Religion - Subject Guide
Return to Subject Guide list
Return to Religion category
Sections in this category:
Book of Bible Quotations
English Language Quotations from the Bible.
Consciousness: A Guide to the Debates
A guide to the debates of researchers and philosophers on the study of consciousness research.
Critical Terms for Religious Studies
Essays dealing with all aspects of religion.
The Evolution Wars: A Guide to the Debates
Guide to the development of evolutionary thought throughout the past two and a half centuries.
The Great Dinosaur Controversy: A Guide to the Debates
A guide to the most important scientific controversies surrounding dinosaur paleontology.
Mortensen Library Reference HV6773.52 .S768 2003
Holy Bible, King James (Bartleby.com)
The culmination of English translations of the Bible, the Bartleby.com publication of the American Bible Society’s King James Version features full-text searchability, content-based tables of contents and a quick verse finder.
The Holy Bible, King James Version, Cambridge University Press
King James Bible first published in 1611.
Human Evolution: A Guide to the Debates
Wide-ranging look at the controversies surrounding the search for the origins of the human species.
Qur'an (Koran, English Translation)
The Koran, the holy scripture of Islam, is the record of Muhammad's oral teaching delivered between the years immediately preceding the Hegira in AD 622 and the Prophet's death in AD 632. This is a searchable English translation.
Religious Right: A Reference Handbook
Examines the religious right and its influence on our government, citizens, society, and politics. From the fight to outlaw the teaching of Darwin's theory of evolution to the struggle to outlaw abortion, the religious right is continually exerting an influence on public policy.
The American Heritage Abbreviations Dictionary
Definition for abbreviations across disciplines.
Bloomsbury Dictionary of Myth
Dictionary of the world's major myths and legends.
Cambridge Dictionary of Christian Theology
The Cambridge Dictionary of Christian Theology represents a fresh, ecumenical approach to theological reference.
Chambers Dictionary of the Unexplained
Alien abductions, bleeding trees, crop circles, phantom funerals and mysterious showers of fish all feature in this uniquely wide-ranging and balanced guide to unexplained phenomena.
Dictionary of Hindu Lore and Legend
Information on aspects of Hinduism including mythology, practices, customs, and laws.
Dictionary of Women in Religious Art
Mortensen Library Reference N7793.W65 A66 1998
Dictionary of World Philosophy
Covers the diverse and challenging terminology, concepts, schools and traditions of the vast field of world philosophy.
Holidays, Festivals, and Celebrations of the World Dictionary
Covers popular, ethnic, religious, and historic events of international, national, regional, and local significance.
OED Online (Oxford English Dictionary)
Search the definitive dictionary of the English language, complete and continuously updated. Provides definitions, etymology, and history of usage with examples over time. UofH users only. Full text. Click "Check Status" for access.
Companion Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy
Makes a broad range of richly varied philosophical, ethical and theological traditions accessible to a wide audience.
An encyclopedia of mythology, folklore, and legend covering a wide array of cultures: Chinese, Etruscan, Egyptian, Greek, Haitian, Japanese, Norse, Roman, Welsh and others.
Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography: Themes Depicted in Works of Art
Mortensen Library Reference N7560 .E53 1998
Encyclopedia of Cremation
Tracing ancient and classical cremation sites, historical and contemporary cremation processes and procedures of both scientific and legal kind, the encyclopedia also includes sections on specific cremation rituals, architecture, art and text.
Encyclopedia of Occultism and Parapsychology
Covers the entire spectrum of psychology, including: notable people, theories and terms; landmark case studies and experiments; applications of psychology in advertising, medicine and sports; and career information.
Encyclopedia of Philosophers on Religion
Biographical information is given about each with a special focus on his or her religious upbringing, practice, and beliefs (or lack thereof). Each entry also contains a brief summary of the points each philosopher has made concerning God and religion, typically gathered from a study of the philosopher's writings.
Encyclopedia of Religion
Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture.
Encyclopedia of Religious Practices - Worldmark
Provides information on current religious practices around the world with an emphasis on how religions impact the daily lives of their followers.
Melton's Encyclopedia of American Religions
Information is presented in two distinct sections, essays and directory listings describing the historical development of religious families and providing factual information about each group within those families.
A comprehensive, authoritative source of information about the calendars and holidays of the world's religions. It also provides concise information about the beliefs, practices, and history of major religions.
Academic Search Premier
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.
Essay & General Literature Index with Retrospective
Years Covered: 1900-
Essay & General Literature offers access to tens of thousands of essays that are otherwise all but inaccessible. This resource also unlocks a wealth of information in thousands of collections and anthologies, making your library more valuable to researchers in a wide array of fields.
FindArticles (Look Smart)
Searches for articles in approximately 900 magazines and journals. Emphasis on trade publications. Text only - no graphic content available. Some articles available to subscribers or for a fee only.
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.
Strong resource index for all aspects of the Humanities including: Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology
OED Online (Oxford English Dictionary)
Search the definitive dictionary of the English language, complete and continuously updated. Provides definitions, etymology, and history of usage with examples over time. UofH users only. Full text.
Current and comprehensive bibliographic database covering scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy.
RAMBI - The Index of Articles on Jewish Studies
A selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies and in the study of Eretz Israel.
World Digital Library (WDL)
The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, digital images of significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.
American Memory Project (Library of Congress)
Superb collection of American historical links, plus prints, photographic images, and other excellent graphics.
Search for websites, images and other information for Religious images in Art
Digital Dead Sea Scrolls
Access to searchable, fast-loading, high-resolution images of the scrolls, as well as short explanatory videos and background information on the texts and their history.
Search or browse by subject through a carefully selected range of sites.
Freedom of Religion and the Establishment Clause
The "Establishment Clause" was intended to prevent any governmental endorsement or support of religion. While one might intuitively read this to mean that the clause was meant to preclude endorsement or support of some particular religion, it is important to note that the clause also prohibits the endorsement of religion generally over non-religion.
The Internet Sacred Texts Archive
This is the single largest religious text archive on the internet and an important and expanding collection of primary source materials.
Intute - Religious Studies
An extensive annotated list of Internet resources for the study and teaching of theology. Includes clusters of links relating to biblical studies, the history of theology, contemporary theology, religions and denominations, among others.
Labyrinth (Georgetown University)
Indispensable guide to the Medieval world online, with extensive links to texts, images, and archival databases. A truly extraordinary resource.
Making of America
Digital Library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. Collection is strong on the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 1,600 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.
Promotes a multidisciplinary view of the religious and esoteric phenomena. Explores religion I a comprehensive manner with ties to science. Includes news, articles, links, and more. Site is also available in Spanish.
NetSERF: The Internet Connection for Medieval Resources (Catholic University of America)
Enjoyable, well-organized site for all things medieval. Extensive links to museum collections, primary source documents, and image archives.
Psychology of Religion Pages (Georgia Southern University)
Extensive resources on the psychological aspects of religious belief and behavior. Includes essays, discussion groups, course syllabus collection, and list of links.
The Question of God
Companion to a Public Broadcasting Service (PBS) series based on Dr. Armand Nicholi's Harvard course that "illustrates the lives and insights of Sigmund Freud, and C.S. Lewis. The site features video, a transcript, interviews, background information on Freud and Lewis, a discussion guide, and links to related information.
An excellent entry point for exploring the religious content of the Internet.
Resources of Scholarly Societies: Religious Studies
Links to websites maintained by or for scholarly societies in religion and closely related disciplines.
This Far by Faith: African-American Spiritual Journeys
Companion site to a Public Broadcasting Service (PBS) series that "examines the African-American religious experience through the last three centuries. ... [it] explores the connections between faith and the development of African-American cultural values." Features essays, a timeline, profiles, audio and video clips, show transcripts, and related links.
Virtual Religion Index (Rutgers University)
Designed "to advance research in matters of religion," this cybercatalog "analyzes and highlights important content of religion-related websites." Developed at the Rutgers University Department of Religion, its coverage of the Christian Tradition is exemplary.
Voice of the Shuttle
Extensive links to every variety of Web site in the humanities, law, political science, anthropology, business and media studies.
Wabash Center for Teaching and Learning in Theology and Religion (Wabash College).
Large-scale and well-organized gateway to world religion sites.