American Inaugurals: The Speeches, The Presidents, and Their Times
Presents the inaugural addresses of each of the 43 United States Presidents. Each entry includes a brief biography, a list of important events during that president's term of office, the actual text of the speech, and notable quotes. Illustrated with portraits and reproductions of period paintings, photos, and engravings.
The American Years
Mortensen Library Reference [E174.5 .G753 2003]
Annual register world events of 2010
Long considered as essential reading by journalists, politicians, historians and anyone with an interest in current affairs, The Annual Register is a primary source text for historical research and (for the recent and current annuals) a current affairs reference work.
Career Opportunities in Politics, Government and Activism
Career Services Shelves JK692 .A94 2008
Checks and Balances: The Three Branches of the American Government
Presents easy to understand information about the inner workings of the federal government. Includes historical overviews and examinations of the day-to-day operations of each branch, as well as Constitutional duties and obligations of each branch, specifics related to eligibility, elections and appointments of key positions, changes since 1776, the future of each branch, and other topics.
Child Abuse: Law and Policy Across Boundaries
Mortensen Library Reference K5189 .H69 2007
Country Reports on Human Rrights Practices for [1994-present]
The annual Country Reports on Human Rights Practices – the Human Rights Reports – cover internationally recognized individual, civil, political, and worker rights, as set forth in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and other international agreements.
Day By Day (1940's - 1990's)
Mortensen Library Reference [D840 .M45]
Domestic Violence and Child Abuse Sourcebook: Basic Consumer Health Information About Spousal/Partner, Child, Sibling, Parent, and Elder Abuse ...
Mortensen Library Reference HV6626.2 .D66 2000
Essentials of Global Politics
Essential reference book that guides the reader through these issues and many more, providing an overview of the most important contemporary events and themes.
The Everything Guide to Government Jobs: a Complete Handbook to Hundreds of Lucrative Opportunities Across the Nation
Career Services Shelves JK716 .M233 2007
Key Concepts in Work
Clearly and concisely explains the central ideas, debates and theories of work in social, political and economic contexts.
Major Acts of Congress
All aspects of legislation are covered, including the National Prohibition Act, the Civil Rights Act, the Family and Medical Leave Act, the Americans with Disabilities Act, the Fair Housing Act, the Freedom of Information Act and much more.
National Survey of State Laws
A quick, state-by-state comparison of current state laws -- how they differ and how they're similar -- for a range of relevant subjects from abortion to employment discrimination, child custody to interest rates.
Mortensen Library Reference KF4550.Z9 R57 2005
Presidents: A Reference History
Presents in-depth profiles of each American president and his administration. Includes black-and-white portraits of the presidents and extensive bibliographies. Also features a new history of the White House and a general introduction to the presidency.
Religious Right: A Reference Handbook
Examines the religious right and its influence on our government, citizens, society, and politics. From the fight to outlaw the teaching of Darwin's theory of evolution to the struggle to outlaw abortion, the religious right is continually exerting an influence on public policy.
Terrorism: A Documentary History
Mortensen Library Reference HV6431 .T4594 2003
Terrorism: A Guide to Events and Documents
Mortensen Library Reference HV6431 .K698 2004
U.S. Census 2000 State
Contains a multitude of facts about people, business and geography. Gathered over a period of ten years and compiled by experts, the census is for the first time presented here as dynamic tables. Customization is quick and effortless, allowing bespoke views of the numbers which together make up the USA. The statistics may also be viewed in chart format, bringing to life this wealth of information.
The United States Government Manual
The United States Government Manual is the official handbook of the Federal Government. This special edition of the Federal Register is currently updated to provide comprehensive and authoritative descriptions of the programs and activities of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. The Government Manual also includes information about quasi-official agencies, international organizations with U.S. membership, and Federal boards, commissions, and committees.
The USA: A Chronicle in Pictures
Mortensen Library Reference [E174.5 .W45 1991]
World Politics Since 1945
World Politics since 1945 is essential reading for those who need to understand the great sweeps of contemporary history.
First Ladies of the United States
Whether editing speeches and appearing on the campaign trail, presiding over White House renovations and social events, championing important causes, or functioning as the president's most trusted adviser, first ladies have made significant contributions to the heads-of-state's careers and to the nation.
Connecticut State Register and Manual
Interactive version of the "Blue Book" providing history, biographies, and directory information for state government and state congressional delegation from 1997. Have print in Mortensen Library Shelves JK3331 .A4
The Anti-Capitalist Dictionary
This dictionary is an alternative and a counter-balance to the many political dictionaries that ignore or marginalize the history and influence of anti-capitalist movements.
Dictionary of the Israeli-Palestinian Conflict
Covers the history of the Arab-Israeli conflict from the birth of Zionism at the end of the 19th century. Covers five Arab-Israeli wars, and provides biographies of political personnel in Syria, Egypt, Iraq, Lebanon, Jordan, and the occupied territories.
Encyclopedia of the European Union
The Encyclopedia of the European Union provides in-depth, authoritative discussions of the key concepts, developments, institutions, policies, negotiations, treaties, national interests, personalities, etc., related to European integration.
Eurojargon is a comprehensive, easy-to-use dictionary of 'Eurospeak', containing a number of acronyms, abbreviations and other EU-related terms.
Glossary of Political Theory
Presenting theory in an abstract fashion makes it daunting for students who can find it difficult to see the links between theory and practice. The definitions in this glossary therefore relate political ideas to political realities (i.e. everyday controversies) in an attempt to make them as lively, stimulating and accessible as possible.
Glossary of UK Government and Politics
Reference guide to the events, personnel, policies and institutions relevant to the government and politics of the United Kingdom from accountability to the women’s movement.
Palgrave Macmillan Dictionary of Political Thought
Entries from Abdication to zoning cover every aspect of political thought, defining concepts and ideologies, surveying the arguments on issues, giving capsule histories of political institutions, and summarizing (with newly expanded treatment) the thought of major political theorists.
Political Philosophy A-Z
Guides the reader through the intricacies of political theory, enabling them to trace their way through a debate, fixing historical and theoretical points of reference along the way. It is well suited for students studying political philosophy at university.
Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace and Conflict
Provides crucial and contemporary information about antagonism and reconciliation within both the public and private realms from violence and nonviolence toward the aged population to youth violence.
US Department of State: Human Rights Reports
The Country Reports on Human Rights Practices, released yearly by the US Department of State, was designed to give voice to those who have been denied the freedoms and rights provided in the Universal Declaration on Human Rights.
Thousands of the leading English language business and management journals. Full text and/or full image available for most articles after 1989. Indexing and abstracts from 1970. Also searches Hoover's Company Records for company and industry information. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library. Updated daily.
Academic Search Premier
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.
Westlaw's Campus Research combines breadth of news and business information with superior depth in law-related information. Database includes major newspapers, legal research, and United States Laws, Codes and Statutes.
NOTE: You must turn of all Pop-up Blockers to properly download and print articles from this database.
Original, comprehensive reporting and analysis of issues in the news. Published 44 times each year, with each report covering a single issue in depth. Reports consist of background and chronology, assessment of the current situation, tables and maps, pro/con statements, and bibliographies of key resources. Html and pdf versions available. with reports published since 2001 in color. Includes full text.
Expanded Academic ASAP
General database covering all subject areas. Primarily academic journals, many full text and some with images. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.
First Nations Periodical Index
Contains journals of mainly Canadian Native content. This Index is a tool providing access to information about First Nations for students (high school or university), educators, instructors and researchers.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Search the tables of contents or full text of selected reference books in business, education, the environment, medicine biology, and the social sciences.
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.
Students, law school faculty and legal researchers will all find the legal publications they need in LegalTrac®. Drawing on a wide variety of the most highly regarded legal publications, LegalTrac® provides indexing for more than 1,400 titles including major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals. Each title included in LegalTrac® is selected on the basis of criteria provided by a special advisory committee of the American Association of Law Libraries. LegalTrac® also contains law-related articles from over 1,000 additional business and general interest titles. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library. Full text available.
Military & Government Collection
Formerly Military Library FullTEXT. Full text of over 320 history, political science and military related periodicals and general interest magazines, with abstracts of articles from an additional 300 plus titles.
Military and Intelligence Database
Provides access to U.S. armed services publications, along with military science, political science and international relations journals, many in full text. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.
National Portrait Gallery Portrait Search
survey of American portraits in public and private collections across the United States and abroad. The CAP encompasses portraits of American subjects or by American artists, generally limited to one-of-a-kind likenesses such as paintings, sculpture, drawings, miniatures, and silhouettes.
Population Index on the Web
"Population Index" is the primary reference tool to the world's population literature. It presents an annotated bibliography of recently published books, journal articles, working papers, and other materials on population topics.
ProQuest Social Science Journals
ProQuest Social Science Journals is a definitive resource for those who need access to a variety of social science journals. The database includes over 530 titles, with more than 300 available in full text.
Public Library of Law
Fastcase has created the Public Library of Law -- to make it easy to find the law online. PLoL is the largest free law library in the world, because we assemble law available for free scattered across many different sites -- all in one place. PLoL is the best starting place to find law on the Web. PLoL also includes free links to paid content on Fastcase. PLoL is already the Web's largest free law library, but with additional links from Fastcase, it is one of the most comprehensive law libraries in the world. Full text available.
Westlaw's Campus Research
Westlaw's Campus Research combines breadth of news and business information with superior depth in law-related information. Database includes major newspapers, legal research, and United States Laws, Codes and Statutes. NOTE: You must turn of all Pop-up Blockers to properly download and print articles from this database.
World Bank Open Data
Vast collection of economic, social, population, and development data with no restrictions and at no cost.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Years Covered: 1975-Present
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.
Far Eastern Economic Review
Archive dating to 2007 of the key weekly for Asian business news. Also includes links to important web sites and continuously updated news from the markets. Free registration required. See Wall Street Journal, East Asian site for continued coverage.
American Presidency Project
The archives contain thousands of documents such as inaugural addresses, party platforms, candidates' remarks, Statements of Administration Policy, documents released by the Office of the Press Secretary, and election debates.
Atlas of Historical County Boundaries
The Atlas presents in maps and text complete data about the creation and all subsequent changes (dated to the day) in the size, shape, and location of every county in the fifty United States and the District of Columbia.
The Avalon Project (Yale Law School)
Provides digital primary documents in political and legal history. A rich and expanding resource which includes Jefferson's presidential papers and letters, the Hague Conventions Laws of War, the Nuremberg Trial Proceedings and much more.
Government Job Finder
Search thousands of Federal government jobs, government contractor, state and private sector jobs.
INFOMINE: Scholarly Internet Resource Collections
Virtual library of over 10,000 academically oriented resources. Browse by subject or title in broad categories, or search using keywords or Library of Congress Subject Headings. Brief annotations link to detailed descriptions. Lots of cross-references.
Organization reporting on international corruption issues. Press releases, links to related news stories. The "Knowledge Centre" provides access to full text reports and to a continuously updated bibliography of related information.
US Department of State: Diplomatic List
This covers foreign missions (embassies, interest sections) in the United States. It contains the names of members of the diplomatic staffs of these missions and their spouses.
Voice of the Shuttle
Extensive links to every variety of Web site in the humanities, law, political science, anthropology, business and media studies.
Congressional Biographical Directory
Easily searchable site for biographies of United States Congress members from 1774 to the present, including bibliographies and lists of research collections.
Legal Website Directory By State
Links for each state and American territory to state government web sites and information sources, including official homepages; information from the executive, legislative and judicial branches; boards and commissions; etc.
US Department of State: International Policy
Provides links to US foreign policy by region and country, as well as detailed analysis of global issues - economic trade practices, environmental concerns, counter terrorism, human rights. Archived prior to January 2001.
Find statistics on regions and countries around the world, including cross national and historical comparison tables. Based on data from the CIA World Factbook.
Statistical data on members of the United Nations. Maintained by the UN.
International Data Base
Statistical tables of demographic and socioeconomic data for all countries of the world. Maintained by US Bureau of the Census.
National Statistics (UK)
Key statistics for the UK with selected figures for regions. Supplied by the Government Statistical Services, with links to other governmental departments, and related web sites.
Easy to use database of country statistics which creates comparative graphs.
UN Comtrade (International Merchandise Trade Statistics)
This web site provides access to information and data on International Merchandise Trade Statistics (IMTS) and the work of the International Merchandise Trade Statistics Section (IMTSS) of the United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD).
President (University of North Carolina)
This collaborative effort between the University of North Carolina and the National Archives provides electronic resources emphasizing the modern presidency. Links to presidential libraries and museums.
US CODE (US House of Representatives)
Searchable database of the current public laws. Also provides links to sources of regulations, court decisions, treaties, and state law. An alternative site is maintained by the GPO.
US Government Manual
Search or browse the official guide to federal government agencies. Provides links to previous editions and to additional government publication databases.
US House of Representatives
House directories, committee hearing schedules, pending bills and legislative issues. Links to US House of Representatives Internet Law Library, plus a Write Your Representative feature.
The US Senate
Details the legislative process and provides a virtual tour of the Senate. Includes committee information, Senator biographies, and links to other government sites.