Chicago Manual of Style (full online version)
Widely used style guide that can help answer advanced citation and style questions. Has searchable full text, a useful Q&A, and a citation guide summary. To see a table of contents (once your are in the web site), just click the title. A print version is also available.
The Oxford Guide to Library Research
Mortensen Library Reference Z710 .M23 2005
The United States Government Manual
The United States Government Manual is the official handbook of the Federal Government. This special edition of the Federal Register is currently updated to provide comprehensive and authoritative descriptions of the programs and activities of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. The Government Manual also includes information about quasi-official agencies, international organizations with U.S. membership, and Federal boards, commissions, and committees.
Features bibliographical, biographical and contact information for living authors worldwide who have at least one English publication. Entries include name, pseudonyms, addresses, citizenship, birth date, specialization, career information and a bibliography.
OED Online (Oxford English Dictionary)
Search the definitive dictionary of the English language, complete and continuously updated. Provides definitions, etymology, and history of usage with examples over time. UofH users only. Full text. Click "Check Status" for access.
Original, comprehensive reporting and analysis of issues in the news. Published 44 times each year, with each report covering a single issue in depth. Reports consist of background and chronology, assessment of the current situation, tables and maps, pro/con statements, and bibliographies of key resources. Html and pdf versions available. with reports published since 2001 in color. Includes full text.
Search over 550 full text online reference titles in a wide variety of subjects and online reference types, incl. Bibliographies, Atlases, Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Statistics, and speeches. All individual titles are listed in the Library Catalog.
Dissertations and Theses Abstracts + Full Text (Proquest)
Describes over 2 million dissertations from institutions around the U.S. (and some international), with citations from 1861 to the present. Includes full text for many of the Humanities and Social Sciences dissertations as well as most UH dissertations 1997-present. Many of the other dissertations are available through interlibrary loan .
Access to multiple databases including Academic Search Premier, CINAHL, ERIC, Communication Abstracts and PsycInfo plus many more.
FindArticles (Look Smart)
Searches for articles in approximately 900 magazines and journals. Emphasis on trade publications. Text only - no graphic content available. Some articles available to subscribers or for a fee only.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Search the tables of contents or full text of selected reference books in business, education, the environment, medicine biology, and the social sciences.
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.
Household Products Database
Learn about what's in general household products, about potential health effects, and about safety and handling of these materials.
iCONN.org Resources for Colleges & Universities
With funding from the state legislature, the Connecticut State Library is making a group of databases available to citizens and students in Connecticut. This link only works on campus. If you are off campus, choose a specific database to search.
Search for articles from almost 30,000 academic and professional journals. Includes abstracts. Available to all users. Some full text available to UofH users. Use Interlibrary Services or online ordering (credit card) option for those not owned by UofH.
Available through FirstSearch, lists the holdings of over 9,000 libraries worldwide. University of Hartford registered library borrowers may place requests through WorldCat for items not held by University Libraries.
OED Online (Oxford English Dictionary)
Search the definitive dictionary of the English language, complete and continuously updated. Provides definitions, etymology, and history of usage with examples over time. UofH users only. Full text.
Search usenet postings, find groups to post to. Be sure to check facts from postings. Also links to peer ratings of products, shopping, etc.
Information about federal loan programs from five federal agencies.
Guide to Grammar and Writing
Basic searchable, detailed guide to sentence structure, punctuation, and more. Includes an online dictionary and thesaurus, web links for writers, and even an interactive grammar advice column.
How Stuff Works
Illustrated explanations of how things work in the world around us. Clear and easy to understand.
Search for or browse for information from Information Please Almanacs, a dictionary, and the Columbia Encyclopedia. Includes extensive biographical information. Special daily features.
Google Maps world gazetteer contains maps and much more regional specific information, including history and tourist information.
Materials from Massachusetts Institute of Technology faculty's courses, including lecture notes, reading lists, and problem sets from hundreds of courses in all academic disciplines.
Scholarly Societies Project
Browse by name or by subject for links to homepages, e-journals, conference announcements, etc. from scholarly societies around the world. Also articles and discussion about scholarly societies.
Links to free databases with public records such as property assessments, incorporation records, Uniform Commercial Code Filings, etc. Browse by state and locality.