Secondary Education- English Subject Guide - University Libraries, University of Hartford
Skip to Top Navigation Skip to Utility Navigation Skip to Search Skip to Left Navigation Skip to Content
  • Services
  • User Information
  • Get Help
  •  

    Secondary Education- English - Subject Guide

    Return to Subject Guide list
    Return to Education category
    Printer-friendly version
    Sections in this category: General Resources | Encyclopedias | United States - Statistics

    General Resources

    Dictionary of Education (Greenwood)
    Mortensen Library Reference LB15 .G68 2011 Check Status

    Handbook of Research on Teaching the English Language Arts
    Comprehensive overview of research in the field. Also in print 2nd edition Mortensen Library Shelves [LB1576 .H234 2003]

    Key Concepts in Education
    Contains essential themes, topics and expressions that Education students are likely to encounter, both during their courses and beyond in professional practice.

    Nonfiction Classics for Students
    Provides critical overviews on the most frequently studied nonfiction essays, books, biographies, and memoirs. Includes discussions of literary format, themes, and structure.

    Springer International Handbooks of Education: International Handbook of Educational Evaluation
    An invaluable and unique reference work for evaluation scholars and specialists, educators, policymakers, graduate students in evaluation and education, administrators and other school personnel, as well as personnel in funding organizations.


    Encyclopedias

    Encyclopedia of American Education
    Mortensen Library Reference LB17 .U54 2001 Check Status

    Encyclopedia of Education
    Edited by James W.Guthrie, this 2003 edition includes bibliographical references and index.

    Encyclopedia of Education (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
    Search the full eight volumes of the 2nd edition (2002) Encyclopedia, intended to provide comprehensive information on education in the US and around the world. UofH only.

    Worldwide Education Encyclopedia: a Survey of Educational Systems Worldwide
    Mortensen Library Reference LB15 .W87 2002 Check Status


    United States - Statistics

    Almanac of American Education
    Mortensen Library Reference LA217.2 .A45 2011 Check Status


    Broader Guides

    Related Guides

    Ask a Librarian

    Academic Search Premier
    Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

    ERIC (Proquest)
    The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) database has abstracts of articles from over 775 journals. ERIC also indexes education research in books and contains a massive collection of ERIC documents, with full text online or in microfiche. (Univ. of Hartford has micro going back to 1980).

    Essay & General Literature Index with Retrospective
    Years Covered: 1900-
    Essay & General Literature offers access to tens of thousands of essays that are otherwise all but inaccessible. This resource also unlocks a wealth of information in thousands of collections and anthologies, making your library more valuable to researchers in a wide array of fields.

    Film & Television Literature Index
    Bibliographic database covering all aspects of film and television theory, preservation, writing, production, technical aspects, and reviews. Abstracts with selected full text.

    Google Scholar
    Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

    Humanities Abstracts
    Strong resource index for all aspects of the Humanities including: Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology

    Literature Resource Center
    Biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of more than 90,000 authors, poets, journalists and other writers. Search by name, title, genre, literary movement or literary theme. Provides access to essays in the literary themes. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library. Selected full text available.

    MLA Bibliography
    International index of books and journals. Covers modern languages, literature, linguistics, and folklore. For information about the periodicals included, consult the MLA Directory of Periodicals.

    ProQuest Education Journals
    Search the leading full-text journals in education and related fields. ProQuest Education Journals gives users access to over 760 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text.

    Teacher Reference Center
    Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.

    World Shakespeare Bibliography
    Annotated bibliography of scholarly and popular materials on Shakespeare.


    Broader Guides

    Related Guides

    Ask a Librarian

    Connexions: Sharing Knowledge and Building Communities
    Connexions is an environment for collaboratively developing, freely sharing, and rapidly publishing scholarly content on the Web. Our Content Commons contains educational materials for everyone from children to college students to professionals organized in small modules that are easily connected into larger collections or courses. All content is free to use and reuse under the Creative Commons "attribution" license.

    EnglishClub.com
    Help for both students of English as a Second Language and their instructors. Lessons on grammar, pronunciations, business English and more. Lesson plans and ESL projects for faculty. Caution! British English!

    Folklore and Mythology Electronic Texts
    Hundreds of fairy tales and legends are presented in this site. It is arranged alphabetically by title o r topic. The country of origin is listed, as well, for easy reference.

    The Teachers Page (Library of Congress)
    Classroom materials and ideas for teachers, resources to help teachers use primary sources, and links to help with professional development.


    Broader Guides

    Related Guides

    Ask a Librarian