Italian Subject Guide - University Libraries, University of Hartford
Skip to Top Navigation Skip to Utility Navigation Skip to Search Skip to Left Navigation Skip to Content
  • Services
  • User Information
  • Get Help

    Italian - Subject Guide

    Return to Subject Guide list
    Return to Modern Languages and Culture category
    Printer-friendly version
    Sections in this category: General Resources | Dictionaries

    General Resources

    Opportunities in Overseas Careers
    Mortensen Library Shelves HF5549.5.E45 C32 2005 Check Status

    Dictionaries (Multi-Language Dictionary)
    Free online platform for language lovers with 40 dictionaries for 28 languages, a language forum, vocabulary lessons, language games, quizzes, verb conjugation for 12 languages, phrase books for university, business or travel, an internship platform and many other language-related products.

    Collins Italian Dictionary
    Complete and up-to-date coverage of all the words and phrases you need in Italian

    Google Scholar
    Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

    MLA Bibliography
    International index of books and journals. Covers modern languages, literature, linguistics, and folklore. For information about the periodicals included, consult the MLA Directory of Periodicals.

    Sections in this category: General Resources | Dictionaries

    General Resources

    The Decameron Web (Brown University)
    Enjoyable, well-produced website exploring the world of the Italian Renaissance through an examination of Boccaccio's masterpiece, The Decameron.

    Internet Resources for Italian (University of Sussex, UK)
    Italian and English-language sites providing information on Italian history, culture, and geography. Includes links to newspapers, online journals, and teaching resources.

    Enjoyable, broad-based site in Italian and English, with numerous art and popular culture links.

    Italian Language News and Magazines (MIT Libraries)
    Links to a wide variety of Italian magazines and newspapers.

    Voice of the Shuttle: Italian Literature (University of California, Santa Barbara)
    Excellent collection of Italian literature links ranging from early Italian poetry to contemporary literature and criticism

    Collins Dictionaries from HarperCollins, including English and bilingual.