Rhetoric and Technical Writing - Subject Guide
Return to Subject Guide list
Return to Rhetoric and Technical Writing category
Sections in this category:
Annual register world events of 2010
Long considered as essential reading by journalists, politicians, historians and anyone with an interest in current affairs, The Annual Register is a primary source text for historical research and (for the recent and current annuals) a current affairs reference work.
Career Opportunities for Writers
Mortensen Library Reference PN151 .G84 2000
Career Opportunities in Journalism
Career Services Shelves PN4797 .B87 2007
Career Opportunities in the Publishing Industry
Career Services Shelves Z471 .Y34 2005 and Mortensen Library Reference Z471 .Y34 2005
Career Opportunities in Writing
Career Services Shelves PN151 .T38 2006
Chambers Classic Speeches
Selection of Eloquent Speeches given by politicians, monarchs, rebels, and intellectuals.
Collins Concise Dictionary of Quotations
Ideal reference source for speech, essays, and letter writers.
Crusaders, Scoundrels, Journalists: the Newseum's Most Intriguing Newspeople
Mortensen Library Reference PN4871 .C78 1999
Elements of Style by William Strunk
Online version of the original text of Elements of Style. Click "Check Status" for access.
Freedom of the Press: a Global Survey of Media Independence
Mortensen Library Reference PN4736 .F742
Good Word Guide
Modern communications are breaking down distinctions between formal and informal English, raising ever more questions as to how to speak and write correctly.
How to Pay for Your Degree in Journalism & Related Fields
Mortensen Library Reference LB2337.2 .S365 2008
Introduction to the Philosophy of Language
In this textbook, Michael Morris offers a critical introduction to the central issues of the philosophy of language.
Journalism: A Guide to the Reference Literature
Mortensen Library Reference Z6940 .C38 2004
Key Concepts in Journalism Studies
Essential reading for students in journalism, and an invaluable reference tool for their professional careers.
Key thinkers in linguistics and the philosophy of language
Reference guide to the work of figures who have played an important role in the development of ideas about language.
MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, 3rd Edition
Mortensen Library Reference LB2369 .G533 2008
Allen Library Writing Center LB2369 .G53 M53 2008
Opportunities in Technical Writing Careers
Career Services Shelves T11 .G663 2008
Rawson's Dictionary of American Quotations
Covers quotations from aspects of American life, culture, and politics.
Compilation of quotations used by the Congressional Research Service.
Ripples of Hope: Great American Civil Rights Speeches
Indispensable compilation of the words that have changed American history.
Simpsons Contemporary Quotations
Unique compilation of quotations since 1950.
Features bibliographical, biographical and contact information for living authors worldwide who have at least one English publication. Entries include name, pseudonyms, addresses, citizenship, birth date, specialization, career information and a bibliography.
A Dictionary of Literary Symbols
Based on literature, rather than "universal" psychological archetypes, myths, or esoterica.
Dictionary of Sociolinguistics
Provides a broad coverage of sociolinguistics, including macro- and micro-sociolinguistics and a range of approaches within variationist, interactional, critical and applied traditions.
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms
Terminology and keywords relating to science and technology.
OED Online (Oxford English Dictionary)
Search the definitive dictionary of the English language, complete and continuously updated. Provides definitions, etymology, and history of usage with examples over time. UofH users only. Full text. Click "Check Status" for access.
Publishers, Distributors and Wholesalers of the United States
Mortensen Library Reference Z475 .P86
Concise Encyclopedia of Sociolinguistics
Provides uniquely comprehensive and authoritative coverage of all aspects of sociolinguistics.
Encyclopedia of American Journalism
Mortensen Library Reference PN4855 .E53 2008
Encyclopedia of Life Writing: Autobiographical and Biographical Forms
Encyclopedia explores not only autobiography and biography proper, but also letters, diaries, memoirs, family histories, case histories, and other ways in which individual lives have been recorded and structured.
Encyclopedia of Rhetoric and Composition: Communication from Ancient Times to the Information Age
Mortensen Library Reference PN172 .E53 1996
Encyclopedia of Women's Autobiography
This encyclopedia overviews women autobiographers and autobiography from the Middle Ages to the present.
Encyclopedic Dictionary of Semiotics, Media, and Communications
Mortensen Library Reference P87.5 .D36 2000
Voices of Multicultural America: Notable Speeches Delivered by African, Asian, Hispanic, and Native Americans, 1790-1995
Mortensen Library Reference PS663.M55 V64 1996
Academic Search Premier
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.
Westlaw's Campus Research combines breadth of news and business information with superior depth in law-related information. Database includes major newspapers, legal research, and United States Laws, Codes and Statutes.
NOTE: You must turn of all Pop-up Blockers to properly download and print articles from this database.
Original, comprehensive reporting and analysis of issues in the news. Published 44 times each year, with each report covering a single issue in depth. Reports consist of background and chronology, assessment of the current situation, tables and maps, pro/con statements, and bibliographies of key resources. Html and pdf versions available. with reports published since 2001 in color. Includes full text.
Dictionary of Literary Biography
Lengthy, full text biographical and critical essays on world literary figures from all eras and genres. Limited number of simultaneous users. Be sure to close when finished searching.
Film & Television Literature Index
Bibliographic database covering all aspects of film and television theory, preservation, writing, production, technical aspects, and reviews. Abstracts with selected full text.
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.
Strong resource index for all aspects of the Humanities including: Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology
In the First Person
Detailed index to oral history and other first person content, including oral histories, letters, diaries, memoirs and autobiographies that are freely available by following links. Also links to subscription content (not available to UH) Limited content scheduled for regular expansion.
International index of books and journals. Covers modern languages, literature, linguistics, and folklore. For information about the periodicals included, consult the MLA Directory of Periodicals.
OED Online (Oxford English Dictionary)
Search the definitive dictionary of the English language, complete and continuously updated. Provides definitions, etymology, and history of usage with examples over time. UofH users only. Full text.
Westlaw's Campus Research
Westlaw's Campus Research combines breadth of news and business information with superior depth in law-related information. Database includes major newspapers, legal research, and United States Laws, Codes and Statutes. NOTE: You must turn of all Pop-up Blockers to properly download and print articles from this database.
Sections in this category:
Growing collection of text, audio and video of speeches, sermons, lectures, debates, interviews, etc. Browse or search.
American Society of Newspaper Editors
Useful collection of resources on such issues as credibility of the news media, the First Amendment, etc.
The Annual Reports Library
Suggestions and advice on how to find and read annual reports. Also, guidance on how to create a good annual report, as well as educational resources and links to related information.
Arts and Letters Daily
A daily survey of "breakthrough" publications in philosophy, aesthetics, literature, and other humanistic disciplines.
The Elements of Style (Bartleby)
Full text of William Strunk's classic guide to proper usage.
A Handbook of Rhetorical Devices
Definitions and examples of 60 rhetorical devices to help increase the impact of a writer's work.
Online Communication Studies Resources: The University of Iowa
Extensive listing of all aspects of Communication studies from the University of Iowa
OWL (Online Writing Lab) at Purdue
This site provides strong guidance in writing career related documents including resumes, curriculum vitae (cv's) and cover letters.
Proposal Writing Short Course
Step-by-step guide to finding g rant support. From the Foundation Center.
Samples and tips on how to write effective resumes.
Rhetoric and composition
Scholarly and pedagogical resources for rhetoricians provided by The English Server at Carnegie Mellon University.
University of Hartford, Department of Rhetoric, Language and Culture Homepage
Tackles typical student concerns involved in completing college level reading and writing projects. Topics include assignment analysis, the writing process and the requirements of academic discourse. Examples from student papers are given. Works best with Internet Explorer.
Voice of the Shuttle
Extensive links to every variety of Web site in the humanities, law, political science, anthropology, business and media studies.
Voice of the Shuttle: Technology of Writing Page
Extensive bibliography of research on: hypertext; hypermedia; interface theory, markup language; new media.
Writers Free Reference
Full -text basic reference sources to help you write that research paper or novel.
Writing and Presenting your Thesis or Dissertation
These guides are very practical and focus on the "quasi-political" aspects of gaining approval for your thesis or dissertation.
Writing Guidelines for Engineering and Science Students
From scholars at four universities come suggestions for executing the different writing assignments students of the sciences and engineering will encounter. Included are laboratory, design, and progress reports, as well as proposal writing. All with examples.
Writing Technical Articles
Notes from a Columbia University professor on writing technical papers, especially in computer science and electrical engineering. Guidelines for experimental and conference papers, as well as hints about common mistakes are included.