Provides an exhaustive and organized overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to "Americana" and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures
Encyclopedia of Religion
Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture.
Academic Search Premier
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.
FindArticles (Look Smart)
Searches for articles in approximately 900 magazines and journals. Emphasis on trade publications. Text only - no graphic content available. Some articles available to subscribers or for a fee only.
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.
Strong resource index for all aspects of the Humanities including: Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology
American Jewish Historical Society
Scholarly resource with extensive collections (in excess of 40 million documents) and archival holding relating to American Jewish social, cultural, and religious life.
Jewish Music WebCenter
This site provides "a forum for gathering and presenting information on academic, organizational, and personal activities in Jewish music today." It includes links to research, festivals, publishers, places to study, organizations, featured sites, etc.
Jewish Virtual Library
Very well-organized and detailed cyber-library with an expanding wealth of Jewish topics and resources.
Links to libraries, educational resources, gopher and FTP sites of Jewish interest.
Judaism and Jewish Resources
An extensive annotated list of Jewish resources that are divided categorically. Jewish learning, communities, and libraries are well covered.
Labyrinth (Georgetown University)
Indispensable guide to the Medieval world online, with extensive links to texts, images, and archival databases. A truly extraordinary resource.
Scrolls from the Dead Sea (Library of Congress)
Selected images from the exhibition Scrolls from the Dead Sea: The Ancient Library of Qumran and Modern Scholarship can be viewed. The Qumran community, its historical importance, and the impact of the scrolls on contemporary Judaism and Christianity are also examined.
A Teacher's Guide to the Holocaust
An overview of the people and events of the Holocaust through text, documents, photographs, art, and literature. Relevant web links included for middle school and high school use.
US Holocaust Memorial Museum
Expanding website devoted to Holocaust Studies, with links to historic photographs and archival resources. Features full text of U.S. efforts to recover gold and other assets stolen in World War II.
Wide ranging news and subject resources about "The Jewish World from the Heart of Israel."
Virtual Religion Index (Rutgers University)
Designed "to advance research in matters of religion," this cybercatalog "analyzes and highlights important content of religion-related websites." Developed at the Rutgers University Department of Religion, its coverage of the Christian Tradition is exemplary.
This website is arranged in three main sections: reference, research and events. The Yiddish Studies Bibliography lists relevant scholarly literature in the field of Yiddish Studies.
"Online encyclopedia of Judaism, covering Jewish beliefs, people, places, things, language, scripture, holidays, practices and customs. Includes"A Gentile's Guide to the Jewish Holidays," which provides a "general understanding of ... your Jewish friends' and colleagues' holidays." Searchable and browsable.