Middle East Subject Guide - University Libraries, University of Hartford
Skip to Top Navigation Skip to Utility Navigation Skip to Search Skip to Left Navigation Skip to Content
  • Services
  • User Information
  • Get Help
  •  

    Middle East - Subject Guide

    Return to Subject Guide list
    Return to Sociology category
    Printer-friendly version
    Sections in this category: General Resources | Biographies | Dictionaries | Encyclopedias

    General Resources

    Africa Development Indicators
    Current Africa Development Indicators for download with access to statistics from 1965 to present. Have print (2002) Mortensen Library Reference HC800 .A475

    Hate Crimes
    Mortensen Library Reference HV6773.52 .S768 2003 Check Status

    Iran's Diverse Peoples: A Reference Sourcebook
    Documents the origins, evolution, and current status of all major ethnic groups in Iran.

    Quran (Koran, English Translation)
    The Koran, the holy scripture of Islam, is the record of Muhammad's oral teaching delivered between the years immediately preceding the Hegira in AD 622 and the Prophet's death in AD 632. This is a searchable English translation. Check Status

    Pop Culture Arab World! Media, Arts, and Lifestyle
    Explores how Arab pop culture has succeeded in helping forge a pan-Arab identity, where Arab nationalism has failed.

    Power and Succession in Arab Monarchies
    Provides an essential compendium of information regarding the politically charged issue of succession in Bahrain, Jordan, Kuwait, Morocco, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, and the United Arab Emirates.

    Reformist Voices of Islam: Mediating Islam and Modernity
    Introduces the current generation of moderate reformist thinkers and activists within Islam, the intellectual traditions they carry on, and the reasons why reformist movements have been overshadowed by fundamentalist, revolutionary, and jihadist movements in the Islamic world today.


    Biographies

    Biographical Dictionary of Modern Egypt
    Notable figures in modern Egyptian society.

    Biographical Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa
    Illuminates the lives of the most influential and controversial figures in the Middle East and North Africa who came to prominence during the twentieth and twenty-first centuries.


    Dictionaries

    A Dictionary of Diplomacy
    Includes entries on legal terms, political events, international organizations and major figures who have occupied the diplomatic scene.

    Dictionary of the Israeli-Palestinian Conflict
    Covers the history of the Arab-Israeli conflict from the birth of Zionism at the end of the 19th century. Covers five Arab-Israeli wars, and provides biographies of political personnel in Syria, Egypt, Iraq, Lebanon, Jordan, and the occupied territories.


    Encyclopedias

    Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World
    Looks at Islam's role in the modern world, doing so in the context of the religion's history and development over the last 13 centuries.

    Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East & North Africa
    Search the complete text of this 4 volume encyclopedia on the nations, cultures and peoples of the Middle East and North Africa. UofH only.

    Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa
    Each country in the region is reviewed, detailing its population, economy and government.

    Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace and Conflict
    Provides crucial and contemporary information about antagonism and reconciliation within both the public and private realms from violence and nonviolence toward the aged population to youth violence.

    The New Encyclopedia of Judaism
    Encyclopedia of all things Judaica.


    Broader Guides

    Related Guides

    Ask a Librarian

    Academic Search Premier
    Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

    FindArticles (Look Smart)
    Searches for articles in approximately 900 magazines and journals. Emphasis on trade publications. Text only - no graphic content available. Some articles available to subscribers or for a fee only.

    Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Search the tables of contents or full text of selected reference books in business, education, the environment, medicine biology, and the social sciences.

    Google Scholar
    Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

    Humanities Abstracts
    Strong resource index for all aspects of the Humanities including: Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology

    ProQuest Social Science Journals
    ProQuest Social Science Journals is a definitive resource for those who need access to a variety of social science journals. The database includes over 530 titles, with more than 300 available in full text.


    Broader Guides

    Related Guides

    Ask a Librarian

    Academic Info: Afghanistan Studies
    Extensive links to detailed resources on Afghan history and politics with frequent news updates.

    Aljazeera.Net
    English language reporting of Arab and world news, including both objective news reporting and opinion. Companion to Arabic satellite news channel.

    ArabNet
    Provides comprehensive business, political, and cultural information on Arab countries in the Middle East and North Africa. Impressive Quick Search capability by concept or keywords in each country link.

    Bank Information Center
    Information on the projects, policies and practices of the World Bank and other development banks. Includes publications and "toolkits" for those working with the banks. Multilingual.

    Foreign Government Resources on the Web (University of Michigan Library)
    Extensive list of links to foreign government information on the web, organized by geographical area.

    Internet Islamic History Sourcebook (Fordham University)
    Wide-ranging resource on Islamic history and culture with a wealth of primary documents and extensive supporting links.

    Internet Jewish History Sourcebook (Fordham University)
    Superb and comprehensive resource that features extensive full-text primary source documents for Jewish history and culture. Fine supporting links are also a plus in this impressive website.

    Islamic Heritage Project (Harvard University)
    Harvard University has cataloged, conserved, and digitized hundreds of Islamic manuscripts, maps, and published texts from Harvards renowned library and museum collections.


    Broader Guides

    Related Guides

    Ask a Librarian