bab.la (Multi-Language Dictionary)
Free online platform for language lovers with 40 dictionaries for 28 languages, a language forum, vocabulary lessons, language games, quizzes, verb conjugation for 12 languages, phrase books for university, business or travel, an internship platform and many other language-related products.
Dictionary of Sociolinguistics
Provides a broad coverage of sociolinguistics, including macro- and micro-sociolinguistics and a range of approaches within variationist, interactional, critical and applied traditions.
Dictionary of Visual Discourse a Dialectical Lexicon of Terms
This substantial and ambitious dictionary explores the languages and cultures of visual studies. It provides the basis for understanding the foundations and motivations of current theoretical and academic discourse, as well as the different forms of visual culture that have come to organize everyday life.
Middle English Dictionary
This electronic version of the MED preserves all the details of the print MED, but goes far beyond this, by converting its contents into an enormous database, searchable in ways impossible within any print dictionary.
OED Online (Oxford English Dictionary)
Search the definitive dictionary of the English language, complete and continuously updated. Provides definitions, etymology, and history of usage with examples over time. UofH users only. Full text. Click "Check Status" for access.
The Penguin Rhyming Dictionary
Offers an astonishingly wide range of suggestions for rhyming words, from the common and everyday to the more difficult and obscure.
Academic Search Premier
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.
Dictionary of Literary Biography
Lengthy, full text biographical and critical essays on world literary figures from all eras and genres. Limited number of simultaneous users. Be sure to close when finished searching.
Essay & General Literature Index with Retrospective
Years Covered: 1900-
Essay & General Literature offers access to tens of thousands of essays that are otherwise all but inaccessible. This resource also unlocks a wealth of information in thousands of collections and anthologies, making your library more valuable to researchers in a wide array of fields.
Film & Television Literature Index
Bibliographic database covering all aspects of film and television theory, preservation, writing, production, technical aspects, and reviews. Abstracts with selected full text.
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.
Strong resource index for all aspects of the Humanities including: Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology
OED Online (Oxford English Dictionary)
Search the definitive dictionary of the English language, complete and continuously updated. Provides definitions, etymology, and history of usage with examples over time. UofH users only. Full text.
Electronic archive for papers in any area of Psychology, Neuroscience, and Linguistics, as well as portions of computer Science, Philosophy, Biology and other fields pertinent to the study of cognition.
Help for both students of English as a Second Language and their instructors. Lessons on grammar, pronunciations, business English and more. Lesson plans and ESL projects for faculty. Caution! British English!
Guide to Grammar and Writing
Basic searchable, detailed guide to sentence structure, punctuation, and more. Includes an online dictionary and thesaurus, web links for writers, and even an interactive grammar advice column.