The American Years
Mortensen Library Reference [E174.5 .G753 2003]
Annual register world events of 2010
Long considered as essential reading by journalists, politicians, historians and anyone with an interest in current affairs, The Annual Register is a primary source text for historical research and (for the recent and current annuals) a current affairs reference work.
A-Z of Social Research
The A-Z is a collection of entries ranging from qualitative research techniques to statistical testing and the practicalities of using the Internet as a research tool. Alphabetically arranged in accessible, reader-friendly formats, the shortest entries are 800 words long and the longest are 3000. Most entries are approximately 1500 words in length and are supported by suggestions for further reading.
Bowling, Beatniks, and Bell Bottoms: Pop Culture of 20th Century America
The hairstyles, slang terms, advertising jingles, pop music sensations, and all else described as popular culture is covered in this five-volume reference. Arranged chronologically by decade and by broad topics within each decade, this set focuses solely on the popular culture of the twentieth century, offering more detailed information on trends and fads than any other resource
A Broken System: Error Rates in Capital Cases 1973-1995
"The Liebman Study" is a ground breaking report examining every capital conviction and appeal from 1973-1995. Full text of report is available in HTML. Adobe Acrobat is needed. Note: Not all appendices are available online. The Justice Project hopes to have them available soon.
Cambridge Handbook of Personal Relationships
Serves as a benchmark of the current state of scholarship in this dynamic field, synthesizing the extant theoretical and empirical literature, tracing its historical roots, and making recommendations for future directions.
Cambridge Handbook of Sociocultural Psychology
The handbook integrates contributions of sociocultural specialists from fifteen countries, all tied together by the unifying focus on the role of sign systems in human relations with the environment.
Countries and Their Cultures
Presents the cultural similarities within a country that set it apart from others by examining over 200 countries to document the myriad ways in which culture defines and separates the nations of the world as much as geographical borders do.
Country Reports on Human Rrights Practices for [1994-present]
The annual Country Reports on Human Rights Practices – the Human Rights Reports – cover internationally recognized individual, civil, political, and worker rights, as set forth in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and other international agreements.
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world
Crime and Punishment: Essential Primary Sources
A focus on leading social issues of the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries. Each title contains approximately 175 full or excerpted documents---speeches, legislation, magazine and newspaper articles, essays, memoirs, letters, interviews, novels, songs, and works of art---as well as overview information that places each document in context.
Encyclopedia of Television (1997)
With more than 1,000 original essays, the Encyclopedia of Television examines specific programs and people, historic moments and trends, and major policy disputes.
The Everything Guide to Government Jobs: a Complete Handbook to Hundreds of Lucrative Opportunities Across the Nation
Career Services Shelves JK716 .M233 2007
Handbook of American Popular Culture
Mortensen Library Reference [E169.1 .H2643]
Handbook of American Popular Literature
Mortensen Library Reference [PS169 .P64 1988]
Handbook of Economic Sociology
The definitive resource on what continues to be one of the leading edges of sociology and one of its most important interdisciplinary adventures. It is a must read for all faculty, graduate students, and undergraduates doing work in the field.
Key Concepts and Techniques in GIS
A concise overview of the fundamental ideas that inform Geographic Information Science. It provides detailed descriptions of the concepts and techniques that anyone using GIS software must fully understand to analyze spatial data.
Key Concepts in Social Research
An authoritative, crystal-clear introduction to research methods which really takes account of the needs of students for accessible, focused information to help with undergraduate essays and exams.
Key Concepts in Urban Geography
Key Concepts in Urban Geography is a new kind of textbook that forms part of an innovative set of companion texts for the human geography sub-disciplines.
Pop Culture China! Media, Arts, and Lifestyle
From the modernization of traditional theater to the traditional uses of modern technology, this book presents a guide to the emerging culture of a country that will inevitably become increasingly influential in coming years.
Religious Right: A Reference Handbook
Examines the religious right and its influence on our government, citizens, society, and politics. From the fight to outlaw the teaching of Darwin's theory of evolution to the struggle to outlaw abortion, the religious right is continually exerting an influence on public policy.
Supreme Court Drama: Cases That Changed America
Profiles major U.S. Supreme Court decisions that have made a significant impact on American society. Each volume is organized by broad legal principles such as individual liberties, criminal justice, equal protection, and business and government law.
Terrorism: A Documentary History
Mortensen Library Reference HV6431 .T4594 2003
Terrorism: A Guide to Events and Documents
Mortensen Library Reference HV6431 .K698 2004
Terrorism: Essential Primary Sources
Primary source documents focus on leading social issues of the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries. International in scope, each title is devoted to one topic.
Timetables of History: a Historical Linkage of People and Events
Mortensen Library Reference [D11 .G78 2005]
U.S. Census 2000 State
Contains a multitude of facts about people, business and geography. Gathered over a period of ten years and compiled by experts, the census is for the first time presented here as dynamic tables. Customization is quick and effortless, allowing bespoke views of the numbers which together make up the USA. The statistics may also be viewed in chart format, bringing to life this wealth of information.
The United States Government Manual
The United States Government Manual is the official handbook of the Federal Government. This special edition of the Federal Register is currently updated to provide comprehensive and authoritative descriptions of the programs and activities of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. The Government Manual also includes information about quasi-official agencies, international organizations with U.S. membership, and Federal boards, commissions, and committees.
US Department of State: Human Rights Reports
The Country Reports on Human Rights Practices, released yearly by the US Department of State, was designed to give voice to those who have been denied the freedoms and rights provided in the Universal Declaration on Human Rights.
The USA: A Chronicle in Pictures
Mortensen Library Reference [E174.5 .W45 1991]
What People Wore: a Visual History of Dress from Ancient Times to Twentieth-century America
Mortensen Library Oversized GT513 .G6
Great Lives: A Century in Obituaries
The lives of the exceptional individuals, from Lord Kitchener to Pope John Paul, collected in the book are first drafts of history which to a remarkable degree have stood the test of time.
Great Thinkers A-Z
Short, accessible snapshots of the people who have shaped Western thought from the ancient Greeks to today. The snapshots, written by the world's leading experts, describe a major thinker's life and work with suggestions for further reading on each one. Covering philosophers as well as cultural and scientific thinkers - such as Foucault, Darwin, Einstein and Freud - who have had a major impact on philosophy.
The Anti-Capitalist Dictionary
This dictionary is an alternative and a counter-balance to the many political dictionaries that ignore or marginalize the history and influence of anti-capitalist movements.
Dictionary of Alternatives
Part reference work, part source book, and part polemic, this dictionary provides a rich understanding of the ways in which fiction, history and today's politics provide different ways of thinking about how we can and should organize for the coming century.
A Dictionary of Diplomacy
Includes entries on legal terms, political events, international organizations and major figures who have occupied the diplomatic scene.
Dictionary of Race, Ethnicity & Culture
Race, ethnicity and culture are concepts of extreme relevance in society today, and yet continue to be interpreted in various and often contradictory ways. The Dictionary provides the historical background and etymology of a wide range of words related to these concepts, looking at discourses of race, ethnicity and culture from a broadly multicultural perspective.
Dictionary of Statistics & Methodology: A Nontechnical Guide to the Social Sciences
Mortensen Library Reference HA17 .V64 2005
Glossary of UK Government and Politics
Reference guide to the events, personnel, policies and institutions relevant to the government and politics of the United Kingdom from accountability to the women’s movement.
Keywords for American Cultural Studies
Entries in this volume synthesize a great deal of information about the historical and contemporary meanings of many of the central terms that structure the fields of American studies and cultural studies; they provide contexts for the usage of those terms by discussing how their meanings have developed over time; and they may even unlock a few mysteries and break a few codes.
Sage Dictionary of Cultural Studies
Containing entries from Active audience to Youth culture on key concepts and theorists, the Dictionary provides an unparalled guide to the terrain of cultural studies. The definitions are authoritative, stimulating and written in an accessible style.
Details every event leading up to 9/11, going back up to a decade prior to the attacks, and including all participants from any place in the world. Also covered are events since the attack that have influenced our understanding of the ordeal.
Culture Wars: An Encyclopedia of Issues, Viewpoints, and Voices
Featuring hundreds of A-Z entries and numerous photos, the encyclopedia examines the history and relevance of the issues, events, controversies, personalities, groups, and concepts that have contributed to the political and social polarization of American society over recent decades.
Education and Sociology: An Encyclopedia
Mortensen Library Reference LC189.95 .E38 2002
Encyclopedia Latina: History, Culture, and Society in the United States
Mortensen Library Reference E184.S75 E587 2005
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History
Addresses a wide array of subjects in over 2,300 articles to define in one source the cultural roots, participation in American life, and current condition of the African-American community.
Encyclopedia of Aging
Encompasses all aspects of aging, covering a variety of disciplines including biology, medicine, economics, law psychology, sociology and history, and also explores related issues such as religion, spirituality, and ethics.
Encyclopedia of American Cultural & Intellectual History
Mortensen Library Reference E169.1 .E624 2001
Encyclopedia of American Social Movements
Mortensen Library Reference HN57 .E594 2004
Encyclopedia of American Studies EAS
Features broad, synthetic articles covering areas such as history, literature, art, photography, film, architecture, urban studies, ethnicity, race, gender, economics, politics, wars, consumer culture, and global America.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Culture
Mortensen Library Reference E169.12 .E49 2001
Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Culture
Mortensen Library Reference E169.12 .E49 2001
Encyclopedia of Cremation
Tracing ancient and classical cremation sites, historical and contemporary cremation processes and procedures of both scientific and legal kind, the encyclopedia also includes sections on specific cremation rituals, architecture, art and text.
Encyclopedia of Emancipation and Abolition in the Transatlantic World
Examines every effort to end slavery in the United States and the transatlantic world. It focuses on massive, broad-based movements, as well as specific incidents, events, and developments, and pulls together in one place information previously available only in a wide variety of sources.
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
Features multidisciplinary coverage of such topics as comfort food, ethnicity and food, medieval banquets, and nutrient composition, among many others. Includes photographs, illustrations, sidebars, recipes, menus, and timelines.
Encyclopedia of Human Rights Issues since 1945
Up-to-date encyclopedia on human rights issues from 1945 to 1998 features entries on incidents and violations, instruments and initiatives, countries and human rights activists. Its global scope is ideal for high school and college student research and class debate and for use with Model UN clubs.
Encyclopedia of Intelligence & Counterintelligence
Provides a unique background perspective for viewing history and current events. In easy-to-understand, non-technical language, it explains how espionage works as a function of national policy; traces the roots of national security; profiles key intelligence leaders, agents, and double-agents; discusses intelligence concepts and techniques; and profiles the security organizations and intelligence history and policies of nations around the world.
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.
Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics
Mortensen Library Reference HA29 .S2363 2007
Encyclopedia of Multicultural America (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Search the full three volumes of the 2nd edition (2000) encyclopedia which presents lengthy essays on ethnic and ethnoreligious groups, including holidays, customs, languages, historical background, settlement patterns, etc. Also provides extensive listings of organizations, research centers, periodicals, etc. and of further readings. UofH only.
Encyclopedia of Population (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Search two volumes of the 2003 Encyclopedia, providing up-to-date coverage of demographic issues and the broad topic of population studies, including population growth, low fertility rates, support for aging populations, environmental impact of dense population, etc. UofH only.
Encyclopedia of the World’s Nations
Mortensen Library Reference G63 .K874 2002
Encyclopedia of Tourism and Recreation in Marine Environments
Marine tourism has become one of the fastest growing areas within the tourism industry. With the increased use of marine environments comes the need for informed planning and sustainable management as well as for the education and training of planners, managers and operators.
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
Highlights the expanding influence of economics in social science research and features new articles and biographies contributed by scholars from around the world on a wide array of global topics in the social sciences.
County and City Extra: Annual Metro, City, and County Data Book
Mortensen Library Reference HA202 .A37
Uniform Crime Reports
Uniform crime statistics for the United States (1995-present) including Crime in the United States, Hate Crime Statistic, Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted, and other individual reports. Statistics can be searched back to 1960 at http://www.ucrdatatool.gov/.
Handbook of US Labor Statistics: Employment, Earnings, Prices, Productivity, and Other Labor Data
Mortensen Library Reference HD8051 .A63 (2001, 2006) and Mortensen Library Shelves HD8051 .A63 (1997-2000) and (1947, 1968, 1970-1973, 1975-1978, 1980, 1983, 1989) HD8051 .A62
Historical Statistics of the United States: Earliest Times to the Present
Mortensen Library Reference HA202 .H57 2006
Places, Towns and Townships
Mortensen Library Reference HA203 .P58
State and Metropolitan Area Data Book
Covers the following topical areas: age, agriculture, births, business establishments, communications, construction, cost of living, crime, deaths, education, elections, employment, energy, finance, government, health, households, housing, immigration, income, manufactures, marriages and divorces, media, natural resources, population, poverty, race and Hispanic origin, residence, retail sales, science and engineering, social services, tourism, transportation, and veterans. Mortensen Library Reference HA202 .S84 (1979-1998)
State Profiles: the Population and Economy of Each State
Mortensen Library Reference HA203 .S734
State Profiles: the Population and Economy of Each U.S. State
Mortensen Library Reference HA203 .S734
Statistical Handbook on Consumption and Wealth in the United States
Mortensen Library Reference HC110.C6 S73 1999
Academic Search Premier
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.
African Women's Bibliographic Database
English-language database contained over 35,000 citations from 1986 onward. The database indexes six types of materials: books and government documents; articles appearing in edited books; periodical and journal articles; Masters theses and Ph.D. dissertations as well as a few B.A. theses and honors papers; conference papers; and videocassettes.
Alcohol Studies Database
This database contains citations of over 55,000 documents indexed by the Rutgers University Center of Alcohol Studies. The database focuses on scholarly and professional materials on beverage alcohol, its use and related consequences.
Westlaw's Campus Research combines breadth of news and business information with superior depth in law-related information. Database includes major newspapers, legal research, and United States Laws, Codes and Statutes.
NOTE: You must turn of all Pop-up Blockers to properly download and print articles from this database.
Original, comprehensive reporting and analysis of issues in the news. Published 44 times each year, with each report covering a single issue in depth. Reports consist of background and chronology, assessment of the current situation, tables and maps, pro/con statements, and bibliographies of key resources. Html and pdf versions available. with reports published since 2001 in color. Includes full text.
Dartmouth Atlas of Healthcare
For more than 20 years, the Dartmouth Atlas Project has documented glaring variations in how medical resources are distributed and used in the United States. The project uses Medicare data to provide information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as hospitals and their affiliated physicians.
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) database has abstracts of articles from over 775 journals. ERIC also indexes education research in books and contains a massive collection of ERIC documents, with full text online or in microfiche. (Univ. of Hartford has micro going back to 1980).
Note: A number of ERIC database full-text articles are currently unavailable because of some pre-2005 documents having personally identifiable information. ERIC is working to restore access to these documents. If you would like to request a PDF to be returned online, please fill out the Request a PDF form on the ERIC website.
Essay & General Literature Index Retrospective
Years Covered: 1900-1984
Essay & General Literature Retrospective offers access to tens of thousands of essays that are otherwise all but inaccessible. This resource also unlocks a wealth of information in thousands of collections and anthologies, making your library more valuable to researchers in a wide array of fields.
FedFlix (US Government produced Film Database)
Featuring the best movies of the United States Government, from training films to history, from our national parks to the U.S. Fire Academy and the Postal Inspectors, all of these fine films are available for reuse without any restrictions whatsoever.
FindArticles (Look Smart)
Searches for articles in approximately 900 magazines and journals. Emphasis on trade publications. Text only - no graphic content available. Some articles available to subscribers or for a fee only.
First Nations Periodical Index
Contains journals of mainly Canadian Native content. This Index is a tool providing access to information about First Nations for students (high school or university), educators, instructors and researchers.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Search the tables of contents or full text of selected reference books in business, education, the environment, medicine biology, and the social sciences.
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
Historical Hartford Courant
Fully searchable images of America's oldest continuously published newspaper, covering 1764 through 1922. Use ProQuest Newspapers for current (1992- ). No coverage is available between 1923 and 1991. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library. Full text available.
Historical New York Times
Full images of the complete New York Times from 1851 to 2002. Search by keyword, by date, etc. Images of specific articles or full pages available..
Strong resource index for all aspects of the Humanities including: Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology
In the First Person
Detailed index to oral history and other first person content, including oral histories, letters, diaries, memoirs and autobiographies that are freely available by following links. Also links to subscription content (not available to UH) Limited content scheduled for regular expansion.
JSTOR Arts and Sciences
Searchable full text of articles from selected scholarly journals in fields including area studies, anthropology, ecology, economics, education, history, language and literature, mathematics, philosophy, political sciences, sociology and statistics. No current issues available. Historical coverage varies, but database includes some titles from before 1950.
Newspapers of Connecticut (19th Century)
The Newspapers of Connecticut collection is a sample collection of historical newspapers covering the various regions, perspectives and topics of the Civil War era in Connecticut.
Population Index on the Web
"Population Index" is the primary reference tool to the world's population literature. It presents an annotated bibliography of recently published books, journal articles, working papers, and other materials on population topics.
ProQuest Education Journals
Search the leading full-text journals in education and related fields. ProQuest® Education Journals gives users access to over 760 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text.
ProQuest Health Management
Find complete, full-text information from leading publications covering all aspects of health administration, including public health and safety, hospitals, finance, personnel management, insurance, population studies, labor relations and law.
Search the text of major newspapers including the Boston Globe (1980- ), Christian Science Monitor (1990- ), Hartford Courant (1992- ), Los Angeles Times (1985- ), New York Times (1999- , including the Book Review and Magazine), Wall Street Journal Eastern Edition (1984- ), and Washington Post (1987- ). Full text available.
ProQuest Psychology Journals
ProQuest Psychology Journals™ provides abstracts and indexing for more than 615 titles, with over 520 titles available in full text. Both students and mental-health professionals get access to charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to psychological research from top psychology and related publications.
ProQuest Social Science Journals
ProQuest Social Science Journals is a definitive resource for those who need access to a variety of social science journals. The database includes over 530 titles, with more than 300 available in full text.
International, multilingual index with abstracts of articles, books, and selected dissertations in psychology. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.
Public Library of Law
Fastcase has created the Public Library of Law -- to make it easy to find the law online. PLoL is the largest free law library in the world, because we assemble law available for free scattered across many different sites -- all in one place. PLoL is the best starting place to find law on the Web. PLoL also includes free links to paid content on Fastcase. PLoL is already the Web's largest free law library, but with additional links from Fastcase, it is one of the most comprehensive law libraries in the world. Full text available.
Social Services Abstracts
Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
TRID - The TRIS and ITRD Database
The TRIS/ITRD Online database contains over half a million records of published transportation research including technical reports, books, conference proceedings and journal articles. Currently there are almost 24,000 TRIS records with links to electronic copies of the full-text. The time span covers literature from the 1960s to the present, with some coverage of prior years. Highway Research Board publications are covered back to 1923. TRIS/ITRD coverage includes the disciplines of planning, finance, design and construction, materials, environmental issues, safety and human factors and operations for the modes of highways, transit, railroads, maritime and aviation. TRIS does not contain information on vehicle standards and specifications, patent information, market research, military transport or news articles.
Westlaw's Campus Research
Westlaw's Campus Research combines breadth of news and business information with superior depth in law-related information. Database includes major newspapers, legal research, and United States Laws, Codes and Statutes. NOTE: You must turn of all Pop-up Blockers to properly download and print articles from this database.
World Bank Open Data
Vast collection of economic, social, population, and development data with no restrictions and at no cost.
Monthly Vital Statistics Report
Monthly and cumulative data on births, deaths, marriages, and divorces, and infant deaths for States and the United States are presented with brief analyses of the vital statistics.
INFOMINE: Scholarly Internet Resource Collections
Virtual library of over 10,000 academically oriented resources. Browse by subject or title in broad categories, or search using keywords or Library of Congress Subject Headings. Brief annotations link to detailed descriptions. Lots of cross-references.
Institute of Development Studies
Research on development issues. Includes links to research reports, a weekly newsletter, and information on publications (many online for free downloads).
Literature and Culture of the American 1950s
Prepared for a course on American literary politics of the era, this site is a gateway to links on the literary figures and other participants and issues that defined the period, including the cold war, McCarthyism, and racism.
The Lock-Up Society
"As the new millennium began, the number of Americans behind bars passed two million -- five times the inmate population in 1972. In these reports, American Radio explores some of the causes and ramifications of this unprecedented experiment in mass incarceration." RealAudio required.
Making of America
Digital Library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. Collection is strong on the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 1,600 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.
The Merchants of Cool
Companion to a Frontline report on the creators and marketers of popular culture for teenagers.
National Council on the Aging (NCOA)
The NCOA site, free of ads, provides substantive information, especially I n the area of policy and legislative updates. Its many features include adult day services, health care, housing, and independent living.
NIDA for Teens: the Science Behind Drug Abuse
The National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA) created this site in consultation with teens to offer "science-based facts about how drugs affect the brain and body so that kids will be armed with better information to make healthy decisions."
NIDA: National Institute of Drug Abuse
Ensuring the rapid and effective dissemination and use of the results of that research to significantly improve prevention and treatment and to inform policy as it relates to drug abuse and addiction.
Sexual Harassment Resources
This annotated list of resources on sexual harassment covers sites from the US government and military, educational institutions, and professional organizations. Topics included are date rape, cyberstalking, and hostile work environments, among others.
Social Issues Collection
The Social Issues Collection is an ongoing database of historical images from the western United States and the Pacific Northwest region. The collection covers political and social topics such as women's issues and labor and government, as well as ethnic groups.
Social Science Data Analysis Network
The Social Science Data Analysis Network makes the latest US census surveys and demographic trends accessible to educators, policy makers, the media, and students at all levels.
Intended to "provide sociologists with point-and-click access to the smorgasbord of sociological information across the World Wide Web." Includes university departments, professional associations, call for papers, calendar of events, research areas, teaching applications, etc.
Web of Addictions
Provides information about alcohol and other drug addictions. Includes a collection of fact sheets, links to other net resources, conference calendar, special topics, and a help "desk.
Women's Human Rights Resources
Searchable web site covering twenty-six women's issue s including education, feminist theory and political rights. Each topic area has three sections: articles; documents; some full text and links to other sources.
AmeriStat Population Reference Bureau
US population issues, trends, and statistics, in graphics and text, are presented in an easy-to-use format. Selected topics include Marriage and Family, Population Estimates and Projections, Education, and Migration among many others.
Bureau of Justice Statistics
Comprehensive federal stats on the justice system. Special topics and related stats provide gateways to other federal departments.
International Data Base
Statistical tables of demographic and socioeconomic data for all countries of the world. Maintained by US Bureau of the Census.
National Statistics (UK)
Key statistics for the UK with selected figures for regions. Supplied by the Government Statistical Services, with links to other governmental departments, and related web sites.
UN Comtrade (International Merchandise Trade Statistics)
This web site provides access to information and data on International Merchandise Trade Statistics (IMTS) and the work of the International Merchandise Trade Statistics Section (IMTSS) of the United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD).
Statistical Abstract of the US
Statistics on social, economic and international subjects. Separate links for most popular data. Most tables require Adobe Acrobat. Data back to 1878 edition available.
US Census Bureau
Official source of demographic and economic statistics for the US Selected international statistics also available. Includes links to other government statistics sources.
Vital Statistics of the United States
Tables break down data on births, birth rates, and fertility rates by race, age, state and region, residency status, marital status and other indicators. Many tables include data from previous years some back to 1909.