Latin American History - Subject Guide
Return to Subject Guide list
Return to History category
Sections in this category:
Cambridge History of African and Caribbean Literature
Mortensen Library Reference PN841 .I74 2004
Companion to Hispanic Studies
Provides all the necessary introductory information on the subject and will be especially useful for students who have already started courses in Spanish / Hispanic Studies, or who are considering doing so in the future.
Companion to Latin American Studies
Covering all the possible topics, from colonial cultures and identity to US Latino culture and issues of race, gender and sexuality, this book situates Latin America in its historical, linguistic and cultural context.
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world
Early Civilizations in the Americas Reference Library
Provides a comprehensive overview of the history of the regions of the American continents in which two of the world's first civilizations developed: Mesoamerica (the name for the lands in which ancient civilizations arose in Central America and Mexico) and the Andes Mountains region of South America (in present-day Peru and parts of Bolivia, northern Argentina, and Ecuador).
Historical Companion to Postcolonial Literatures: Continental Europe and its Empires
Provides an integrated and authoritative body of information about the political, cultural and economic contexts of postcolonial literatures that have their provenance in the major European Empires of Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Italy, The Netherlands, Portugal, and Spain as well as places like Latin America and the Philippines.
Latin American Women Artists of the United States : the Works of 33 Twentieth-century Women
Mortensen Library Reference N6538.H58 H46 1999
Praeger Handbook of Latino Education in the U.S.
Focuses on this fight for equal educational access and represents a significant addition to American educational literature.
Concise Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature
Comprehensive resource on Latin American Literature.
Encyclopedia Latina: History, Culture, and Society in the United States
Mortensen Library Reference E184.S75 E587 2005
Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Art
Mortensen Library Reference N6502 .E53 2000
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.
Encyclopedia of Mexico: History, Society
Presents a processual view of Mexican history, society and culture from ancient civilizations to the present day.
Encyclopedia of Mexico: History, Society and Culture
Encompasses all of Mexican History.
Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450
Provides students and researchers with a much-needed, comprehensive resource on the subject of colonialism and expansion.
Encyclopedia of World Trade From Ancient Times to the Present
This is the definitive reference on the history of trade in all time periods. It traces the historical and contemporary interaction of trade, commerce, and culture in fascinating detail.
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Latino Literature
From East L.A. to the barrios of New York City and the Cuban neighborhoods of Miami, Latino literature, or literature written by Hispanic peoples of the United States, is the written word of North America's vibrant Latino communities. Emerging from the fusion of Spanish, North American, and African cultures, it has always been part of the American mosaic.
Mexico: An Encyclopedia of Contemporary Culture and History
Information about 20th and 21st century Mexico.
Academic Search Premier
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750
This new bibliographic database is a valuable index for libraries, scholars and individuals interested in European works that relate to the Americas. EBSCO Publishing, in cooperation with the John Carter Brown Library, has created this resource from “European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750,” the authoritative bibliography that is well-known and respected by scholars worldwide. The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.
History Reference Center
Offers full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.
Strong resource index for all aspects of the Humanities including: Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology
ProQuest Social Science Journals
ProQuest Social Science Journals is a definitive resource for those who need access to a variety of social science journals. The database includes over 530 titles, with more than 300 available in full text.
Repositories of Primary Sources
A listing of over 5000 websites describing holdings of manuscripts, archives, rare books, historical photographs, and other primary sources for the research scholar. All links have been tested for correctness and appropriateness.
World Digital Library (WDL)
The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, digital images of significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.
Sections in this category:
Ancient Mesoamerican Civilizations
Detailed resource devoted to ancient Maya, Mixtec, Zapotec and Aztec cultures. Excellent maps and graphic images.
Archives of American Art (Smithsonian Institution)
A repository of primary materials: letters, diaries, scrapbooks, catalogues,documentation of all kinds. Helpful "How to" box at the top of the screen to allow to search, question, etc.
Chicano/Latino research, linguistic minority and educational research efforts at the University of California.
Cuban Internet Resources
Searchable list of resources with information on Cuba and the Cuban Perspective. Most sites in Spanish, but many have English Language versions. Subjects vary widely.
Economic Commission for Latin American and the Caribbean (United Nations)
The public records of ECLAC, including press releases, speeches, and pdf versions of most publications. Available in Spanish and English.
European Voyages of Exploration (University of Calgary)
Thorough multimedia tutorial examining the economic, religious, political and cultural aspects of European exploration in the 15th and 16th centuries.
LANIC: Latin American Network Information Center (University of Texas)
An extensive database categorized by country and subdivided into 30 subject areas
Latin World: Latin America on the Net
Directory of internet resources on Latin America and the Caribbean. In English and Spanish.
The Online Source for Latin American Economies - News and commentary, economic briefings and forecasts, and economic indicators for the region and selected countries in Latin America.
Mystery of the Maya (Canadian Museum of Civilization)
Remarkable, beautifully presented site which provides a thorough introduction to Mayan history and culture. French and English versions available.
Organization of American States
Links to member countries and with special emphasis on political, economic, and social issues.
Political Database of the Americas (Georgetown University)
Provides documentary and statistical political information on Latin America. Searchable database and links to political parties, embassies, and consulates.
Repositories of Primary Resources
A listing of over 5000 websites describing holdings of manuscripts, archives, rare books, historical photographs, and other primary sources for the research scholar.
Latin American Music Center
This site includes many links to online resources about colonial music, composers, electronic music, organizations, performers, and discussion lists.