Black's Law Dictionary
Mortensen Library Reference KF156 .B53
A Broken System: Error Rates in Capital Cases 1973-1995
"The Liebman Study" is a ground breaking report examining every capital conviction and appeal from 1973-1995. Full text of report is available in HTML. Adobe Acrobat is needed. Note: Not all appendices are available online. The Justice Project hopes to have them available soon.
Child Abuse: Law and Policy Across Boundaries
Mortensen Library Reference K5189 .H69 2007
Criminal Poisoning: an Investigational Guide for Law Enforcement, Toxicologist, Forensic Scientists, and Attorneys
Mortensen Library Reference RA1228 .T74 2007
Cybercrime: A Reference Handbook
Mortensen Library Reference HV6773 .S3547 2004
Death, Dying and the Ending of Life
Mortensen Library Reference R726 .D4413 2007
Domestic violence sourcebook : basic consumer information about intimate partner abuse, stalking, sexual harassment, and human trafficking, including facts about risk factors, warning signs, and forms of physical, sexual, mental, emotional, and financial abuse in women, men, adolescents, recent immigrants, elders, and other specific populations; along with facts about victims and abusers, strategies for preventing and intervening in abusive situations, guidelines for managing emergencies and making safety plans, interventions through workplaces and faith communities, tips regarding legal protections, a glossary of related terms, and a directory of resources for further information
Mortensen Library Reference HV6626.2 .D685 2013
The Everything Guide to Being a Paralegal: Secrets to a Successful Career!
Career Services Shelves KF320.L4 S365 2006
Great American Court Cases, Gale
This resource from Gale, while focusing primarily on Supreme Court cases, also includes major federal or state cases that set precedents.
Guide to the U.S. Supreme Court
Mortensen Library Reference KF8742 .W567 2004
Mortensen Library Reference HV6773.52 .S768 2003
Mortensen Library Reference HV6715 .H385 2006
Major Acts of Congress
All aspects of legislation are covered, including the National Prohibition Act, the Civil Rights Act, the Family and Medical Leave Act, the Americans with Disabilities Act, the Fair Housing Act, the Freedom of Information Act and much more.
National Survey of State Laws
A quick, state-by-state comparison of current state laws -- how they differ and how they're similar -- for a range of relevant subjects from abortion to employment discrimination, child custody to interest rates.
Opportunities in Paralegal Careers
Career Services Shelves KF320.L4 F56 2005
Mortensen Library Reference KF4550.Z9 R57 2005
The Oxford Handbook of Criminology
Mortensen Library Reference HV6025 .O87 2007
Supreme Court Drama: Cases That Changed America
Profiles major U.S. Supreme Court decisions that have made a significant impact on American society. Each volume is organized by broad legal principles such as individual liberties, criminal justice, equal protection, and business and government law.
Technology and Copyright Law : a Guidebook for the Library, Research, and Teaching Professions
Mortensen Library Reference KF3030.1 .B533 2007
World of Criminal Justice, Gale
Explains in concise, detailed, and jargon-free language some of the most important topics, theories, discoveries, concepts, and organizations in criminal justice.
Youth violence and delinquency : monsters and myths
Mortensen Library Reference HV9104 .Y6854 2007
The American Dictionary of Criminal Justice: Key Terms and Major Court Cases
Mortensen Library Reference HV7411 .C48 2004
Collins Dictionary of Law
The constant companion for all law students, and the essential reference guide for laymen, particularly business people, and all who desire a reliable guide to the law's special terminology (from abandonee to zero tolerance), including that of European union law.
The Dictionary of Criminal Justice
Mortensen Library Reference HV7411 .R87 2011
Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice
Mortensen Library Reference HV6017 .E52 2002
Encyclopedia of DNA and the US Criminal Justice System
Mortensen Library Reference RA1057.55 .P34 2004
Encyclopedia of Juvenile Justice
Mortensen Library Reference HV9104 .E58 2003
Encyclopedia of Law and Economics
Extensive bibliographies, literatures, reviews, and huge web resource list on legal and economic issues worldwide. Joint project of Edward Elgar (publisher) and the University of Ghent.
Encyclopedia of Sexual Behavior and the Law
Mortensen Library Reference KF9325.A68 M33 2006
Encyclopedia of Women and Crime
Mortensen Library Reference HV6046 .E56 2000
Thousands of the leading English language business and management journals. Full text and/or full image available for most articles after 1989. Indexing and abstracts from 1970. Also searches Hoover's Company Records for company and industry information. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.
Academic Search Premier
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.
BNA Tax Management Portfolios
The BNA Tax and Accounting Center offers practitioners a comprehensive array of analysis, news, primary sources, and practice tools covering federal, international, and state tax issues and financial accounting.
Comprehensive full text database of tax information at the federal and state level. Includes codes, regulations, cases and other primary materials as well as secondary sources such as handbooks and other materials from RIA.
the site has daily information regarding all precedential opinions issued by the 13 federal circuit courts and the Supreme Court of the United States. Each day, the non-precedential opinions from all of the Circuit courts except the D.C. Circuit are added, as well.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Search the tables of contents or full text of selected reference books in business, education, the environment, medicine biology, and the social sciences.
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.
Public Library of Law
Fastcase has created the Public Library of Law -- to make it easy to find the law online. PLoL is the largest free law library in the world, because we assemble law available for free scattered across many different sites -- all in one place. PLoL is the best starting place to find law on the Web. PLoL also includes free links to paid content on Fastcase. PLoL is already the Web's largest free law library, but with additional links from Fastcase, it is one of the most comprehensive law libraries in the world. Full text available.
American Bar Association Resource
The Cornell University Law School Legal Information Institute underwrites this digital library of the codes and rules setting standards for the professional conduct of lawyers.
The Avalon Project (Yale Law School)
Provides digital primary documents in political and legal history. A rich and expanding resource which includes Jefferson's presidential papers and letters, the Hague Conventions Laws of War, the Nuremberg Trial Proceedings and much more.
FindLaw Investigations: Enron
Rapidly growing collection of documents (most in PDF format) related to the Enron scandal, as well as some news and analysis as the case develops.
First Amendment Center
Information on the "five freedoms" - speech, press, assembly, petition and religion - protected by the first amendment. Includes news, essays, analysis, summaries of Supreme Court cases, etc.
Freedom of Religion and the Establishment Clause
The "Establishment Clause" was intended to prevent any governmental endorsement or support of religion. While one might intuitively read this to mean that the clause was meant to preclude endorsement or support of some particular religion, it is important to note that the clause also prohibits the endorsement of religion generally over non-religion.
Internet Law Library
Access to federal, state, and other nations' laws, to treaties and international law, and other legal information. Includes search engines for US Code and Code of Federal Regulations.
Jurist: Legal News and Research
An annotated tour through the law resources of the Internet, conducted by legal academics from around the world. Includes home pages, selected online articles, resource pages, and course pages.
Oyez: Supreme Court Multimedia
Superb site with an expanding number of recent Supreme Court cases available in full text and digital audio. Searchable database with links to written opinions of the Court.
Women's Legal History Biography Project
A collection of biographical papers by students at Stanford University Law School. The subjects include living and historic women lawyers. The site includes an index to the profiles, articles, research leads, bibliographies, photographs, and links to other sources.
WWW Virtual Library: Law
Excellent site which provides legal information by topic and organization type. Links to search tools and other comprehensive sites.
Find legal information and a directory of lawyers in the United States.
Martindale-Hubbell Lawyer Locator
Locate lawyers or law firms by name, area of practice, location, or language. Includes government and corporate law departments. International. Ratings and Iowa listings (available in print) are excluded.