Career Opportunities in Art
Mortensen Library Reference N6505 .H35 2001
Check Status
If the Paintings Could Talk
Reveals the hidden histories of paintings in the National Gallery, London. With a treasury of fascinating facts, discoveries, and tales, this book describes the flight a work took down a mountainside and the portrait that appeared in a James Bond film, among many other entertaining events and stories.
Myths & Legends
Myths and legends, with their fantastical settings and parade of exotic creatures and beautiful immortals, have inspired some of the most popular works in the National Gallery Collection.
Narrative
Familiarizes the modern viewer with some of the best or most intriguing examples of Western narrative painting.
National Directory of Arts Internships
Allen Library Reference [NX280 N3 2008] and more online
Check Status
National Gallery companion guide
Introduces art lovers to one of the richest and most representative collections of Western European paintings in the world, The National Gallery - London.
The Dictionary of Art
Mortensen Library Reference N31 .D5 1996
Check Status
A Dictionary of Art Terms: Painting, Sculpture, Architecture, Engraving and Etching, Lithography and Other Art Processes, Heraldry
Mortensen Library Reference N33.H14
Check Status
A Dictionary of Modern and Contemporary Art
Formerly Dictionary of Twentieth Century Art in Mortensen Library Reference N6490 .C5317 2009
Check Status
Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Art and Artists
International and up-to-date, this copiously cross-referenced dictionary provides information on a consuderable number of artists, paintings, sculptures, drawings, prints, schools and movements, including essential information on contemporary art and artists, not available elsewhere, and on techniques, materials, terms, and writers who have influenced artists.
The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Art Terms
Covers painting, sculpture, architecture, photography, the decorative, applied and graphic arts from all periods throughout the world up to the present day.
Thames & Hudson Dictionary of British Art
Covers every period from the Anglo-Saxons to the present day, and every significant medium, from painting, sculpture and printmaking to medieval goldsmiths' work and stained glass.
Art Index and the Art Index Retrospective
Years Covered: 1929-
Indexing of articles from over 270 international art publications. Provides users with Art Literature, covering fine, decorative and commercial art. Limited number of simultaneous users. Be sure to logout/exit before closing your browser.
Art Index Retrospective
Years Covered: 1929-1984
Provides users with Art Literature, covering fine, decorative and commercial art.
ArtBibliographies Modern
Years Covered: 1960-Present
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with more than 13,000 new entries being added each year. Entries date back as far as the late 1960s.
ARTstor
Searchable database of over 300,000 images from museums around the world, and covering a wide range of cultures and time periods. New material added frequently. Requires Java and Flash. Cookies and popups must be enabled.
See Quick Start Guide for technical information and basic searching guidance. Disable Pop Up Blocker before opening. Mac users must have OS 10.3 and use Firefox browser.
Google Art Project
Explore museums from around the world, discover and view hundreds of artworks at incredible zoom levels, and even create and share your own collection of masterpieces.
Google Scholar
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.
Humanities Abstracts
Strong resource index for all aspects of the Humanities including: Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology
National Gallery Collection (London)
The National Gallery Collection is comprised of high definition images from the National Gallery, London. Each entry includes a description of the work along with its artist, medium, dimensions, acquisition credit, and date made
National Portrait Gallery Portrait Search
survey of American portraits in public and private collections across the United States and abroad. The CAP encompasses portraits of American subjects or by American artists, generally limited to one-of-a-kind likenesses such as paintings, sculpture, drawings, miniatures, and silhouettes.
Oxford Art Online
Artists' biographies, essays on all cultures, civilizations, and art movements; articles on conservation and theory. A 720,000 item index includes all the visual arts with the exception of film. Links to related web resources and images. Full text available.
Art Inventories Catalog (Smithsonian Institution)
Provides access to SIRIS, The Smithsonian Institution Research Information System, which includes a 300,000 record database maintained by the National Museum of American Art describing American paintings and sculptures.
Art Magick
A virtual gallery of artists and art movements of the 19th and 20th centuries (Romantic, Symbolist, Pre-Raphaclite, Art Nouveau, etc.). Many forgotten or neglected artists' works.
Asian Arts
Exhibits, articles, and galleries for the study and exhibition of the arts of Asia.
Haltadefinizione
The Haltadefinizione project was initially conceived from the idea of the digital picture: herewith a gallery of extremely high definition images of the greatest treasures in the history of art. Must subscribe, no fee.
The Huntington Art Collections
One of the most important specialized art collections in the country, devoted primarily to British art of the 18th and early 19th century. Excellent images. Searchable.
Le Louvre
View permanent and temporary exhibits, take a tour, find information about publications, etc. Some information available only in French
The Metropolitan Museum of Art
In addition to information on exhibitions, program calendars, publications and holdings, this site offers access to the online catalogs for the museum's libraries and a selection of art links and access to over 400,000 high resolution images of their collection online for public use. In addition to keyword search, users may browse the collection by artist, method, geographic location, and date/era.
Web Gallery of Art
A virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture between the years 1150 and 1800. Artists Index, biographies, guided tours.
WebMuseum, Paris
Extensive image-based resources with rotating special exhibits available exclusively at the WebMuseum.
World Art Treasures
The J.-E. Berger Foundation extensive slide database currently devoted to the art of J. Vermeer, Renaissance Gardens, S. Botticelli, Roman portraits from Egypt and much more.
Printer-friendly version