The Cambridge Guide to Literature in English
Coverage of novelists, poets, playwrights, and their works embraces both the established classics of English literature and a wealth of contemporary figures from all over the English-speaking world.
Internet Ancient History Sourcebook
This site focuses on online texts, which, for the most part, means public domain texts translated more than 75 years ago. In many cases it is these older translations which are used in commercially available sourcebooks.
Middle English Dictionary
This electronic version of the MED preserves all the details of the print MED, but goes far beyond this, by converting its contents into an enormous database, searchable in ways impossible within any print dictionary.
Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics - Princeton
Comprehensive reference work dealing with all aspects of its subject: history, types, movements, prosody, and critical terminology. Prepared by recognized authorities, its articles treat their topics in sufficient depth and with enough lucidity to satisfy the scholar and the general reader alike.
Encyclopedia of the Hellenic World
The Encyclopaedia of the Hellenic World (EHW) is an original electronic project aiming at collecting, recording, documenting, presenting and promoting the historical data that testify to the presence of Hellenic culture throughout time and space.
Academic Search Premier
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.
Dictionary of Literary Biography
Lengthy, full text biographical and critical essays on world literary figures from all eras and genres. Limited number of simultaneous users. Be sure to close when finished searching.
Essay & General Literature Index with Retrospective
Years Covered: 1900-
Essay & General Literature offers access to tens of thousands of essays that are otherwise all but inaccessible. This resource also unlocks a wealth of information in thousands of collections and anthologies, making your library more valuable to researchers in a wide array of fields.
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.
Strong resource index for all aspects of the Humanities including: Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology
This site includes the full text of Aesop's Fables in the public domain. The fairy tales of Hans Christian Anderson, and the fables of both Ambrose Bierce and Jean De La Fontaine are also included in this rich site of children's literature.
Classical Myth: the Ancient Sources
Images, timelines, attributes, and sections of ancient texts all interlinked for a better sense of who those Greek and Roman gods in classical literature were. Indexed by Greek name only.
Folklore and Mythology Electronic Texts
Hundreds of fairy tales and legends are presented in this site. It is arranged alphabetically by title o r topic. The country of origin is listed, as well, for easy reference.
Geoffrey Chaucer (Harvard University)
Everything needed for a fuller understanding of the Canterbury Tales: A Chaucer biography; timeline; influenced and influencing authors; literary subjects; the author's language; cultural/social/scientific environment of the times.