Music Databases Subject Guide - University Libraries, University of Hartford
Skip to Top Navigation Skip to Utility Navigation Skip to Search Skip to Left Navigation Skip to Content
  • Services
  • User Information
  • Get Help
  •  

    Music Databases - Subject Guide

    Return to Subject Guide list
    Return to Music category
    Printer-friendly version
    Sections in this category: Articles | Audio | Reference | Scores

    Articles

    Academic Search Premier
    Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

    CAIRSS for Music
    CAIRSS (Computer-Assisted Information Retrieval Service System) is a bibliographic database containing more than 16,000 citations from over 1,350 journals in music education, music psychology, music therapy, and music medicine. Index only.

    Canadian Music Periodical Index
    CMPI is an index to Canadian music periodical literature which provides bibliographic sources for information on all aspects of musical activity in Canada. Updated monthly, the database currently includes more than 25,000 entries indexed from 475 Canadian music periodicals.

    JSTOR
    Searchable full text of articles from selected scholarly journals in fields including anthropology, ecology, economics, education, history, language and literature, life sciences, mathematics, music, performing arts, philosophy, political sciences, sociology, statistics, and more. No current issues available; generally excludes last two to five years. Historical coverage varies; JSTOR generally includes journals back through their inception (pre-1950 in many cases).

    Music Index Online
    Years Covered: 1973-Present
    Identifies articles in over 700 music journals. Covers classical, jazz, popular, folk, and world music, including musicology, ethnomusicology, theory, applied and professional topics, music education, music industry, and reviews. Allen Library also has printed volumes: 1949-1998, [Ref] ML113 M9. UH access only.

    Music Periodicials Database (formerly International Index to Music Periodicals; IIMP)
    Identifies articles in over 400 music journals, including scholarly, applied, music education, and popular topics. Has full article descriptions 1996-present. Has brief descriptions for some journals back to their inception. Includes full text for many articles. UH access only.

    RILM
    Years Covered: 1967-Present
    RILM (Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale) describes scholarly writings on music and related disciplines, including dance. Includes citations and abstracts for journal articles, essays, Festschriften, dissertations, books, scholarly reviews, etc. International coverage, including non-English languages. The Allen Library also has printed volumes from 1967-1994.


    Audio

    Classical Music Library
    Listen online in this audio database that contains over 4,000 albums of classical music from medieval to contemporary music. UH access only.

    DRAM
    Listen online in this audio database that contains over 2,000 albums by American composers and artists, from folk to opera, Native American to jazz, nineteenth-century classical to early rock, music theater, and contemporary music. It includes the complete catalog of New World Records; repertoire from CRI , Albany Records, Innova Recordings; and liner notes and essays from these labels. UH access only.

    Naxos Music Library
    Listen online in this audio database of more than 45,000 albums. Includes primarily classical music, and also some world, folk jazz, blues, and popular music. UH access only.


    Reference

    Oxford Music Online
    Formerly Grove Music Online, comprises the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians 2nd ed., The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz 2nd ed. The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and The Oxford Companion to Music 2nd ed.

    WorldCat
    Available through FirstSearch, lists the holdings of over 9,000 libraries worldwide. University of Hartford registered library borrowers may place requests through WorldCat for items not held by University Libraries.


    Scores

    RISM
    RISM (Répertoire International des Sources Musicales) indexes music manuscripts created between 1600 and 1800 (plus some later years), showing what exists and indicating which libraries, archives, monasteries, schools, or private collections hold the original manuscript(s).

    Sheet Music Search
    Search the catalog of sheet music held at the Allen Library.


    Broader Guides

    Related Guides

    Ask a Librarian
    Sections in this category: Articles | Reference | Scores

    Articles

    Music Journals and Magazines, Newspapers and Periodicals
    List of titles available electronically compiled by the Cook Music Library of the Indiana University School of Music.


    Reference

    Music Necrology List
    Current information about deaths reported in the music press since 1991, including the Obituary Index from annual issues of the Music Library Association's journal Notes.


    Scores

    International Music Score Library Project
    An internet-based collaborative music score library containing tens of thousands of scores in the public domain.


    Broader Guides

    Related Guides

    Ask a Librarian