A-Z of Social Research
The A-Z is a collection of entries ranging from qualitative research techniques to statistical testing and the practicalities of using the Internet as a research tool. Alphabetically arranged in accessible, reader-friendly formats, the shortest entries are 800 words long and the longest are 3000. Most entries are approximately 1500 words in length and are supported by suggestions for further reading.
Companion to Hispanic Studies
Provides all the necessary introductory information on the subject and will be especially useful for students who have already started courses in Spanish / Hispanic Studies, or who are considering doing so in the future.
Companion to Latin American Studies
Covering all the possible topics, from colonial cultures and identity to US Latino culture and issues of race, gender and sexuality, this book situates Latin America in its historical, linguistic and cultural context.
Countries and Their Cultures
Presents the cultural similarities within a country that set it apart from others by examining over 200 countries to document the myriad ways in which culture defines and separates the nations of the world as much as geographical borders do.
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world
Handbook of North American Industry: NAFTA and the Economies of its Member Nations
Mortensen Library Reference HF1746 .H36 1998
Information Economy Report
Annual report for the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development, analyzing trends and issues regarding information and communication technologies and their use for, and effect on, trade and
Pop Culture China! Media, Arts, and Lifestyle
From the modernization of traditional theater to the traditional uses of modern technology, this book presents a guide to the emerging culture of a country that will inevitably become increasingly influential in coming years.
US Department of State: Human Rights Reports
The Country Reports on Human Rights Practices, released yearly by the US Department of State, was designed to give voice to those who have been denied the freedoms and rights provided in the Universal Declaration on Human Rights.
Greenwood Encyclopedia of International Relations
Using humanistic principles to strip away the jargon and narrowness inherent in much of modern-day political scholarship, this historical encyclopedia reclaims the breadth of vision, the privileging of factual evidence over theory, and the moral tenor prevalent in classical political inquiry
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
Highlights the expanding influence of economics in social science research and features new articles and biographies contributed by scholars from around the world on a wide array of global topics in the social sciences.
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library. Updated daily.
Academic Search Premier
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.
Westlaw's Campus Research combines breadth of news and business information with superior depth in law-related information. Database includes major newspapers, legal research, and United States Laws, Codes and Statutes.
NOTE: You must turn of all Pop-up Blockers to properly download and print articles from this database.
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750
This new bibliographic database is a valuable index for libraries, scholars and individuals interested in European works that relate to the Americas. EBSCO Publishing, in cooperation with the John Carter Brown Library, has created this resource from “European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750,” the authoritative bibliography that is well-known and respected by scholars worldwide. The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.
Strong resource index for all aspects of the Humanities including: Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology
Population Index on the Web
"Population Index" is the primary reference tool to the world's population literature. It presents an annotated bibliography of recently published books, journal articles, working papers, and other materials on population topics.
ProQuest Social Science Journals
ProQuest Social Science Journals is a definitive resource for those who need access to a variety of social science journals. The database includes over 530 titles, with more than 300 available in full text.
Westlaw's Campus Research
Westlaw's Campus Research combines breadth of news and business information with superior depth in law-related information. Database includes major newspapers, legal research, and United States Laws, Codes and Statutes. NOTE: You must turn of all Pop-up Blockers to properly download and print articles from this database.
World Bank Open Data
Vast collection of economic, social, population, and development data with no restrictions and at no cost.
INFOMINE: Scholarly Internet Resource Collections
Virtual library of over 10,000 academically oriented resources. Browse by subject or title in broad categories, or search using keywords or Library of Congress Subject Headings. Brief annotations link to detailed descriptions. Lots of cross-references.
Institute of Development Studies
Research on development issues. Includes links to research reports, a weekly newsletter, and information on publications (many online for free downloads).
Organization reporting on international corruption issues. Press releases, links to related news stories. The "Knowledge Centre" provides access to full text reports and to a continuously updated bibliography of related information.
US Department of State: Diplomatic List
This covers foreign missions (embassies, interest sections) in the United States. It contains the names of members of the diplomatic staffs of these missions and their spouses.
US Department of State: International Policy
Provides links to US foreign policy by region and country, as well as detailed analysis of global issues - economic trade practices, environmental concerns, counter terrorism, human rights. Archived prior to January 2001.
UNECE's Gender Statistics
The United Nations Economic Commission for Europe has posted comparative gender statistics from all of its member countries in a database that allows users to create their own tables by selecting relevant criteria. Also included are government policy statements and time use surveys.