Islam - Subject Guide
Return to Subject Guide list
Return to Religion category
Academic OneFile
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library. Updated daily.
Academic Search Premier
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.
FindArticles (Look Smart)
Searches for articles in approximately 900 magazines and journals. Emphasis on trade publications. Text only - no graphic content available. Some articles available to subscribers or for a fee only.
Google Scholar
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.
Humanities Abstracts
Strong resource index for all aspects of the Humanities including: Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology
Broader Guides
Related Guides
Aljazeera.Net
English language reporting of Arab and world news, including both objective news reporting and opinion. Companion to Arabic satellite news channel.
ArtPromote: Religion
Search for websites, images and other information for Religious images in Art
Internet Islamic History Sourcebook (Fordham University)
Wide-ranging resource on Islamic history and culture with a wealth of primary documents and extensive supporting links.
Intute: Islamic Studies
Search or browse the database of Islamic studies and resources.
Intute: Religion and Theology
An extensive annotated list of Internet resources for the study and teaching of theology. Includes clusters of links relating to biblical studies, the history of theology, contemporary theology, religions and denominations, among others.
Islamic Heritage Project (Harvard University)
Harvard University has cataloged, conserved, and digitized hundreds of Islamic manuscripts, maps, and published texts from Harvard’s renowned library and museum collections.
Islamic Studies (University of Georgia)
Superb website with detailed discussions and supporting links on Islam, Islamic culture, and current political issues.
Labyrinth (Georgetown University)
Indispensable guide to the Medieval world online, with extensive links to texts, images, and archival databases. A truly extraordinary resource.
NetSERF: The Internet Connection for Medieval Resources (Catholic University of America)
Enjoyable, well-organized site for all things medieval. Extensive links to museum collections, primary source documents, and image archives.
Religious Worlds
An excellent entry point for exploring the religious content of the Internet.
Virtual Religion Index (Rutgers University)
Designed "to advance research in matters of religion," this cybercatalog "analyzes and highlights important content of religion-related websites." Developed at the Rutgers University Department of Religion, its coverage of the Christian Tradition is exemplary.
Broader Guides
Related Guides