Physics - Subject Guide
Return to Subject Guide list
Return to Science category
Sections in this category:
General Resources
|
Atlases
|
Biographies
|
Dictionaries
|
Encyclopedias
General Resources
Black Holes
Presents evidence and theories for these objects, discusses how they were first predicted, how they form, their physical properties, and how scientists detect them.
Career Opportunities in Aviation & the Aerospace Industry
Mortensen Library Reference HD8039.A23 E285 2005
Check Status
Career Opportunities in Science
Career Services Shelves Q147 .E33 2008
Check Status
Career Opportunities in the Energy Industry
Career Services Shelves TJ163.2 .T3485 2008
Check Status
Comets and Asteroids
Outlines evidence and theories about black holes and what constitutes them, discusses how they are detected, how scientists believe they form.
Exploring Mars
Discusses similarities (and differences) between Mars and Earth, failed and successful space missions, and future plans for exploration.
Guide to Global Hazards
Illustrated guide to the large-scale disasters that affect life on earth.
Guide to Stars and Planets
Practical guide to the night sky.
International Critical Tables of Numeric Data, Physics, Chemistry and Technology (National Research Council)
Seven volumes of searchable data and tables on physical, thermodynamic, mechanical and other properties of materials. Searchable PDF of the full text of the book, with hyperlinked index and interactive tables. UofH users only.
Knovel Critical Tables
Tables of properties for over 13,000 commonly used chemical compounds. Regularly updated with new interactive tables. UofH users only.
Smithsonian Physical Tables
Fully searchable tables concentrating on a broad range of common physical and chemical data. Hyperlinked index. UofH users only.
Atlases
Biographies
Dictionaries
Encyclopedias
Broader Guides
Related Guides
Academic OneFile
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library. Updated daily.
Academic Search Premier
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.
Applied Science and Technology Index
Indexing of articles from over 400 English language journals covering technical fields, including engineering, computer science, mathematics, chemistry, physics, etc. Limited number of simultaneous users. Be sure to logout/exit before closing your browser.
ArXiv e-print Archive
arXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, quantitative biology and statistics. This site is maintained and operated by Cornell University. Papers are submitted by the author's and are subject to edits at any time. Full text available.
ASCE Research Library
a comprehensive tool for locating online content across all disciplines of civil engineering. The 630,000-page Research Library contains the full text of more than 73,000 journal articles and proceedings papers, and can be accessed either through a current subscription or by downloading a single articles. Approximately 4,000 new papers are added each year.
ASCE's Civil Engineering Database
Civil engineering database for bibliographic access to ASCE documents (journals, conferences).
Bibliography on Cold Regions Science and Technology
Includes references to scientific and engineering research related to material and operations in a winter battlefield, the nature and impact of cold on facilities and activities, cold-related environmental problems, and the impact of human activity on cold environments.
Energy Citations Database
Searchable database of information on research sponsored by the US Department of Energy and its predecessors. Some full text online, ordering information for those not online.
E-Print Network
Searchable gateway to documents in scientific and technical fields of concern to the US Department of Energy. Full text available.
FindArticles (Look Smart)
Searches for articles in approximately 900 magazines and journals. Emphasis on trade publications. Text only - no graphic content available. Some articles available to subscribers or for a fee only.
Google Scholar
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.
ISIHighlyCited.com
Search for the most influential researchers by name or institution. Biographical and bibliographical information. Currently covers chemistry, physics, engineering and neurosciences.
PolySearch Energy
Search for abstracts (and occasional full text of articles) across up to 15 databases related to energy science. Results from each database display in a separate window.
Proquest Science Journals
Search full text and images for the leading periodicals in science and technology. Subject coverage includes computers, engineering, physics, telecommunications, and transportation. ProQuest Science Journals features over 620 titles - with more than 500 available in full text.
Science Resource Center
Information on the life, physical, and earth and space sciences from books, journals and reference works. Full text available.
ScienceResearch.com
This site is a free, publicly available web portal allowing access to numerous scientific journals and public science databases. Search for materials in the topics of astronomy, biology, chemistry, computers, environmental sciences, engineering, health and medicine, materials science, mathematics, physics, and social sciences. Full text. Also includes links to related sites.
Scirus
Search engine for the sciences and selected social sciences. Includes both web sources and citations from journals indexed by selected databases. Journal citations may include links to full text (where the Libraries subscribe) or to ordering options (credit card required) for full text.
Scitation (AIP) and SPIN - formerly Online Journal Publishing Service
Free access to this index (some full text or abstracts) of more than 40 professional journals and 1 million articles in physics, engineering and computer science including full text for Physical Review & Physical Review Letters. SPIN contains 1.5 million articles from leading Physics publications. You may search Scitation and SPIN in one search or separately.
SIMBAD Astronomical Database
Provides basic data, cross-identifications, bibliography and measurements for astronomical objects outside the solar system.
WorldwideScience.org
Global science gateway—accelerating scientific discovery and progress through a multilateral partnership to enable federated searching of national and international scientific databases and portals.
Broader Guides
Related Guides
Sections in this category:
General Resources
|
Atlases
|
Dictionaries
General Resources
AIA (Aerospace Industries Association)
Website for aerospace technologies.
AIP Style Manual (American Institute of Physics)
Full text (pdf) of the 4th edition of the official physics style manual.
Albert Einstein Online
Collection of Einstein's theories, work, biography.
American Institute of Physics
News, employment information and links to additional information sources on physics and science.
American Mathematical Society Website
Official website of the American Mathematical Society
American Physical Society
Use physical related sources on the internet for links to societies. Physics links holists, internet search engines, NASA, DOE, etc.
Annual Reviews
Search engine for all 26 of Annual Reviews' products with table of contents and abstracts.
Brown High Energy Physics
Pointers to physics resources around the world
BUBL LINK
Dewey Decimal subject based links to Web sites, concentrating on academic and research oriented sites. Selective rather than inclusive. Search engine also available.
Chaos at UMD (University of Maryland Chaos Group)
General information, publications (abstracts and/or full text), and pointers to additional sites on chaos and non -linear dynamics.
Digital Ditch Unit Converter
Automatically calculates equivalent units of measure for area, density, force, mass, etc.
Fundamental Physical Constants
Lists of various constants, conversion of units, and Index General chemistry.
GSFC's Astrophysics Science Division (NASA)
Details research being conducted on the extremes of gravity, space, and time. Resources includes links to additional information.
Hubble Site
Hubble Telescope has sent back the first images after being serviced.
Intute: Sciences
Science, engineering, and technology page for best web resources, education, and research.
Martindale's The Reference Desk
Links arranged by subject. Quick and easy to use.
Mathematical Association of America
Provides mathematicians with the best expository articles, engaging problems, and articles devoted to teaching collegiate mathematics.
National Council of Teachers of Mathematics
Official website of the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics
The Official String Theory Web Site
Basics of string theory and particle physics, as well as experiment progress, colloquia, links and more.
Physics (UCSD)
A great top level site with links to many other sites related to the field. Has search engines and spiders.
ResearchGate
ResearchGate is a social and professional network for researchers and
scientists with many features designed specifically for the sciences:
a search engine that searches 7 major databases (e.g., PubMed, NASA,
IEEE) and thousands of smaller Open Access ones, self-archiving,
information on thousands of journals and publishers, an events board,
job listings, file-sharing, a blogging platform, and much more.
SciCentral
Gateway to hundreds of sources of information in all areas of science. Arranged in broad subject categories. Searchable. Updated daily with science news.
Science.gov
Searchable gateway to science and technology information from US government science agencies. Information available in fields including pure and applied sciences, health sciences, and science education.
Sedna
Background information on the newly discovered Sedna, the most distant object known to orbit the sun.
Solar Physics (NASA Marshall Space Flight Center)
Information on solar research supported by NASA. Loaded with illustrations. Note especially information on sun spot activity.
Spectroscopy Now
The just dedicated spectroscopy portal links to free articles and preprints from peer-reviewed science journals.
Subject Resources (Los Alamos National Laboratory)
Links to a wide variety of web-based information resources. Includes databases and e-journals (some of which are restricted to LANL staff). Arranged by subject.
Total Solar Eclipse of 2001 June 21
Includes data about the first total solar eclipse of the new millennium, as well as those of the previous decade.
Wolfram Research's Mathematical Functions- Over 37,000 mathematical functions, with formulas presented in standard form as well as MathML and ASCII.
Wolfram Functions Site
Over 37,000 mathematical functions, with formulas presented in standard form as well as MathML and ASCII. Search or browse, or contribute your own.
Selected new titles on math
Selected new titles on computer science
For further information:
Internet Search Engines
Subject Selectors
Web Reference Tools
Atlases
An Atlas of the Universe
Maps of the Universe, arranged according to distance from Earth, as well as extensive links to related sites and a glossary. Nine major maps link to related maps and descriptions.
Dictionaries
EurekAlert!
Index of links to glossaries or dictionaries from various scientific disciplines. Searchable.
Broader Guides
Related Guides