Media and Telecommunications - Subject Guide
Return to Subject Guide list
Return to Communications category
Sections in this category:
The Advertising Red Books: Advertisers
Mortensen Library Reference HF5805 .A442
The Advertising Red Books: Agencies
Mortensen Library Reference HF5805 .A444
Annual Survey of Communication Services
Provides estimates of revenues and expenses for the US industry , based on mailed survey 1994-1998. Requires Adobe Acrobat.
Associated Press Stylebook and Briefing on Media Law
Mortensen Library Reference PN4783 .A83 2011
Broadcasting and Cable Yearbook
Mortensen Library Permanent Reserves HE8700.7.C6 B73
Century of American Icons: 100 products and slogans from the 20th century consumer culture
Mortensen Library Reference [HF6161.B4 C46 2002]
Mortensen Library Reference P87 .C5974
A Companion to Television
Mortensen Library Reference [PN1992.5 .C615 2005]
Crusaders, Scoundrels, Journalists: the Newseum's Most Intriguing Newspeople
Mortensen Library Reference PN4871 .C78 1999
Freedom of the Press: a Global Survey of Media Independence
Mortensen Library Reference PN4736 .F742
From Elvis to E-Mail: Trends, Events, and Trivia from the Postwar Era to the End of the Century
Mortensen Library Reference [E741 .D5 1999]
Internet and Personal Computing Fads
Mortensen Library Reference HM851 .B454 2004
Journalism: A Guide to the Reference Literature
Mortensen Library Reference Z6940 .C38 2004
Key Concepts in Radio Studies
Provides a comprehensive, easy-to-use introduction to the field of radio studies.
MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, 3rd Edition
Mortensen Library Reference LB2369 .G533 2008
Allen Library Writing Center LB2369 .G53 M53 2008
Opportunities in Commercial Art and Graphic Design Careers
Career Services Shelves NC1001.6 .G68 2004
Pop Culture Arab World! Media, Arts, and Lifestyle
Explores how Arab pop culture has succeeded in helping forge a pan-Arab identity, where Arab nationalism has failed.
Pop Culture China! Media, Arts, and Lifestyle
From the modernization of traditional theater to the traditional uses of modern technology, this book presents a guide to the emerging culture of a country that will inevitably become increasingly influential in coming years.
Pop Culture Germany! Media, Arts, and Lifestyle
Offers a concise, in-depth overview of the evolution and impact of German media, arts, lifestyles, and recreation, written with a historical perspective.
Pop Culture India! Media, Arts, and Lifestyle
Introduction to a diverse nation whose appetite for entertainment has led to some surprising twists and turns in recent history.
Pop Culture Latin America! Media, Arts, and Lifestyle
A survey of contemporary Latin American popular culture, covering topics that range from music and film to popular festivals and fashion.
Pop Culture Russia! Media, Arts, and Lifestyle
A revealing look at contemporary Russian popular culture, exploring the historical and social influences that make it unique.
Standard Rate and Data Service Consumer Media Advertising Source
Mortensen Library Reference HF5905 .S725
Television Program Master Index: Access to Critical and Historical Information on 1,927 Shows in 925 Books, Dissertations, and Journal Articles
Mortensen Library Reference PN1992.9 .D56 2003
What the People Want from the Press
Mortensen Library Reference PN4888.S6 S55 1997
World Radio TV Handbook
Mortensen Library Reference TK6540 .W67
O’Dwyer’s Directory of Public Relations Firms
Mortensen Library Reference HM263 .O37
Publishers, Distributors and Wholesalers of the United States
Mortensen Library Reference Z475 .P86
Censorship: a World Encyclopedia
Mortensen Library Reference Z657 .C393 2001
Encyclopedia of American Journalism
Mortensen Library Reference PN4855 .E53 2008
The Encyclopedia of Censorship
Mortensen Library Reference Z657 .G73 2005
Encyclopedia of Communication and Information
Mortensen Library Reference P87.5 .E53 2001
Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications
Explores the ways that editorial content - from journalism and scholarship to films and infomercials - is developed, presented, stored, analyzed, and regulated around the world.
Encyclopedia of New Media: an Essential Reference to Communication and Technology
Mortensen Library Reference QA76.575 .E5368 2003
Encyclopedia of Political Communication
Mortensen Library Reference JA85 .E64 2008
Encyclopedia of Television
Mortensen Library Reference PN1992.18 .E53 1997
Encyclopedia of Television News
Mortensen Library Reference PN4888.T4 E53 1999
Encyclopedic Dictionary of Semiotics, Media, and Communications
Mortensen Library Reference P87.5 .D36 2000
History of the Mass Media in the United States: An Encyclopedia
Mortensen Library Reference P92.U5 H55 1998
International Encyclopedia of Communications (Blackwell)
Mortensen Library Reference P87.5 .I58 2008
The Museum of Broadcast Communications Encyclopedia of Radio
Mortensen Library Reference PN1991.5 .M84 2004
Shakespeares After Shakespeare: An Encyclopedia of the Bard in Mass Media and Popular Culture
Mortensen Library Reference PR2880.A1 S48 2006
World Press Encyclopedia: a Survey of Press Systems Worldwide
Mortensen Library Reference PN4728 .Q53 2003
Sections in this category:
Career Opportunities in Computers and Cyberspace
Career Services Shelves QA76.25 .H46 2004
Career Opportunities in Journalism
Career Services Shelves PN4797 .B87 2007
Career Opportunities in Radio
Career Services Shelves HE8689.4 .F54 2004
Career Opportunities in Television and Cable
Career Services Shelves HE8700.4 .T39 2007
Career Opportunities in the Film Industry
Career Services Shelves PN1995.9.P75 Y34 2009
Career Opportunities in the Internet, Video Games, and Multimedia
Career Services Shelves TK5105.875.I57 T376 2007
Career Opportunities in the Visual Arts
Career Services Shelves N8350 .C53 2006
How to Pay for Your Degree in Journalism & Related Fields
Mortensen Library Reference LB2337.2 .S365 2008
Sections in this category:
Academic Search Premier
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.
Westlaw's Campus Research combines breadth of news and business information with superior depth in law-related information. Database includes major newspapers, legal research, and United States Laws, Codes and Statutes.
NOTE: You must turn of all Pop-up Blockers to properly download and print articles from this database.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Abstracts and selected full text of journals, books, conference proceedings, working papers, etc. Includes material from CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index, as well as additional sources.
Years Covered: 1936-Present
Comprehensive source of information about communication-related publications on a world-wide scale. Containing over 244,000 records, Communication Abstracts covers major journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create research and reference resource that encompasses the breadth of communication discipline and depth encompasses the breadth of the communication discipline.
Communication Complete (Comm. Abstracts and Comm. and Mass Media Complete)
Years Covered: 1936-
Combines the searching for Communication and Mass Media Complete with Communications Abstracts in one complete search screen. Unlock the best Communication information for ease of use.
Compendex (Engineering Village)
Years Covered: 1969-present
The Engineering Village Compendex is one of the most comprehensive engineering literature databases available to engineers.
Original, comprehensive reporting and analysis of issues in the news. Published 44 times each year, with each report covering a single issue in depth. Reports consist of background and chronology, assessment of the current situation, tables and maps, pro/con statements, and bibliographies of key resources. Html and pdf versions available. with reports published since 2001 in color. Includes full text.
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) database has abstracts of articles from over 775 journals. ERIC also indexes education research in books and contains a massive collection of ERIC documents, with full text online or in microfiche. (Univ. of Hartford has micro going back to 1980).
Note: A number of ERIC database full-text articles are currently unavailable because of some pre-2005 documents having personally identifiable information. ERIC is working to restore access to these documents. If you would like to request a PDF to be returned online, please fill out the Request a PDF form on the ERIC website.
Film & Television Literature Index
Bibliographic database covering all aspects of film and television theory, preservation, writing, production, technical aspects, and reviews. Abstracts with selected full text.
Film Literature Index
Years Covered: 1986-2001
Annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television (coverage from 1986-2001).
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.
Historical Hartford Courant
Fully searchable images of America's oldest continuously published newspaper, covering 1764 through 1922. Use ProQuest Newspapers for current (1992- ). No coverage is available between 1923 and 1991. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library. Full text available.
Historical New York Times
Full images of the complete New York Times from 1851 to 2002. Search by keyword, by date, etc. Images of specific articles or full pages available..
Years Covered: 2005 - Present
The IEEE Xplore digital library is a powerful resource for discovery and access to scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. Full Text Access may be limited to our journal subscriptions. Click on "What can I access?" link to see coverage.
JSTOR Arts and Sciences
Searchable full text of articles from selected scholarly journals in fields including area studies, anthropology, ecology, economics, education, history, language and literature, mathematics, philosophy, political sciences, sociology and statistics. No current issues available. Historical coverage varies, but database includes some titles from before 1950.
Psychology Complete from Ebsco (PsycINFO and PsycARTICLES)
Search PsycINFO and PsycARTICLES at the same time gaining expanded coverage and one stop for much of your Psychology search needs.
International, multilingual index with abstracts of articles, books, and selected dissertations in psychology. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.
SRDS (Standard Rate and Data Service)
Advertising rates and other information on publications, searchable by title, keyword, or "class." Access to Consumer Magazines and Television. On Campus Access Only.
Vanderbilt TV News Archive
Searchable database of abstracts of nightly television news broadcasts. ABC, CBS and NBS are covered since August 5, 1968, and a daily news program from CNN is available since 1995. Special broadcast reports covering significant events are included, as are selected broadcasts of ABC Nightline between March 24, 1980 and September 12, 1988 and all Nightline broadcasts since that date. Video of selected CNN broadcasts is available.
Downloading and viewing online video requires setting up a free account.
Video requires RealOne media player (free download available). Users may
borrow tapes of broadcasts by using a credit card.
Web Urbanist covers the collective life of our times through the lens of creative visual culture in the beating hearts of our cities. From urban design to individual homes, and subversive street graffiti to compelling works of gallery art, our authors scour the net to find the most innovative, compelling and cutting-edge artworks and designs in the world.
Westlaw's Campus Research
Westlaw's Campus Research combines breadth of news and business information with superior depth in law-related information. Database includes major newspapers, legal research, and United States Laws, Codes and Statutes. NOTE: You must turn of all Pop-up Blockers to properly download and print articles from this database.
Academic Info: Film Studies Gateway
Searchable directory of current college and research level internet resources, with priority given to digital collections and sites with unique content. Includes theory, genre study, world film, and film history sites.
Ad*Access (Duke University)
Images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in US and Canadian newspapers and magazines, 1911-1955. Main subject areas: Radio, television, transportation, beauty and hygiene, and World War II.
Advertising Media (admedia.org)
Paper describing and defining advertising media and discussing their audiences, uses, etc.
The Web Site of the weekly magazine and more industry news for advertising, the media and marketing.
American Memory Collections: Motion Pictures (Library of Congress)
Background information, essays, stills, biographies and bibliographies for each. Plug-in needed to view full movie.
Center for the Digital Future
A joint project of UCLA's Center for communication Policy and the Annenberg School for Communication at the University of Southern CA, dedicated to research on the structure and impact of mass media and new technology.
Centre for Computing and Social Responsibility
Information from an organization looking at the social and ethical impacts of information and communication technologies. See especially "Resources" for full reports and useful links.
Columbia Institute for Tele-Information (CITI)
Research center at Columbia University focusing on strategy, management and policy issues in telecommunications, computing and electronic mass media. Funded by the Sloan Foundation.
Designinform Research Guides
Links to websites in all types of design, architecture and art forms.
Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850-1920
9000 images, with database information, relating to the early history of advertising in the USA. Search across all or within individual categories. Timeline.
Federal Communications Commission (FCC)
Offers access to policy statements and legislation concerning regulation of media and telecommunications in the US.
Global Networking: A Timeline
Chronology - from cave paintings to IRC - of technological milestones in communications. Includes references and extensive bibliography.
Beta version of a search engine specifically pointed at IT sites. Includes news, reviews, downloads, etc.
Knight Digital Media Center
Designed to help journalists learn how to do multimedia reporting - combining text, photos, video, audio, web, etc. Includes tutorials on equipment and software, tips, and other guidelines. Joint project of the Graduate School of Journalism, UC Berkeley, and the USC Annenberg School for Communication.
Local TV News Media Project (University of Delaware)
Searchable video collection of local news broadcasts from the spring 1998, designed to assist analysis of content and coverage.
MCS: The Media and Communication Studies Site
One of the most extensive media and communications sites, with a main index and 20 categories of media subgroupings.
Online Communication Studies Resources: The University of Iowa
Extensive listing of all aspects of Communication studies from the University of Iowa
The Online Communicator
Annotated collections of links to practical information on film, video, audio, multimedia, writing for the media,etc.
Public/Private Intersections in New Media (Northeastern University Libraries)
Collaborative project intended to introduce students to key concepts in new media and examine related issues.
Recorded Sound Reference Center
Access the commercial and archival audio holdings of the Library of Congress, including its recorded sound catalog, online recordings, and NBC Radio Archive.
Continuously updated news, arranged by type of story.
SIMILE (Studies in Media and Information Literary Education)
Peer reviewed journal from the University of Toronto Press. Covers the broad subject of media literacy. Each article includes a feedback feature.
Television Production: A Comprehensive On-line Cybertext in Studio and Field Production
Online textbook of over 70 modules covering all aspects of television production.
Voice of the Shuttle
Extensive links to every variety of Web site in the humanities, law, political science, anthropology, business and media studies.
Voice of the Shuttle: Media Studies
Links to a multitude of resources on performers, directors, films and such special topics as film noir and the holocaust.
Will Yancy's Home Page
Comprehensive links to tax and accounting information. Maintained by a professor at Texas Christian University.
WISER - Wireless Information System for Emergency Responders
This web-based version of the system designed for emergency responders using PDA technology enables users to search for toxic substances by physical characteristics, symptoms of patients, and gives treatment information.
WWW Virtual Library
Distributed subject catalog. Megasite, constantly updated.