The Fake Book Index (seventhstring)
Useful for identifying in which fake book a specific tune can be found. The library does not own all books listed on this site, however.
DownBeat.com
News and information about artists, festivals, albums, and more.
Jamey Aebersold Jazz, Inc.
Includes music, CDs, and DVDs for sale; an online forum for discussion of jazz issues; a calendar of workshops, performances, and clinics; and links to other sites.
Red Hot Jazz Archive
Includes comprehensive lists of musicians and bands that were active between 1895 and 1929. Includes essays, articles, and sound files.
Sax on the Web
This page is devoted to saxophone playing, mainly "classical" but some jazz styles as well.
African-American Sheet Music, 1850 -1920
This collection (searchable by subject, composer, publisher, illustrator, and title) provides access to digital images of 1,305 pieces of sheet music at Brown University dating from 1850 through 1920.
Gerry Mulligan Collection
This site includes selected manuscript scores and parts, recorded excerpts, and discographies.
Hoagy Carmichael Collection
The largest holding of Hoagy Carmichael materials (scores, manuscripts, correspondence, and recordings) in the world. It includes a complete catalog, access to digitized images, and supplemental research information.
Louisiana State Museum Jazz Collection
This site primarily deals with traditional New Orleans jazz. It focuses on photographs and audio recordings of musicians and bands primarily active in New Orleans, and musical instruments from the collections of the Louisiana State Museum.
Satchmo.Net
The Louis Armstrong House Museum at Queens College contains Armstrong's vast personal collection of photographs, papers, scrapbooks, commercial recordings, private recordings, memorabilia, and musical instruments. The web site includes a tour of the house, changing online exhibits, a biography, and a bibliography and discography.
William P. Gottlieb Collection
The William P. Gottlieb Collection, comprising over sixteen hundred photographs of celebrated jazz artists, documents the jazz scene from 1938 to 1948, primarily in New York City and Washington, DC
Jazz Music Library
Printer-friendly version