Political Science - Subject Guide
Return to Subject Guide list
Return to Political Science category
Sections in this category:
Statistics- United States
American Inaugurals: The Speeches, The Presidents, and Their Times
Presents the inaugural addresses of each of the 43 United States Presidents. Each entry includes a brief biography, a list of important events during that president's term of office, the actual text of the speech, and notable quotes. Illustrated with portraits and reproductions of period paintings, photos, and engravings.
Annual register world events of 2010
Long considered as essential reading by journalists, politicians, historians and anyone with an interest in current affairs, The Annual Register is a primary source text for historical research and (for the recent and current annuals) a current affairs reference work.
Budget of the United States Government
Full text of proposed budget, available for viewing and printing in PDF. Selected documents are searchable
Checks and Balances: The Three Branches of the American Government
Presents easy to understand information about the inner workings of the federal government. Includes historical overviews and examinations of the day-to-day operations of each branch, as well as Constitutional duties and obligations of each branch, specifics related to eligibility, elections and appointments of key positions, changes since 1776, the future of each branch, and other topics.
Cities of the United States: a Compilation of Current Information on Economic, Cultural, Geographic, and Social Conditions
Provides information on America's top cities--those fastest-growing, as well as those with a particular historical, political, industrial, and/or commercial significance. City-specific profiles organize pertinent facts, data, and figures related to demographic, economic, cultural, geographic, social, and recreational conditions.
Code of Federal Regulations
Searchable text of current US regulations, with link to Federal Register for updates.
Conspiracy Theories in American History
A to Z guide to American conspiracy theories.
Countering the Changing Threat of International Terrorism
Controversial report written in the wake of 1998 Bombing of US Embassies in Africa. Full text is available. Adobe Acrobat needed.
Essentials of Global Politics
Essential reference book that guides the reader through these issues and many more, providing an overview of the most important contemporary events and themes.
The Former Soviet Union's Diverse Peoples: A Reference Sourcebook
Guide to understanding the history of the ethnic diversity of the former Soviet Union and the current ethnic issues of the region.
The Former Yugoslavia's Diverse Peoples: A Reference Sourcebook
Exploration of the ethnic history of the former Yugoslavia traces the roots of the conflicts that convulsed the region in the 1990s.
From Suffrage to the Senate: America's Political Women
A comprehensive and valuable compendium of biographies of leading women in U.S. politics, past and present, and an examination of the wide range of women's movements.
Government, Politics, and Protest: Essential Primary Sources
A collection of primary source documents that focus on leading social issues of the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries.
Handbook of Global Environmental Politics
Dynamic and energetic debates over concerns for the health of the planet and how they might best be addressed.
A Handbook of Globalisation and Environmental Policy
Provides a state-of-the-art examination of the critical effects of globalisation on environmental governance.
Handbook of Political Sociology: States, Civil Societies, and Globalization
Provides the first complete survey of the vibrant field of political sociology.
A Historical Guide to World Slavery
Mortensen Library Reference HT861 .H59 1998
Human and Civil Rights: Essential Primary Sources
Primary source documents that focus on leading social issues of the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries.
Immigration and Asylum from 1900 to Present
Comprehensive and timely examination of the history and current status of immigrants and refugees.
Key Concepts in Governance
Provides a clear introduction to the technical concepts and policies of contemporary governance through short definitional essays.
Key Concepts in Political Communication
This is a systematic and accessible introduction to the critical concepts, structures and professional practices of political communication.
Key Concepts in Work
Clearly and concisely explains the central ideas, debates and theories of work in social, political and economic contexts.
Major Acts of Congress
All aspects of legislation are covered, including the National Prohibition Act, the Civil Rights Act, the Family and Medical Leave Act, the Americans with Disabilities Act, the Fair Housing Act, the Freedom of Information Act and much more.
Presidents: A Reference History
Presents in-depth profiles of each American president and his administration. Includes black-and-white portraits of the presidents and extensive bibliographies. Also features a new history of the White House and a general introduction to the presidency.
Propaganda and Mass Persuasion: A Historical Encyclopedia, 1500 to the Present
A to Z guide to five centuries of propaganda. Also have print Mortensen Library Reference HM1231 .C85 2003
Reader's Guide to the Social Sciences
Includes numerous entries in A-Z order, critically reviewing the literature on specific topics from abortion to world systems theory.
Religious Right: A Reference Handbook
Examines the religious right and its influence on our government, citizens, society, and politics. From the fight to outlaw the teaching of Darwin's theory of evolution to the struggle to outlaw abortion, the religious right is continually exerting an influence on public policy.
South Africa's Diverse Peoples: A Reference Sourcebook
Traces the fascinating racial history of South Africa before, during, and after the apartheid years.
Terrorism Reference Library
Provides students with an understanding of the complex issue of global terrorism.
Terrorism: Essential Primary Sources
Primary source documents focus on leading social issues of the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries. International in scope, each title is devoted to one topic.
World Politics Since 1945
World Politics since 1945 is essential reading for those who need to understand the great sweeps of contemporary history.
First Ladies of the United States
Whether editing speeches and appearing on the campaign trail, presiding over White House renovations and social events, championing important causes, or functioning as the president's most trusted adviser, first ladies have made significant contributions to the heads-of-state's careers and to the nation.
Connecticut State Register and Manual
Interactive version of the "Blue Book" providing history, biographies, and directory information for state government and state congressional delegation from 1997. Have print in Mortensen Library Shelves JK3331 .A4
The American Heritage Abbreviations Dictionary
Definition for abbreviations across disciplines.
The Anti-Capitalist Dictionary
This dictionary is an alternative and a counter-balance to the many political dictionaries that ignore or marginalize the history and influence of anti-capitalist movements.
The Blackwell Dictionary of Political Science
Introduction to the terminology of political science for students and general readers.
Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology
Entries cover schools, theories, theorists and debates, with substantial articles on all key topics in the field.
Collins Dictionary of Sociology
Guide to the terms and concepts used in every area of sociology, and to related terms in political science, economics and anthropology.
Dictionary of Conflict Resolution, Wiley
Offers common and varied uses of terms, clarifies differences between terms, and recommends accurate usage.
A Dictionary of Diplomacy
Includes entries on legal terms, political events, international organizations and major figures who have occupied the diplomatic scene.
Dictionary of Politics and Government
Significant number of terms covering world politics, international relations, local and national government and the European Union.
Dictionary of the Israeli-Palestinian Conflict
Covers the history of the Arab-Israeli conflict from the birth of Zionism at the end of the 19th century. Covers five Arab-Israeli wars, and provides biographies of political personnel in Syria, Egypt, Iraq, Lebanon, Jordan, and the occupied territories.
Encyclopedia of the European Union
The Encyclopedia of the European Union provides in-depth, authoritative discussions of the key concepts, developments, institutions, policies, negotiations, treaties, national interests, personalities, etc., related to European integration.
Eurojargon is a comprehensive, easy-to-use dictionary of 'Eurospeak', containing a number of acronyms, abbreviations and other EU-related terms.
Glossary of Political Theory
Presenting theory in an abstract fashion makes it daunting for students who can find it difficult to see the links between theory and practice. The definitions in this glossary therefore relate political ideas to political realities (i.e. everyday controversies) in an attempt to make them as lively, stimulating and accessible as possible.
Glossary of UK Government and Politics
Reference guide to the events, personnel, policies and institutions relevant to the government and politics of the United Kingdom from accountability to the women’s movement.
Macquarie Dictionary of Australian Politics
Up-to-date guide to the apparatus of government in Australia.
Palgrave Macmillan Dictionary of Political Thought
Entries from Abdication to zoning cover every aspect of political thought, defining concepts and ideologies, surveying the arguments on issues, giving capsule histories of political institutions, and summarizing (with newly expanded treatment) the thought of major political theorists.
Political Philosophy A-Z
Guides the reader through the intricacies of political theory, enabling them to trace their way through a debate, fixing historical and theoretical points of reference along the way. It is well suited for students studying political philosophy at university.
Details every event leading up to 9/11, going back up to a decade prior to the attacks, and including all participants from any place in the world. Also covered are events since the attack that have influenced our understanding of the ordeal.
Assassinations and Executions: an Encyclopedia of Political Violence, 1865-1986
Mortensen Library Reference HV6278 .L45 1988
Assassinations and Executions: an Encyclopedia of Political Violence, 1900 through 2000
Mortensen Library Reference HV6278 .L45 2002
Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity
Spans the globe to explain the issues behind crimes against humanity and human rights issues as they relate to individual countries and the world at large.
Encyclopedia of Nationalism: Fundamental Themes
Covers fundamental themes from Anthropology to Western Europe.
Encyclopedia of Nationalism: Leaders, Movements, and Concepts
covers leaders, movements, and key concepts of nationalism.
Encyclopedia of Population (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Search two volumes of the 2003 Encyclopedia, providing up-to-date coverage of demographic issues and the broad topic of population studies, including population growth, low fertility rates, support for aging populations, environmental impact of dense population, etc. UofH only.
Encyclopedia of Public Choice
Offers a detailed and comprehensive account of the subject that deals with the intersection of economics and political science.
Encyclopedia of the American Civil War
Comprehensive reference set on the political, social, and military aspects of the American Civil War.
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East & North Africa
Search the complete text of this 4 volume encyclopedia on the nations, cultures and peoples of the Middle East and North Africa. UofH only.
Encyclopedia of the World’s Nations
Mortensen Library Reference G63 .K874 2002
Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace and Conflict
Provides crucial and contemporary information about antagonism and reconciliation within both the public and private realms from violence and nonviolence toward the aged population to youth violence.
France and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History
Covers the impacts that French and American politics, foreign policy, and culture have had on shaping each country's identity.
Germany and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History
Details the close ties between the German-speaking world and the Americas.
Globalization: Encyclopedia of Trade, Labor, and Politics
This work is a comprehensive collection of cutting-edge scholarship on the economic, international business, political, legal, and environmental ramifications of globalization- one of the hottest topics of the day.
Guns in American Society: An Encyclopedia of History, Politics, Culture and the Law
Comprehensive single source of information on the gun issue to help readers educate themselves.
Iberia and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History
Covers the reciprocal effects that the politics, foreign policy, and culture of Spain, Portugal, and the American nations have had on one another since the time of Columbus.
International Encyclopedia of Environmental Politics
Essential reference source to enable all those with an interest in the politics of the environment to explore many topics in international environmental politics.
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
Highlights the expanding influence of economics in social science research and features new articles and biographies contributed by scholars from around the world on a wide array of global topics in the social sciences.
Legal Systems of the World: a Political, Social, and Cultural Encyclopedia
Mortensen Library Reference K48 .L44 2002
Political Corruption in America: An Encyclopedia of Scandals, Power
This dynamic reference work covers the complete scandal-filled history of American political corruption. Information-packed entries explore the people, crimes, investigations and court cases behind 200 years of political scandals.
Poverty and the Government in America: A Historical Encyclopedia
The most comprehensive encyclopedia available on the U.S. government's responses to poverty from the colonial era to the present day.
Public Opinion and Polling Around the World: A Historical Encyclopedia
Serves as an important resource to understand how citizens' views are translated into governmental action.
Slavery in the United States a Social, Political, and Historical Encyclopedia
A comprehensive, contextual presentation of all aspects—social, political, and economic—of slavery in the United States, from the first colonization through Reconstruction.
Statistics- United States
County and City Extra: Annual Metro, City, and County Data Book
Mortensen Library Reference HA202 .A37
Sections in this category:
Thousands of the leading English language business and management journals. Full text and/or full image available for most articles after 1989. Indexing and abstracts from 1970. Also searches Hoover's Company Records for company and industry information. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.
Academic Search Premier
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.
Biographical Directory of the United States Congress, 1774-Present
Provides biographical information on the more than 13,000 persons who have served in the United States Congress, including those who served in the Continental Congress.
Westlaw's Campus Research combines breadth of news and business information with superior depth in law-related information. Database includes major newspapers, legal research, and United States Laws, Codes and Statutes.
NOTE: You must turn of all Pop-up Blockers to properly download and print articles from this database.
Original, comprehensive reporting and analysis of issues in the news. Published 44 times each year, with each report covering a single issue in depth. Reports consist of background and chronology, assessment of the current situation, tables and maps, pro/con statements, and bibliographies of key resources. Html and pdf versions available. with reports published since 2001 in color. Includes full text.
C-SPAN Video Library
Links to government and public service broadcasts by C-SPAN since 1987
Dissertations and Theses @ University of Hartford
Dissertations by University of Hartford students. Includes full text for most, especially those published after 1996.
Dissertations and Theses Abstracts + Full Text
Describes over 2 million dissertations from institutions around the U.S. (and some international), with citations from 1861 to the present. Includes full text for many of the Humanities and Social Sciences dissertations as well as most UH dissertations 1997-present. Many of the other dissertations are available through interlibrary loan .
Essay & General Literature Index Retrospective
Years Covered: 1900-1984
Essay & General Literature Retrospective offers access to tens of thousands of essays that are otherwise all but inaccessible. This resource also unlocks a wealth of information in thousands of collections and anthologies, making your library more valuable to researchers in a wide array of fields.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Search the tables of contents or full text of selected reference books in business, education, the environment, medicine biology, and the social sciences.
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.
Historical Hartford Courant
Fully searchable images of America's oldest continuously published newspaper, covering 1764 through 1922. Use ProQuest Newspapers for current (1992- ). No coverage is available between 1923 and 1991. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library. Full text available.
Historical New York Times
Full images of the complete New York Times from 1851 to 2002. Search by keyword, by date, etc. Images of specific articles or full pages available..
Strong resource index for all aspects of the Humanities including: Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology
JSTOR Arts and Sciences
Searchable full text of articles from selected scholarly journals in fields including area studies, anthropology, ecology, economics, education, history, language and literature, mathematics, philosophy, political sciences, sociology and statistics. No current issues available. Historical coverage varies, but database includes some titles from before 1950.
Labour Statistics (International Labour Organization: Laborsta Internet)
View and download data and metadata for over 200 countries or territories
Military & Government Collection
Formerly Military Library FullTEXT. Full text of over 320 history, political science and military related periodicals and general interest magazines, with abstracts of articles from an additional 300 plus titles.
NDLTD: Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
NDLTD Union Catalog contains more than one million records of electronic theses and dissertations and includes links to other databases of electronic theses and dissertations.
Population Index on the Web
"Population Index" is the primary reference tool to the world's population literature. It presents an annotated bibliography of recently published books, journal articles, working papers, and other materials on population topics.
Search the text of major newspapers including the Boston Globe (1980- ), Christian Science Monitor (1990- ), Hartford Courant (1992- ), Los Angeles Times (1985- ), New York Times (1999- , including the Book Review and Magazine), Wall Street Journal Eastern Edition (1984- ), and Washington Post (1987- ). Full text available.
ProQuest Social Science Journals
ProQuest Social Science Journals is a definitive resource for those who need access to a variety of social science journals. The database includes over 530 titles, with more than 300 available in full text.
Public Library of Law
Fastcase has created the Public Library of Law -- to make it easy to find the law online. PLoL is the largest free law library in the world, because we assemble law available for free scattered across many different sites -- all in one place. PLoL is the best starting place to find law on the Web. PLoL also includes free links to paid content on Fastcase. PLoL is already the Web's largest free law library, but with additional links from Fastcase, it is one of the most comprehensive law libraries in the world. Full text available.
The Supreme Court Database
Searchable online information for Supreme Court documents, decisions and opinions from 1953 to present.
Vanderbilt TV News Archive
Searchable database of abstracts of nightly television news broadcasts. ABC, CBS and NBS are covered since August 5, 1968, and a daily news program from CNN is available since 1995. Special broadcast reports covering significant events are included, as are selected broadcasts of ABC Nightline between March 24, 1980 and September 12, 1988 and all Nightline broadcasts since that date. Video of selected CNN broadcasts is available.
Downloading and viewing online video requires setting up a free account.
Video requires RealOne media player (free download available). Users may
borrow tapes of broadcasts by using a credit card.
Westlaw's Campus Research
Westlaw's Campus Research combines breadth of news and business information with superior depth in law-related information. Database includes major newspapers, legal research, and United States Laws, Codes and Statutes. NOTE: You must turn of all Pop-up Blockers to properly download and print articles from this database.
World Bank Open Data
Vast collection of economic, social, population, and development data with no restrictions and at no cost.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Years Covered: 1975-Present
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.
Sections in this category:
Statistics- United States
Affirmative Action and Diversity Project: A Web Page for Research
Model resource which explores diverse opinions on affirmative action topics. Extensive coverage of Proposition 209 debates in California with links to policy documents, news reports, editorials pro and con.
American Presidency Project
The archives contain thousands of documents such as inaugural addresses, party platforms, candidates' remarks, Statements of Administration Policy, documents released by the Office of the Press Secretary, and election debates.
Growing collection of text, audio and video of speeches, sermons, lectures, debates, interviews, etc. Browse or search.
ASIL Electronic Resources Guide (International Law)
American Society for International Law Resource Guide is designed to simplify searching for difficult aspects of International Law.
Background Notes (US State Department)
Periodically updated information on countries and international organizations.
Beacon for Freedom of Expression
International database of information on censorship and literature on freedom of expression. Produced by the Norwegian Forum for Freedom of Expression
Cuban Internet Resources
Searchable list of resources with information on Cuba and the Cuban Perspective. Most sites in Spanish, but many have English Language versions. Subjects vary widely.
Cyburbia.org: Internet Resources for the Built Environment
Comprehensive resources in planning, architecture, construction, building technology, transportation, environment, energy etc. Includes mailing lists, Usenet newsgroups. Hosts interactive message areas.
Foreign Consular Offices in the United States
Directory, by country, of consular offices, across the country. Also links to information about chanceries and embassies in Washington.
The Gallup Organization
Public opinion polls and selected special reports. The archive of polls back to March 1997 is arranged chronologically.
Globalization in Focus (Foreign Policy in Focus)
Frequently updated information and opinion on globalization, the WTO, the IMF, the World Bank, etc.
Human Rights Library (University of Minnesota)
The full text of important international human rights documents.
Human Rights Practices
US Department of State Reports on Human Rights Practices for the years 1995 to the present.
INFOMINE: Scholarly Internet Resource Collections
Virtual library of over 10,000 academically oriented resources. Browse by subject or title in broad categories, or search using keywords or Library of Congress Subject Headings. Brief annotations link to detailed descriptions. Lots of cross-references.
Institute of Development Studies
Research on development issues. Includes links to research reports, a weekly newsletter, and information on publications (many online for free downloads).
International Economics Network
Directory of links to all aspects of international economics and related fields. Includes links to research papers, statistical sources, news, industry information, etc.
Intute - Social Sciences
Search or browse the database of social sciences resources.
Library of Economics and Liberty
Online books and essays (mostly classics) in Economics as well as opinion, links to economic data and institutions, and other recommended links.
MBendi Information Services
Global business and commercial information including country, industry, and company information.
The Pew Research Center for the People and the Press
Studies of attitudes toward the press, politics and public policy issues. Includes summaries of recent poll findings, and a library listing older reports available for purchase.
Political Database of the Americas (Georgetown University)
Provides documentary and statistical political information on Latin America. Searchable database and links to political parties, embassies, and consulates.
Continuously updated collection of public opinion on topics in politics, business and the American Scene drawn from US sources. Browse or search.
University of Michigan Documents Center
Well organized site with extensive links to federal, state, foreign and international government information. Searchable.
US Department of State: Diplomatic List
This covers foreign missions (embassies, interest sections) in the United States. It contains the names of members of the diplomatic staffs of these missions and their spouses.
BBC News Country Profiles
Descriptive information on all countries of the world include history, politics, and economy. Also provides links to audio or video clips from the BBC archives.
European Governments On-line
Links to official sites for members of the European Union as well as most other European nations.
Find statistics on regions and countries around the world, including cross national and historical comparison tables. Based on data from the CIA World Factbook.
International Data Base
Statistical tables of demographic and socioeconomic data for all countries of the world. Maintained by US Bureau of the Census.
National Statistics (UK)
Key statistics for the UK with selected figures for regions. Supplied by the Government Statistical Services, with links to other governmental departments, and related web sites.
World Military Expenditures and Arms Transfers
International statistics on defense spending and arms transfers. Requires Adobe Acrobat.
Statistics- United States
County and City Data Books
Access to the electronic versions of the 1930 to 1977 Data Books. Easy to use interface to get customized data.
Easy to use search or browse access to statistics from over 70 government agencies. Selected regional as well as comprehensive national statistics.
Statistical Abstract Home Page (U. S. Census Bureau)
A wealth of statistical data including state rankings and state and county profiles. Data back to 1995 edition available.