Pronunciation Guides Subject Guide - University Libraries, University of Hartford
Skip to Top Navigation Skip to Utility Navigation Skip to Search Skip to Left Navigation Skip to Content
  • Services
  • User Information
  • Get Help

    Pronunciation Guides - Subject Guide

    Return to Subject Guide list
    Return to Music category
    Printer-friendly version

    Foreign language dictionaries are found in REF PA to REF PF.

    Everyman's English Pronouncing Dictionary
    By Daniel Jones. Allen Library Reference [REF PE100 J64 D5] Check Status

    Music Lovers' Encyclopedia
    By Rupert Hughes. Allen Library Reference [REF] ML100 H894 M8]
    Includes a pronouncing and defining dictionary of terms, instruments, etc., and a pronouncing biographical dictionary.

    Schirmer Pronouncing Pocket Manual of Musical Terms
    By Theodore Baker. Allen Library Reference [REF ML109 S35] Check Status

    Ever-Controversial WWUH Jazz Pronunciation Guide
    Brief list of frequently mispronounced names (and some titles and places). Text only. From WWUH at the University of Hartford.

    Forvo: The Pronunciation Guide
    Includes audio examples of pronunciations for composers, artists, musical titles, musical terms, and more.

    Merriam-Webster Online
    Includes pronunciations (text and audio examples) for major terms and composers. Pronunciations are those typically used in the U.S. by musicians and music educators. Easy to use.

    Naxos Music Library Pronunciation Guide
    Includes audio clips of pronunciations of composers, artists, and musical terms.

    OnMusic Dictionary
    Dictionary of musical terms that includes pronunciations (with text and audio examples), cross references to terms in other languages, musical examples, quizzes, and simulations.

    Opera Terms: A Pronunciation Guide
    Includes audio examples of pronunciations, plus brief definitions.

    Operas and Composers: A Pronunciation Guide
    Includes audio examples of pronunciations, plus brief definitions.

    Pronouncing Dictionary of Music and Musicians
    Extensive pronouncing dictionary with 30,000 entries. Text only. From Iowa Public Radio.

    Say How? A Pronunciation Guide to Names of Public Figures
    Includes pronunciations for performers, conductors, playwrights, and other artistic public figures. Text only. Compiled by the Library of Congress's Talking Books for the Blind Recording Studio. LC uses the individual's preferred pronunciation over the public's use (e.g., Louis Armstrong preferred a hard "i-s" rather than the public's use of "Louie").