Philosophy - Subject Guide
Return to Subject Guide list
Return to Philosophy category
Sections in this category:
Biographical Dictionary of 20th Century Philosophers
Provides detailed accounts of the lives, works, influence and reception of thinkers from all the major philosophical schools and traditions of the twentieth-century.
Biographical Dictionary of Transcendentalism
This is a comprehensive guide to the major and minor figures who shaped Transcendentalism in New England, particularly between 1830 and the Civil War.
Dictionary of Modern American Philosophers
Provides an account of philosophical thought in the United States and Canada between 1860 and the present.
Great Thinkers A-Z
Short, accessible snapshots of the people who have shaped Western thought from the ancient Greeks to today. The snapshots, written by the world's leading experts, describe a major thinker's life and work with suggestions for further reading on each one. Covering philosophers as well as cultural and scientific thinkers - such as Foucault, Darwin, Einstein and Freud - who have had a major impact on philosophy.
The American Heritage Abbreviations Dictionary
Definition for abbreviations across disciplines.
The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy
The most authoritative and accessible one-volume dictionary of philosophy available in English.
Chambers Dictionary of the Unexplained
Alien abductions, bleeding trees, crop circles, phantom funerals and mysterious showers of fish all feature in this uniquely wide-ranging and balanced guide to unexplained phenomena.
Dictionary of Existentialism
Provides, through alphabetically arranged entries, brief overviews of the tenets, philosophers, and writers of existentialism.
Dictionary of Philosophical Logic
Coverage includes not only key figures, positions, terminology, and debates within philosophical logic itself, but issues in related, overlapping disciplines such as set theory and the philosophy of mathematics as well.
A Dictionary of Philosophy, Macmillan
Immensely useful handbook for the student of philosophy
Dictionary of World Philosophy
Covers the diverse and challenging terminology, concepts, schools and traditions of the vast field of world philosophy.
Philosophy of Science A-Z
Concise, accurate and illuminating accounts of key positions, concepts, arguments and figures in the philosophy of science from A priori/a posteriori to Elie Zahar.
Political Philosophy A-Z
Guides the reader through the intricacies of political theory, enabling them to trace their way through a debate, fixing historical and theoretical points of reference along the way. It is well suited for students studying political philosophy at university.
Companion Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy
Makes a broad range of richly varied philosophical, ethical and theological traditions accessible to a wide audience.
The Edinburgh Encyclopedia of Continental Philosophy
Covers the most important authors and movements in Continental Philosophy.
Encyclopedia of Classical Philosophy
Presents articles on major and minor figures and on topics of importance to the philosophy of Greek and Roman antiquity.
Encyclopedia of Empiricism
Essential source of information on particular figures, topics, and doctrines, treating the topic as a 17th- and 18th-century movement as well as a broader tendency in philosophical thought.
Encyclopedia of Ethics
Coverage of ethical theory as pursued among English-speaking philosophers.
Encyclopedia of Philosophers on Religion
Biographical information is given about each with a special focus on his or her religious upbringing, practice, and beliefs (or lack thereof). Each entry also contains a brief summary of the points each philosopher has made concerning God and religion, typically gathered from a study of the philosopher's writings.
Encyclopedia of Philosophy
English-language reference source for philosophy," has been the cornerstone of the philosophy reference shelf. Lauded for its clear and accessible presentation of wide-ranging philosophical subjects, the Encyclopedia has earned its place as a first-stop resource for general readers, students and educators.
Encyclopedia of Postmodernism
Comprehensive and authoritative coverage of academic disciplines, critical terms and central figures relating to the vast field of postmodern studies.
Philosophy of Education: An Encyclopedia
Core consists of philosophers such as Plato, Abelard, Descartes, Locke, and Dewey, along with topics from the field of philosophy, such as epistemology, metaphysics, rationalism, and realism.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Promoted as the first dynamic encyclopedia. Each entry is maintained and kept timely by subject experts who have direct electronic access to their assigned entries. This very popular source of the most recent philosophical inquiry includes the most current bibliographical citations
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library. Updated daily.
Academic Search Premier
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.
Original, comprehensive reporting and analysis of issues in the news. Published 44 times each year, with each report covering a single issue in depth. Reports consist of background and chronology, assessment of the current situation, tables and maps, pro/con statements, and bibliographies of key resources. Html and pdf versions available. with reports published since 2001 in color. Includes full text.
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.
Strong resource index for all aspects of the Humanities including: Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology
JSTOR Arts and Sciences
Searchable full text of articles from selected scholarly journals in fields including area studies, anthropology, ecology, economics, education, history, language and literature, mathematics, philosophy, political sciences, sociology and statistics. No current issues available. Historical coverage varies, but database includes some titles from before 1950.
Current and comprehensive bibliographic database covering scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy.
official web site of the American Society for Aesthetics (ASA). Diverse list of more than fifty links dealing with the philosophy of art.
The Alex Catalogue of Electronic Texts is a collection of about 14,000 classic public domain documents from American and English literature as well as Western philosophy. Searchable by keyword, author and title.
American Philosophical Association
Links for philosophers and students of philosophy to professional organizations.
Arts and Letters Daily
A daily survey of "breakthrough" publications in philosophy, aesthetics, literature, and other humanistic disciplines.
Electronic archive for papers in any area of Psychology, Neuroscience, and Linguistics, as well as portions of computer Science, Philosophy, Biology and other fields pertinent to the study of cognition.
EpistemeLinks.com: Philosophy Resources on Internet
Emphasis on classroom resources
Last Days of Socrates (Clark College)
A hypertext version of Plato's Euthyphro, Apology, Crito, and Phaedo designed to help students prepare for classroom philosophical discussion of these foundational dialogues.
Paideia Project Online
An archive of the 20th World Congress of Philosophy in Boston, August 1998. Many of the 2,500 presentations can be browsed under 45 categorical headings as well as keyword searching. Full text of presentations can be downloaded but because of space restrictions, many are more fully secured through print publications
Philosophy News Service
Timely news stories and feature articles. Sources include online newspapers, encyclopedias, and select periodicals. previously unpublished original articles by academic philosophers are of general interest. Warning: The authority for authorship, structure, and site contest is not explained.
Philosophy Research Base
An impressive index from Villanova University philosopher Danne Polk to large philosophy sites and to specific subject subsections on these sites. An electronic newsletter is available notifying participants of subject updates.
Voice of the Shuttle
Extensive links to every variety of Web site in the humanities, law, political science, anthropology, business and media studies.