African Americans in the Visual Arts
Mortensen Library Reference N6538.N5 O86 2003
Career Opportunities in Art
Mortensen Library Reference N6505 .H35 2001
Myths & Legends
Myths and legends, with their fantastical settings and parade of exotic creatures and beautiful immortals, have inspired some of the most popular works in the National Gallery Collection.
Art Index and the Art Index Retrospective
Years Covered: 1929-
Indexing of articles from over 270 international art publications. Provides users with Art Literature, covering fine, decorative and commercial art. Limited number of simultaneous users. Be sure to logout/exit before closing your browser.
Years Covered: 1960-Present
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with more than 13,000 new entries being added each year. Entries date back as far as the late 1960s.
Searchable database of over 300,000 images from museums around the world, and covering a wide range of cultures and time periods. New material added frequently. Requires Java and Flash. Cookies and popups must be enabled.
See Quick Start Guide for technical information and basic searching guidance. Disable Pop Up Blocker before opening. Mac users must have OS 10.3 and use Firefox browser.
Google Art Project
Explore museums from around the world, discover and view hundreds of artworks at incredible zoom levels, and even create and share your own collection of masterpieces.
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.
Strong resource index for all aspects of the Humanities including: Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology
Oxford Art Online
Artists' biographies, essays on all cultures, civilizations, and art movements; articles on conservation and theory. A 720,000 item index includes all the visual arts with the exception of film. Links to related web resources and images. Full text available.
Web Urbanist covers the collective life of our times through the lens of creative visual culture in the beating hearts of our cities. From urban design to individual homes, and subversive street graffiti to compelling works of gallery art, our authors scour the net to find the most innovative, compelling and cutting-edge artworks and designs in the world.
A Guide to Harlem Renaissance Material
Library of Congress resources on African-American
expressions of writing, music and art during the 1920s and 1930s. Links to external Web sites on the subject and bibliography.
Life magazine presents online exhibits of photo essays from past issues of the magazine- Check the quick index for easy navigation. Link to Life Homepage for current events.
NYPL Digital Gallery
Browse or search The New York Public Library digital collection of 275,000 images (more coming) from primary sources and printed rarities, including illuminated manuscripts, maps, posters, prints and photographs ephemera, illustrated books, etc.
PhotoDisc: Royalty Free Stock Photography
Image database. Basic or Power (Boolean or natural language) search by keyword or concepts. Thumbnail images can be saved, enlarged, purchased. Uses Virage technology to find visual matches by color, composition, texture, etc.
Online learning community of people improving their photography expertise. Techniques, equipment, reviews, guides, critiques.
Time Life Pictures
Hundreds of thousands of photographs from the Time, Inc. Collection taken since the 1930s for its publications, plus over a million historical images from the London Mansell Collection. Excellent search engine.
Voice of the Shuttle
Extensive links to every variety of Web site in the humanities, law, political science, anthropology, business and media studies.