Key Concepts in Work
Clearly and concisely explains the central ideas, debates and theories of work in social, political and economic contexts.
Major Acts of Congress
All aspects of legislation are covered, including the National Prohibition Act, the Civil Rights Act, the Family and Medical Leave Act, the Americans with Disabilities Act, the Fair Housing Act, the Freedom of Information Act and much more.
Connecticut State Register and Manual
Interactive version of the "Blue Book" providing history, biographies, and directory information for state government and state congressional delegation from 1997. Have print in Mortensen Library Shelves JK3331 .A4
The Anti-Capitalist Dictionary
This dictionary is an alternative and a counter-balance to the many political dictionaries that ignore or marginalize the history and influence of anti-capitalist movements.
Encyclopedia of the European Union
The Encyclopedia of the European Union provides in-depth, authoritative discussions of the key concepts, developments, institutions, policies, negotiations, treaties, national interests, personalities, etc., related to European integration.
Eponymous Dictionary of Economics: a Guide to Laws and Theorems Named After Economists
Mortensen Library Reference HB61 .E66 2004
Eurojargon is a comprehensive, easy-to-use dictionary of 'Eurospeak', containing a number of acronyms, abbreviations and other EU-related terms.
Glossary of Political Theory
Presenting theory in an abstract fashion makes it daunting for students who can find it difficult to see the links between theory and practice. The definitions in this glossary therefore relate political ideas to political realities (i.e. everyday controversies) in an attempt to make them as lively, stimulating and accessible as possible.
Glossary of UK Government and Politics
Reference guide to the events, personnel, policies and institutions relevant to the government and politics of the United Kingdom from accountability to the womenís movement.
The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics
Mortensen Library Reference HB61 .N49 2008
Palgrave Macmillan Dictionary of Political Thought
Entries from Abdication to zoning cover every aspect of political thought, defining concepts and ideologies, surveying the arguments on issues, giving capsule histories of political institutions, and summarizing (with newly expanded treatment) the thought of major political theorists.
Political Philosophy A-Z
Guides the reader through the intricacies of political theory, enabling them to trace their way through a debate, fixing historical and theoretical points of reference along the way. It is well suited for students studying political philosophy at university.
Wall Street Lingo: Thousands of Investment Terms Explained Simply
Mortensen Library Reference HG4513 .P48 2007
Encyclopedia of Political Economy
Mortensen Library Reference HB61 .E554
Encyclopedia of Population (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Search two volumes of the 2003 Encyclopedia, providing up-to-date coverage of demographic issues and the broad topic of population studies, including population growth, low fertility rates, support for aging populations, environmental impact of dense population, etc. UofH only.
Encyclopedia of Public Choice
Offers a detailed and comprehensive account of the subject that deals with the intersection of economics and political science.
Encyclopedia of the Worldís Nations
Mortensen Library Reference G63 .K874 2002
Encyclopedia of World Poverty
Mortensen Library Reference HV12 .E54 2006
Princeton Encyclopedia of the World Economy
From trade agreements to offshore outsourcing to foreign aid, this encyclopedia explains the key elements of the world economy and provides a first step to further research for students and scholars in public policy, international studies, business, and the broader social sciences, as well as for economic policy professionals.
Thousands of the leading English language business and management journals. Full text and/or full image available for most articles after 1989. Indexing and abstracts from 1970. Also searches Hoover's Company Records for company and industry information. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library. Updated daily.
Academic Search Premier
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.
Westlaw's Campus Research combines breadth of news and business information with superior depth in law-related information. Database includes major newspapers, legal research, and United States Laws, Codes and Statutes.
NOTE: You must turn of all Pop-up Blockers to properly download and print articles from this database.
Database of articles from approximately 200 journals covering business, management, and administration issues. Full text. Available in both PDF and HTML formats.
FindArticles (Look Smart)
Searches for articles in approximately 900 magazines and journals. Emphasis on trade publications. Text only - no graphic content available. Some articles available to subscribers or for a fee only.
Global Financial Data
LOGIN as ANONYMOUS to use full database or create your own user name and password to save searches, etc. Global Financial Data provides accurate, verified financial data and statistics. Compiled from original sources, the GF Database is an online collection of more than 20,000 data series, which span decades or even centuries of information, and cover more than 200 countries. It is accessible anytime, anywhere 24 hours a day. Offers daily close data for US stocks, daily stock market histories begin as early as 1962 for major US stocks, and delivers original end-of-day trading values for individual United States stocks. PLEASE NOTE: There is a 20 person seat limit. So please, LOGOUT, to end your session properly.
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.
Military & Government Collection
Formerly Military Library FullTEXT. Full text of over 320 history, political science and military related periodicals and general interest magazines, with abstracts of articles from an additional 300 plus titles.
Military and Intelligence Database
Provides access to U.S. armed services publications, along with military science, political science and international relations journals, many in full text. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.
Westlaw's Campus Research
Westlaw's Campus Research combines breadth of news and business information with superior depth in law-related information. Database includes major newspapers, legal research, and United States Laws, Codes and Statutes. NOTE: You must turn of all Pop-up Blockers to properly download and print articles from this database.
World Bank Open Data
Vast collection of economic, social, population, and development data with no restrictions and at no cost.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Years Covered: 1975-Present
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.
Far Eastern Economic Review
Archive dating to 2007 of the key weekly for Asian business news. Also includes links to important web sites and continuously updated news from the markets. Free registration required. See Wall Street Journal, East Asian site for continued coverage.
OECD Economic Outlook
Current full text online. Selected full text for previous issues. Library has print Mortensen Library Periodicals HC10 .O18
American Presidency Project
The archives contain thousands of documents such as inaugural addresses, party platforms, candidates' remarks, Statements of Administration Policy, documents released by the Office of the Press Secretary, and election debates.
Asia-Pacific Research and Training Network on Trade
A cooperative project of the UNESCAP, UNCTAD, the WTO, and trade research and academic institutions from 15 member nations, provides resources for policy makers and researchers on East, South, and Southeast Asia on international trade policy and facilitation.
Bank Information Center
Information on the projects, policies and practices of the World Bank and other development banks. Includes publications and "toolkits" for those working with the banks. Multilingual.
Business and Management (intute)
Part of an even larger Social Science Information Gateway, this massive list provides carefully selected and annotated links. British slant. Searchable.
Issue briefs, statistics, publications, and basic information on the OECD and its members.
UNECE's Gender Statistics
The United Nations Economic Commission for Europe has posted comparative gender statistics from all of its member countries in a database that allows users to create their own tables by selecting relevant criteria. Also included are government policy statements and time use surveys.