Skip to Top Navigation Skip to Utility Navigation Skip to Search Skip to Left Navigation Skip to Content
  • Services
  • User Information
  • Get Help
  •  

    Women in Music - Subject Guide

    Return to Subject Guide list
    Return to Music category
    Printer-friendly version
    Sections in this category: General Resources | Anthologies

    General Resources

    Cecilia Reclaimed: Feminist Perspectives on Gender and Music
    Edited by Susan C. Cook and Judy S. Tsou. Allen Library Stacks [ML82 C660 C] Check Status

    Cultivating Music in America: Women Patrons and Activists since 1860
    Edited by Ralph P. Locke and Cyrilla Barr. Allen Library Stacks [ML82 C85] Check Status

    Feminine Endings: Music, Gender and Sexuality
    By Susan McClary. Allen Library Stacks [ML82 M36 F46] Check Status

    International Encyclopedia of Women Composers
    By Aaron I. Cohen. Allen Library Reference [REF ML105 W87 C 1987] Check Status

    Keyboard Music by Women Composers
    By Joan Meggett. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 P5 M4] Check Status

    Music by Black Women Composers: A Bibliography of Available Scores
    By Helen Walker -Hill. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 W8 W35] Check Status

    Musical Woman: An International Perspective
    By Judith Lang Zaimont. Allen Library Stacks [ML82 M98 Z] Check Status

    Norton/Grove Dictionary of Women Composers
    Edited by Julie Anne Sadie and Rhian Samuels. Allen Library Reference [REF ML105 N67W] Check Status

    Say Can You Deny Me: A Guide to Surviving Music by Women from the 16th through the 18th Centuries
    By Barbara Garvey Jackson. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 W8 J] Check Status

    She’s a Rebel: The History of Women in Rock and Roll
    By Gillian G. Gaar. Allen Library Stacks [ML394 G28 S] Check Status

    Stormy Weather: The Music and Lives of a Century of Jazz Women
    By Linda Dahl. Allen Library Stacks [ML82 D13 1989] Check Status

    Women and Music in Cross -cultural Perspective
    Edited by Ellen Koskoff. Allen Library Stacks [ML82 K67 W65] Check Status

    Women and Music: A Selective Annotated Bibliography on Women and Gender Issues in Music, 1987 -1992
    By Margaret D. Ericson. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 W8 E75] Check Status

    Women in American Music: a Bibliography of Music and Literature
    By Adrienne Fried Block. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 W8 B] Check Status

    Women in Music: An Anthology of Source Readings from the Middle Ages to the Present
    Edited by Carol Neuls -Bates, Carol. Allen Library Stacks [ML82 N48 W] Check Status

    Women in Music: An Encyclopedic Biobibliography
    By Donald L. Hixon. Allen Library Reference [REF ML105 W87 H 1993] Check Status


    Anthologies

    Black Women Composers: A Century of Piano Music
    Edited by Helen Walker -Hill. Allen Library Stacks [M21 B61] Check Status

    Contemporary Anthology of Music by Women
    Edited by James R. Briscoe. Allen Library Stacks [M1 C65 1997] Check Status

    New Historical Anthology of Music by Women
    Edited by James R. Briscoe. Allen Library Stacks [M2 H57 2004] Check Status

    Women Composers: Music Through the Ages.
    Edited by Martha Furman Schleifer and Sylvia Glickman. Allen Library Stacks [M2 W6 1996] Check Status



    Below are call number ranges for areas within this topic. Use these call numbers to browse the library shelves when you have a general idea of what you want, but don't have a specific item in mind.

    [REF] ML128 W8
    Bibliography

    ML82
    Women musicians

    NX180 F4
    Feminism and the arts



    Search below titles here to find complete library holdings.
    Journal Title:
    Format:         

    IAWM Journal (International Alliance for Women in Music)

    Women and Music

    Women of Note Quarterly



    Use these subject headings to search by general topic in our Library catalog. Copy the subject heading into the search box and use the drop down menu to search by "Subject". There are many more possible subjects than what we have listed here, but these should get you started.

    Afro -american women musicians

    Feminism and the arts

    Feminism and music

    Music and society

    Women college teachers

    Women composers

    Women in music

    Women jazz musicians

    Women musicians

    Women rock musicians

    Women singers


    Arsis Press: Concert Music by Women Composers
    Lists publications and biographical information about many women composers. Includes links to other sites useful to women in music.

    Clara `96
    Home page for Clara Wieck Schumann. Includes newsletter, biographical information, and list of works.

    ClarNan Editions
    Publisher of historic music by women composers since 1984. Includes CDs.

    Furore
    Catalog of music by women composers. Includes printed music, CDs, books, and news.

    Hildegard Publishing Company
    Publisher founded in 1988 to promote and preserve the music of women composers of the past and present.

    Hildegard von Bingen
    Contains online documents of Hildegard von Bingen, including discography, music, and information about Bingen, Germany.

    International Alliance for Women in Music
    Located at Abilene Christian University, this site includes bibliographies, discographies, composer information, concerts, organizations, and other resources about women in music.

    Ladyslipper Music
    This site has a comprehensive annotated Catalog & Resource Guide of Music by Women with information about a variety of female musicians, writers, performers, and composers.

    Women in Music National Network
    Information about careers, news, events, and professional resources presented by a non-profit organization devoted to recognizing and promoting women in the music industry.

    Women Song Composers
    A searchable database that contains 5116 songs by 515 women composers published in the United States and England, ca. 1890-1930, includes titles, poets, publishers, dates, and historical information.


    Red Impact Bar