Printmaking Subject Guide - University Libraries, University of Hartford
Skip to Top Navigation Skip to Utility Navigation Skip to Search Skip to Left Navigation Skip to Content
  • Services
  • User Information
  • Get Help
  •  

    Printmaking - Subject Guide

    Return to Subject Guide list
    Return to Art category
    Printer-friendly version
    Sections in this category: General Resources | Dictionaries

    General Resources

    Career Opportunities in Art
    Mortensen Library Reference N6505 .H35 2001 Check Status

    Gutenberg Bible
    Complete digital reproduction of the two copies of the Bible at the British Library. Outstanding enlargements. Historical background.

    Gutenberg Digital
    A complete reproduction of the Gttingen Gutenberg Bible (ca. 1454). Each page can be greatly enlarged. Additional related documents reproduced and information on the history of early printing.

    Myths & Legends
    Myths and legends, with their fantastical settings and parade of exotic creatures and beautiful immortals, have inspired some of the most popular works in the National Gallery Collection.

    National Directory of Arts Internships
    Allen Library Permanent Reserves [NX280 N3 2008] Check Status


    Dictionaries

    Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art (Part of Oxford Art Online)
    Search Oxford Art Online or check box for Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art and search Dictionary only

    The Dictionary of Art
    Mortensen Library Reference N31 .D5 1996 Check Status

    A Dictionary of Modern and Contemporary Art
    Formerly Dictionary of Twentieth Century Art in Mortensen Library Reference N6490 .C5317 2009 Check Status

    The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Art Terms
    Covers painting, sculpture, architecture, photography, the decorative, applied and graphic arts from all periods throughout the world up to the present day.


    Art Index and the Art Index Retrospective
    Years Covered: 1929-
    Indexing of articles from over 270 international art publications. Provides users with Art Literature, covering fine, decorative and commercial art. Limited number of simultaneous users. Be sure to logout/exit before closing your browser.

    Art Index Retrospective
    Years Covered: 1929-1984
    Provides users with Art Literature, covering fine, decorative and commercial art.

    ArtBibliographies Modern
    Years Covered: 1960-Present
    ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with more than 13,000 new entries being added each year. Entries date back as far as the late 1960s.

    ARTstor
    Searchable database of over 300,000 images from museums around the world, and covering a wide range of cultures and time periods. New material added frequently. Requires Java and Flash. Cookies and popups must be enabled. See Quick Start Guide for technical information and basic searching guidance. Disable Pop Up Blocker before opening. Mac users must have OS 10.3 and use Firefox browser.

    Google Art Project
    Explore museums from around the world, discover and view hundreds of artworks at incredible zoom levels, and even create and share your own collection of masterpieces.

    Google Scholar
    Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

    GroveArt (Now Oxford Art Online)
    Artists' biographies, essays on all cultures, civilizations, and art movements; articles on conservation and theory. A 720,000 item index includes all the visual arts with the exception of film. Links to related web resources and images. Full text available.

    Humanities Abstracts
    Strong resource index for all aspects of the Humanities including: Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology

    The International Poster Collection (Colorado State University)
    Includes a searchable database of posters presented at the Colorado State University Exhibitions and has artist biographies.

    Oxford Art Online
    Artists' biographies, essays on all cultures, civilizations, and art movements; articles on conservation and theory. A 720,000 item index includes all the visual arts with the exception of film. Links to related web resources and images. Full text available.


    Designinform Research Guides
    Links to websites in all types of design, architecture and art forms.