books for Finding Music | Periodicals | Websites

    Bassoon Music in the Library

    Click links below to search for items in the library catalog, or use the call numbers below to browse the shelves at the Allen Library.

    Bassoon and piano Music
    M253 - M254

    Bassoon concertos with orchestra
    M1026 - M1027

    Bassoon concertos with string orchestra
    M1126 - M1127

    Bassoon solo
    M77

    Method books - Bassoon
    MT405

    Orchestral Excerpts - Bassoon
    MT406


    Books about the Bassoon

    The Bassoon and Contrabassoon
    By Lyndesay Graham Langwill. Allen Library Shelves [ML950 L28 1971] Check Status

    Bassoon Reed Making Including Bassoon Repair, Maintenance, and Adjustment, and an Approach to Bassoon Playing
    By Mark Popkin and Loren Glickman. Allen Library Shelves [ML951 P66 B3] Check Status

    The Bassoon: Its History, Construction, Makers, Players, and Music
    By Will Jansen. Allen Library Closed Stacks [ML950 J35] Check Status

    See more books about the bassoon


    Books for Finding Music

    Bassoon Bibliography
    By Kodo Koenigsbeck. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 B26 K64 B37]
    Valuable tool for identifying works that include bassoon in a wide variety of instrumental combinations. Lists over 18,000 works. Check Status

    Music for Unaccompanied Solo Bassoon
    By Jon Beebe. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 B26 B44]
    Describes over 150 work for unaccompanied solo bassoon, including information such as duration, range, performance techniques required, compositional style, difficulty, and more. Check Status

    Woodwind Music in Print
    By Harry B. Peters. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 W5 P48 1997]
    Organized by instrumentation, this resource lists tens of thousands of works that include at least one woodwind instrument. Covers works for solo instruments up through large chamber ensembles, as well as works for solo instruments with large ensembles. Check Status


    Periodicals

    Websites

    The Bassoon Resource Page
    Includes a history of the bassoon, information on makers, reed tips, fingering charts, music clips, and more.


    Sections in this category: Books about the Clarinet | Books for Finding Music | Clarinet Music in the Library | Periodicals | Websites

    Books about the Clarinet

    The Clarinet
    By Eric Hoeprich. Allen Library [ML945 H64] This is an in-depth history of the clarinet and its music, covering its origins through the early 21st century. Also includes chapters on the basset horn, the bass clarinet, "the odd clarinets," and "bands, folk music and all that jazz." Check Status

    The Clarinet and Clarinet Playing
    By David Pino. Allen Library [MT380 P65]
    A comprehensive resource on the clarinet. Includes chapters on mouthpieces and ligatures, embouchure, tonguing, musical interpretation, teaching, reeds, history, and more. Check Status

    Clarinet Secrets: 52 Performance Strategies for the Advanced Clarinetist
    By Michèle Gingras. Allen Library [MT380 G55 C53]
    Provides tips on advanced clarinet techniques such as faster tonguing, improving intonation and tone, balancing reeds, extended techniques, klezmer technique, and more. Check Status

    See more books about the clarinet


    Books for Finding Music

    Repertory of the Clarinet
    By Kalmen Opperman. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 C6 O]
    Resource for identifying works that include clarinet from the mid-20th century and earlier. Lists works ranging from etudes and solo works up to works for orchestra and clarinet. Includes many works not listed in the much larger Woodwind Music in Print. Check Status

    Solos for Unaccompanied Clarinet: An Annotated Bibliography of Published Works
    By James E. Gillespie, Jr. [REF ML128 C6 G]
    Lists over 120 works for unaccompanied solo clarinet. Provides duration, movement titles/tempos, and a brief description of each work, including the technical demands. Check Status

    Woodwind Music in Print
    By Harry B. Peters. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 W5 P48 1997]
    Organized by instrumentation, this resource lists tens of thousands of works that include at least one woodwind instrument. Covers works for solo instruments up through large chamber ensembles, as well as works for solo instruments with large ensembles. Check Status


    Clarinet Music in the Library

    Click links below to search for items in the library catalog, or use the call numbers below to browse the shelves at the Allen Library.

    Clarinet and piano
    M248 - M252

    Clarinet concertos with orchestra
    M1024 - M1025

    Clarinet concertos with string orchestra
    M1124 - M1125

    Clarinet Solo
    M71 - M73

    Method Books - Clarinet
    MT382 - MT385

    Orchestral Excerpts - Clarinet
    MT386


    Periodicals

    Websites

    Clarinet Acoustics: An Introduction
    An award-winning website introducing the physics behind clarinet acoustics.

    The Clarinet Institute of Los Angeles
    Includes downloadable music, recordings, videos, and more clarinet-related resources.

    International Clarinet Association
    Site includes information about the association as well as articles, a research center of clarinet collections and scores, and other useful links for clarinetists.


    Sections in this category: Books about the Flute | Books for Finding Music | Flute Music in the Library | Periodicals | Websites

    Books about the Flute

    The Flute
    By Ardal Powell. Allen Library [ML935 P69]
    An in-depth examination of the history of the flute, from the medieval to the modern. Check Status

    The Flute Book
    By Nancy Toff. Allen Library [ML935 T64 1996]
    A valuable resource that covers a wide range of flute-related topics, including choosing an instrument, care and maintenance, a brief history, breathing, vibrato, articulation, literature, and more. Check Status

    The Simple Flute: From A to Z
    By Michel Debost. Allen Library [MT340 D43 S55] Advice and comments on flute playing from a world-renowned flutist and flute teacher. Check Status

    See more books about the flute


    Books for Finding Music

    Flute Literature
    By Bernard Pierreuse. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 F6 P6]
    Identifies thousands of works that include flute. Organized by instrumentation, this resource covers everything from solo flute to 13-piece chamber ensembles, as well as works for flute with orchestra. Check Status

    Flute Music of the 18th Century
    By Frans Vester. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 F6 V5]
    Use this resource to identify 18th-century flute works either by composer or instrumentation. Check Status

    Woodwind Music in Print
    By Harry B. Peters. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 W5 P48 1997]
    Organized by instrumentation, this resource lists tens of thousands of works that include at least one woodwind instrument. Covers works for solo instruments up through large chamber ensembles, as well as works for solo instruments with large ensembles. Check Status


    Flute Music in the Library

    Click links below to search for items in the library catalog, or use the call numbers below to browse the shelves at the Allen Library.

    Flute and piano
    M240 - M244

    Flute concertos with orchestra
    M1020 - M1021

    Flute concertos with string orchestra
    M1120 - M1121

    Flute solo
    M61 - M64

    Method Books - Flute
    MT342 - MT345

    Orchestral Excerpts - Flute
    MT346


    Periodicals

    Websites

    Dayton C. Miller Flute Collection
    Preview the Library of Congress collection comprised of nearly 1,650 flutes and other instruments, iconography, books, music, tutors, patents, and other materials related to the flute.

    Flute World
    Home page for "the largest supplier of flute music, flutes and piccolos."

    Larry Krantz Flute Pages
    Comprehensive site that includes flute repertoire lists, fingerings, teaching tips, career and college preparatory information, health issues, events calendar, information on lost/stolen flutes, etc.

    National Flute Association
    Includes competitions, events, the NFA library, newly published music, commercial flute resources, and more.


    Sections in this category: Books about the Oboe | Books for Finding Music | Finding Oboe Music in the Library | Periodicals | Websites

    Books about the Oboe

    The Oboe
    By Geoffrey Burgess and Bruce Haynes. Allen Library [ML940 B87 O2]
    An extensive history of the oboe and its music, covering everything from the ancestors of the oboe up through the end of the 20th century. Check Status

    Oboe Art and Method
    By Martin Schuring. Allen Library [MT360 S397] Practical guide to the oboe, including sections on fundamentals (breathing, embouchure, articulation, etc.), reed making, equipment and care, and professional/performance considerations. Check Status

    The Oboe Reed Book
    By Jay Light. Allen Library [ML941 L54 O2]
    Covers all aspects of reed making, including the philosophy behind it, the tools needed, and the procedures taken. Check Status

    Oboe Unbound: Contemporary Techniques
    By Libby Van Cleve. Allen Library [MT360 V35 O25]
    Covers a range of extended techniques for the oboe, including harmonics, microtones, glissandi, multiphonics, double tonguing, and more. Includes a CD with examples of the techniques. Check Status

    See more books about the oboe


    Books for Finding Music

    Music for Oboe, 1650 -1800
    By Bruce Haynes. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 O12 H4 1992]
    Lists nearly 10,000 works that include oboe, organized by composer and indexed by instrumentation. Check Status

    Music for Oboe, Oboe d'amore, and English Horn
    By Virginia S. Gifford. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 O12 G]
    Lists over 5,600 works that include oboe, oboe d'amore, or english horn, organized by instrumentation. Check Status

    Soloistic English Horn Literature from 1736 -1984
    By William W. McMullen. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 O12 M14]
    Listing of about 200 original works for english horn as soloist and in small chamber works. Includes a description of each work as well as a very short preview of the music. Index A lists the works by instrumentation. Check Status

    Woodwind Music in Print
    By Harry B. Peters. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 W5 P48 1997]
    Organized by instrumentation, this resource lists tens of thousands of works that include at least one woodwind instrument. Covers works for solo instruments up through large chamber ensembles, as well as works for solo instruments with large ensembles. Check Status


    Finding Oboe Music in the Library

    Click links below to search for items in the library catalog, or use the call numbers below to browse the shelves at the Allen Library.

    Method Books - Oboe
    MT362 - MT365

    Oboe and piano
    M245 - M247

    Oboe concertos with orchestra
    M1022 - M1023

    Oboe concertos with string orchestra
    M1122 - M1123

    Oboe solo
    M65 - M69

    Orchestral Excerpts - Oboe
    MT366


    Periodicals

    Websites

    The Haynes Catalog: Bibliography of Oboe Music by Peter Wuttke
    Bibliography of oboe music up to about 1800. Searchable by composer, instrumentation, publisher, and more.

    International Double Reed Society
    This site covers information and links for both oboists and bassoonists.


    Sections in this category: Books about the Saxophone | Books for Finding Music | Finding Saxophone Music in the Library | Periodicals | Websites

    Books about the Saxophone

    The Art of Saxophone Playing
    By Larry Teal. Allen Library [MT500 T52]
    Covers the equipment and mechanics of the saxophone, including the reed, breathing, embouchure, vibrato, articulation, and more. Check Status

    The Cambridge Companion to the Saxophone
    By Richard Ingham (ed.). Allen Library [ML975 C35]
    Overview of the saxophone, including history, soloists, repertoire, mechanics, teaching, and more. Check Status

    The Early History of the Saxophone
    By Fred Hemke. Allen Library [ML419 L84 U4]
    This dissertation is a highly detailed examination of the creation and early history of the saxophone. Check Status

    Les Sons Multiples aux Saxophones: Pour Saxophones Sopranino, Soprano, Alto, Tenor et Baryton
    By Daniel Kientzy. Allen Library [MT500 K54 S3]
    Lists hundreds of multiphonics fingerings for all saxophones. Text is in both French and English. Check Status

    See more books about the saxophone


    Books for Finding Music

    A Comprehensive Guide to the Saxophone Repertoire: 1844-2003
    By Jean-Marie Londeix. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 S20 L84 C65]
    Lists over 18,000 works for saxophone, saxophone ensemble, and saxophone with another instrument. Can by browsed by both composer and instrumentation. Check Status

    Saxophone Soloists and Their Music
    By Harry Gee. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 S2 G29]
    Lists hundreds of saxophone soloists, including brief bios, lists of compositions dedicated or premiered by them, recordings, and more. Check Status

    Woodwind Music in Print
    By Harry B. Peters. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 W5 P48 1997]
    Organized by instrumentation, this resource lists tens of thousands of works that include at least one woodwind instrument. Covers works for solo instruments up through large chamber ensembles, as well as works for solo instruments with large ensembles. Check Status


    Finding Saxophone Music in the Library

    Click links below to search for items in the library catalog, or use the call numbers below to browse the shelves at the Allen Library.

    Method Books - Saxophone
    MT500 - MT505

    Orchestral Excerpts - Saxophone
    MT506

    Saxophone and piano
    M268 - M269

    Saxophone concertos with orchestra
    M1034 - M1035

    Saxophone concertos with string orchestra
    M1134 - M1135

    Saxophone quartets
    M457.2

    Saxophone solo
    M106 - M109


    Periodicals

    Websites

    International Saxophone Home Page
    Features articles, interviews, reviews, and links to performers and ensembles, dealers, manufacturers, etc.

    Sax on the Web
    This page is devoted to saxophone playing, mainly "classical" but some jazz styles as well.

    Saxophone Acoustics - University of New South Wales
    Provides acoustic response, spectra, sound files, and fingerings for single and multiphonic notes on tenor and soprano saxophone.


    Sections in this category: Books about Woodwinds | Books for Finding Music | Finding Woodwind Music in the Library | Periodicals | Websites

    Books about Woodwinds

    Teaching Woodwinds: A Method and Resource Handbook for Music Educators
    By William Dietz (ed.). Allen Library [MT339.5 D54 T4]
    A valuable tool for teaching woodwind instruments. This book discusses the fundamentals of playing each woodwind instrument, as well as covering common problems and corresponding solutions. It also provides teaching techniques for helping students master various aspects of playing the instruments. Check Status

    Woodwind Anthology
    Allen Library Reference. [REF ML128 W7]
    A large collection of relatively brief articles from the journal Instrumentalist about woodwind instruments. Check Status

    Woodwinds: Fundamental Performance Techniques
    By Gene Saucier. Allen Library [MT339 S25 2002]
    Covers basic performance techniques for all woodwind instruments, such as tone production, embouchure, care, etc. Includes lists of standard repertoire, method books, and recordings Check Status

    See more books about woodwinds


    Books for Finding Music

    Orchestral Excerpts: A Comprehensive Index
    By Carolyn Rabson. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 O5 R2]
    Indicates in which books excerpts for particular works can be found. Check Status

    Wind Chamber Music: For Two to Sixteen Winds: An Annotated Guide
    By Barbera Secrist-Schmedes. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 W5 S43 2002]
    Lists works for flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, and french horn in a variety of combinations. Many entries provide brief descriptions of the work. Read the preface to understand how to determine instrumentation. Check Status

    Woodwind Music in Print
    By Harry B. Peters. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 W5 P48 1997]
    Organized by instrumentation, this resource lists tens of thousands of works that include at least one woodwind instrument. Covers works for solo instruments up through large chamber ensembles, as well as works for solo instruments with large ensembles. Check Status


    Finding Woodwind Music in the Library

    Click links below to search for items in the library catalog, or use the call numbers below to browse the shelves at the Allen Library.

    Other solo works [english horn, piccolo, etc.]
    M110

    Other wind instrument and piano
    M270 - M271

    2 wind instruments and piano
    M315 - M319

    3 wind instruments and piano
    M415 - M419

    Woodwind trios
    M357.2

    Woodwind quintets
    M557


    Periodicals

    Websites

    How Do Woodwind Instruments Work? (The University of New South Wales)
    Describes the acoustics behind woodwind instruments.

    The Woodwind Fingering Guide
    Provides fingering charts for a variety of traditional and non-traditional woodwind instruments.


    Searching by Instrumentation
    You can search the catalog for works of a particular instrumentation. Simply use the "Subject" and "Scores" limiters. See sample terms below.



    Subject terms generally follows a pattern, regardless of the instrument. Below are some sample terms that could be used in your search. Just replace the listed instrument(s) with the instrument(s) you want
    • flute music [use this for a solo work, without any accompaniment]
    • sonatas flute
    • flute with piano [use this for solo work with accompaniment
    • flute and guitar music [use this for duets with different instruments]
    • flute music flutes 2 [use this for duets for the same instrument]
    • concertos flute
    • Wind quintets [includes woodwind and brass instruments]
    • Woodwind quintets [includes just woodwind instruments]
    To determine other appropriate subject headings, look at the "related subjects" field in the catalog record for an an item with that instrumentation.


    Omit all parentheses and dashes before searching. In the above example, you would search for Woodwind ensembles clarinets 12.