African Americans in the Visual Arts
Mortensen Library Reference N6538.N5 O86 2003
Career Opportunities in Art
Mortensen Library Reference N6505 .H35 2001
Career Opportunities in the Visual Arts
Career Services Shelves N8350 .C53 2006
Century of American Icons: 100 products and slogans from the 20th century consumer culture
Mortensen Library Reference [HF6161.B4 C46 2002]
A Companion to Television
Mortensen Library Reference [PN1992.5 .C615 2005]
Computer Graphics Companion
A comprehensive collection of articles written by selected specialists and spanning a wide range of topics and applications in computer graphics.
Myths & Legends
Myths and legends, with their fantastical settings and parade of exotic creatures and beautiful immortals, have inspired some of the most popular works in the National Gallery Collection.
National Directory of Arts Internships
Allen Library Reference [NX280 N3 2008] and more online
Opportunities in Commercial Art and Graphic Design Careers
Career Services Shelves NC1001.6 .G68 2004
Pop Culture China! Media, Arts, and Lifestyle
From the modernization of traditional theater to the traditional uses of modern technology, this book presents a guide to the emerging culture of a country that will inevitably become increasingly influential in coming years.
Art Index and the Art Index Retrospective
Years Covered: 1929-
Indexing of articles from over 270 international art publications. Provides users with Art Literature, covering fine, decorative and commercial art. Limited number of simultaneous users. Be sure to logout/exit before closing your browser.
Art Index Retrospective
Years Covered: 1929-1984
Provides users with Art Literature, covering fine, decorative and commercial art.
Years Covered: 1960-Present
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with more than 13,000 new entries being added each year. Entries date back as far as the late 1960s.
Searchable database of over 300,000 images from museums around the world, and covering a wide range of cultures and time periods. New material added frequently. Requires Java and Flash. Cookies and popups must be enabled.
See Quick Start Guide for technical information and basic searching guidance. Disable Pop Up Blocker before opening. Mac users must have OS 10.3 and use Firefox browser.
Google Art Project
Explore museums from around the world, discover and view hundreds of artworks at incredible zoom levels, and even create and share your own collection of masterpieces.
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.
Strong resource index for all aspects of the Humanities including: Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology
National Gallery Collection (London)
The National Gallery Collection is comprised of high definition images from the National Gallery, London. Each entry includes a description of the work along with its artist, medium, dimensions, acquisition credit, and date made
Oxford Art Online
Artists' biographies, essays on all cultures, civilizations, and art movements; articles on conservation and theory. A 720,000 item index includes all the visual arts with the exception of film. Links to related web resources and images. Full text available.
Web Urbanist covers the collective life of our times through the lens of creative visual culture in the beating hearts of our cities. From urban design to individual homes, and subversive street graffiti to compelling works of gallery art, our authors scour the net to find the most innovative, compelling and cutting-edge artworks and designs in the world.
Ad*Access (Duke University)
Images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in US and Canadian newspapers and magazines, 1911-1955. Main subject areas: Radio, television, transportation, beauty and hygiene, and World War II.
The Web Site of the weekly magazine and more industry news for advertising, the media and marketing.