Native American History Subject Guide - University Libraries, University of Hartford
Skip to Top Navigation Skip to Utility Navigation Skip to Search Skip to Left Navigation Skip to Content
  • Services
  • User Information
  • Get Help
  •  

    Native American History - Subject Guide

    Return to Subject Guide list
    Return to History category
    Printer-friendly version
    Sections in this category: General Resources | Encyclopedias | Primary Documents | Statistics

    General Resources

    American Decades
    Historical information on American History of the 20th Century.

    The American Years
    Mortensen Library Reference [E174.5 .G753 2003] Check Status

    Canada's Diverse Peoples: A Reference Sourcebook
    Comprehensive reference that takes readers on a chronological tour of Canada's ethnic history.

    Columbia Chronicles of American Life
    Mortensen Library Reference [E169.1 .G667 1995] Check Status

    The USA: A Chronicle in Pictures
    Mortensen Library Reference [E174.5 .W45 1991] Check Status


    Encyclopedias

    Encyclopedia Mythica
    An encyclopedia of mythology, folklore, and legend covering a wide array of cultures: Chinese, Etruscan, Egyptian, Greek, Haitian, Japanese, Norse, Roman, Welsh and others.

    The Encyclopedia of American Folk Art
    A-Z encyclopedia covers every aspect of American folk art.

    Encyclopedia of North American Indians, Houghton Mifflin
    Contemporary history of Native Americans.


    Primary Documents

    Voices of Multicultural America: Notable Speeches Delivered by African, Asian, Hispanic, and Native Americans, 1790-1995
    Mortensen Library Reference PS663.M55 V64 1996 Check Status


    Statistics

    The Official Guide to Racial and Ethnic Diversity: Asians, Blacks, Hispanics, Native Americans, and Whites
    Mortensen Library Reference E184.A1 R8 1996 Check Status


    Broader Guides

    Related Guides

    Ask a Librarian

    Academic Search Premier
    Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

    Essay & General Literature Index with Retrospective
    Years Covered: 1900-
    Essay & General Literature offers access to tens of thousands of essays that are otherwise all but inaccessible. This resource also unlocks a wealth of information in thousands of collections and anthologies, making your library more valuable to researchers in a wide array of fields.

    First Nations Periodical Index
    Contains journals of mainly Canadian Native content. This Index is a tool providing access to information about First Nations for students (high school or university), educators, instructors and researchers.

    Founders Early Access
    The Rotunda Founders Early Access project makes available thousands of unpublished documents from our nations founders in a free online resource.

    Google Scholar
    Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

    Humanities Abstracts
    Strong resource index for all aspects of the Humanities including: Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology

    ProQuest Social Science Journals
    ProQuest Social Science Journals is a definitive resource for those who need access to a variety of social science journals. The database includes over 530 titles, with more than 300 available in full text.

    World Digital Library (WDL)
    The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, digital images of significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.


    Broader Guides

    Related Guides

    Ask a Librarian

    American Memory Project (Library of Congress)
    Superb collection of American historical links, plus prints, photographic images, and other excellent graphics.

    Ancient Mesoamerican Civilizations
    Detailed resource devoted to ancient Maya, Mixtec, Zapotec and Aztec cultures. Excellent maps and graphic images.

    Center for World Indigenous Studies
    The Center for World Indigenous Studies website contains an extensive range of primary documents relating to issues of sovereignty, tribal law, human rights issues.

    Edward S Curtis's The North American Indian Photographic Images
    One of the most significant and controversial representations of traditional American Indian culture. A searchable collection of over 2000 photogravure plates and narrative portraying the customs and life ways of eighty Indian tribes, 1907-1930.

    Ethnographic Studies Resources
    A Library of Congress internet resource for information on Anthropology, Ethnomusicology, Folklore and Folk life.

    Fourth World Documentation Project: North, South and Central American Documents (Center for World Indigenous Studies), The
    Important resource for full texts of primary source documents relating to Native American affairs: treaties, issues of sovereignty, human rights concerns.

    Index of Native American Resources on the Internet (University of Massachusetts)
    Outstanding Native American resource, with extensive links to primary documents, archives, photographic collections and individual tribe/nation websites.

    Institute of American Indian Studies (University of South Dakota)
    Links to archival resources, tribe/nation websites, and museums. Special emphasis on the Great Sioux Nations.

    Mystery of the Maya (Canadian Museum of Civilization)
    Remarkable, beautifully presented site which provides a thorough introduction to Mayan history and culture. French and English versions available.

    Native American Authors (The Internet Public Library)
    Biographical and bibliographical information on contemporary native authors of North America. Links to tribal websites and more extensive electronic and print resources on the author.

    NativeWeb
    Award-winning site with links to Native American historical and cultural websites, as well as those of individual tribes and organizations.


    Broader Guides

    Related Guides

    Ask a Librarian