Westlaw's Campus Research combines breadth of news and business information with superior depth in law-related information. Database includes major newspapers, legal research, and United States Laws, Codes and Statutes.
NOTE: You must turn of all Pop-up Blockers to properly download and print articles from this database.
Original, comprehensive reporting and analysis of issues in the news. Published 44 times each year, with each report covering a single issue in depth. Reports consist of background and chronology, assessment of the current situation, tables and maps, pro/con statements, and bibliographies of key resources. Html and pdf versions available. with reports published since 2001 in color. Includes full text.
Historical Hartford Courant
Fully searchable images of America's oldest continuously published newspaper, covering 1764 through 1922. Use ProQuest Newspapers for current (1992- ). No coverage is available between 1923 and 1991. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library. Full text available.
Historical New York Times
Full images of the complete New York Times from 1851 to 2002. Search by keyword, by date, etc. Images of specific articles or full pages available..
Newspaper Source Plus
Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
Newspapers of Connecticut (19th Century)
The Newspapers of Connecticut collection is a sample collection of historical newspapers covering the various regions, perspectives and topics of the Civil War era in Connecticut.
Index of newspaper Web sites around the world. A great place to look for newspaper information if you know the paper or city that you would like to search. Coverage varies and some newspaper sites offer free full text, others are fee-based.
Search the text of major newspapers including the Boston Globe (1980- ), Christian Science Monitor (1990- ), Hartford Courant (1992- ), Los Angeles Times (1985- ), New York Times (1999- , including the Book Review and Magazine), Wall Street Journal Eastern Edition (1984- ), and Washington Post (1987- ). Full text available.
Vanderbilt TV News Archive
Searchable database of abstracts of nightly television news broadcasts. ABC, CBS and NBS are covered since August 5, 1968, and a daily news program from CNN is available since 1995. Special broadcast reports covering significant events are included, as are selected broadcasts of ABC Nightline between March 24, 1980 and September 12, 1988 and all Nightline broadcasts since that date. Video of selected CNN broadcasts is available.
Downloading and viewing online video requires setting up a free account.
Video requires RealOne media player (free download available). Users may
borrow tapes of broadcasts by using a credit card.
Wall Street Journal: Markets Data Center
Free service containing more recent financial data for any recent business day than previously printed in the Wall Street Journal. Information and statistics on leading financial markets and national exchanges from across the globe. Trading stocks, options, commodities, benchmark indexes, etc. are included.
Westlaw's Campus Research
Westlaw's Campus Research combines breadth of news and business information with superior depth in law-related information. Database includes major newspapers, legal research, and United States Laws, Codes and Statutes. NOTE: You must turn of all Pop-up Blockers to properly download and print articles from this database.