Keyboard Music Subject Guide - University Libraries, University of Hartford
Skip to Top Navigation Skip to Utility Navigation Skip to Search Skip to Left Navigation Skip to Content
  • Services
  • User Information
  • Get Help
  •  

    Keyboard Music - Subject Guide

    Return to Subject Guide list
    Return to Music category
    Printer-friendly version
    Sections in this category: Harpsichord | Organ | Piano | Piano - Repertoire Lists

    Harpsichord

    Harpsichord and Clavichord Music of the Twentieth Century
    By Frances Bedford. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 H29 B43] Check Status

    Harpsichord and Clavichord: An Encyclopedia
    Edited by Igor Kipnis. Allen Library Reference [REF ML102 K5 H37] Check Status

    Makers of the Harpsichord and Clavichord, 1440-1840
    By Donald H. Boalch. Allen Library Reference [REF ML652 B73 M3] Check Status


    Organ

    Organ Literature: A Comprehensive Survey
    By Corlis Richard Arnold. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 O68 1995 v. 1-2] Check Status

    Organ Music in Print
    By Walter A. Frankel. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 O68 N & 1997 Suppl. & Index] Check Status

    Organ: An Encyclopedia
    Edited by Douglas E. Bush. Allen Library Reference [REF ML102 O68 B87] Check Status


    Piano

    The Art of the Piano
    By David Dubal Allen Library Reference [REF ML105 D81 A 2004] Check Status

    Notable Twentieth -Century Pianists
    By John Gillespie. Allen Library Reference [REF ML397 G54 v.1-2] Check Status

    Pianist's Dictionary
    By Maurice Hinson. Allen Library Reference [REF ML102 P5 H6] Check Status

    Piano Information Guide: An Aid to Research
    By Robert Palmieri. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 P5 P35] Check Status

    Piano: An Encyclopedia
    Edited by Robert Palmieri. Allen Library Reference [REF ML102 P5 P35] Check Status

    Twentieth -Century Piano Music
    By David Burge. Allen Library Stacks [ML707 B87 T84] Check Status


    Piano - Repertoire Lists

    Black Women Composers: A Century of Piano Music
    Edited by Helen Walker-Hill. Allen Library Stacks [M21 B61] Check Status

    Guide to Piano Music by Women Composers
    By Pamela Youngdahl Dees. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 P5 D44] Check Status

    Guide to the Pianist's Repertoire
    By Maurice Hinson. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 P5 H 2000] Check Status

    Music for More Than One Piano: An Annotated Guide
    By Maurice Hinson. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 P5 H6 M] Check Status

    Music for Piano and Orchestra: An Annotated Guide
    By Maurice Hinson. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 P5 H6 O 1993] Check Status

    One Handed: A Guide to Piano Music for One Hand
    By Donald L. Patterson. Allen Library Reference[ML128 P5 P37] Check Status

    Pianist's Guide to Transcriptions, Arrangements, and Paraphrases
    By Maurice Hinson. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 P5 H6 T] Check Status

    Piano in Chamber Ensemble: An Annotated Guide
    By Maurice Hinson. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 P5 H6 C] Check Status


    Sections in this category: Organ | Piano


    Below are call number ranges for areas within this topic. Use these call numbers to browse the library shelves when you have a general idea of what you want, but don't have a specific item in mind.

    Organ

    M6 - M19
    Solo organ (printed music)

    M180 - M181
    One or more organs, 2 or more players (printed music)

    M182 - M195
    Organ and 1 other instrument (printed music)

    M300 - M309
    Organ and 2 other instruments (printed music)

    M400 - M409
    Organ and 3 other instruments (printed music)

    M1005 - M1006
    Organ concertos [orchestra or keyboard acc.] (printed music)

    M1108 - M1109
    Organ concertos [string orchestra or keyboard acc.] (printed music)

    NOTE:
    For Organ and 4, 5, 6, 7, or 8 instruments, use M500 - M509, etc.

    ML416
    Organist biographies

    ML549.8 - ML595
    Books about history and construction

    MT180 - MT191
    Technique and method books


    Piano

    M20 - M39
    Solo piano (printed music)

    M200 - M212
    Piano, 3 or more hands (printed music)

    M213 - M216
    Two or more pianos (printed music)

    M217 - M285
    Piano and 1 other instrument (printed music)

    M310 - M344
    Piano and 2 other instruments (printed music)

    M410 - M449
    Piano and 3 other instruments (printed music)

    M1010 - M1011
    Piano concertos [orchestra or keyboard acc.] (printed music)

    M1110 - M1111
    Piano concertos [string orchestra or keyboard acc.] (printed music)

    NOTE:
    For Piano and 4, 5, 6, 7, or 8 instruments, use M510-M549, etc.

    ML417
    Pianist biographies

    ML649.8 - ML747
    Books about history and construction (including harpsichord and other pre-piano instruments)

    MT220 - MT255
    Technique and method books



    Search below titles here to find complete library holdings.
    Journal Title:
    Format:         

    American Organist

    Clavier

    Diapason

    International Musician

    Keyboard

    Keyboard Companion

    Organ

    Organ Yearbook

    Performance Practice

    Piano and Keyboard

    Piano Quarterly Review

    PianoToday



    Use these subject headings to search by general topic in our Library catalog. Copy the subject heading into the search box and use the drop down menu to search by "Subject". There are many more possible subjects than what we have listed here, but these should get you started.

    Concertos piano

    Keyboard instruments

    Piano ensembles

    Piano music

    Piano music 4 hands

    Piano music pianos 2

    Piano quartets
    [For piano, violin, viola, violoncello; for other combinations use: quartets piano]

    Piano quintets
    [For piano, 2 violins, viola, violoncello; for other combinations use: quintets piano]
    [Follow for sextets, septets, octets, nonets]

    Piano trios
    [For piano, violin, violoncello; for other combinations use: trios piano]

    Piano with . . .

    Sonatas piano

    Violin and piano music
    [Follow for other instruments with piano]


    American Guild of Organists
    Informations about competitions, positions available, instruments for sale, salary guide, and chapters.

    Harpsichord Clearing House
    Inventory of early keyboard instruments for sale in North America: harpsichords, clavichords, fortepianos, continuo organs, and more.

    International Piano Archives at Maryland
    IPAM is a major repository of piano recordings, books, scores, and related materials. Contains general information about the collection, as well as a listing of available publications and upcoming special events.

    Organ Historical Society
    Includes information about the organization and its conventions; available book, music, and audio publications; and historic pipe organs which can be visited.

    Piano Technicians Guild
    Information about registered technicians, piano services and technical facts, patents, manufacturers, etc.