International Studies- Humanities - Subject Guide
Return to Subject Guide list
Return to International Studies category
Sections in this category:
African Development Indicators
World Bank Statistical Information on Africa with other links to further information and data.
Canada's Diverse Peoples: A Reference Sourcebook
Comprehensive reference that takes readers on a chronological tour of Canada's ethnic history.
CIA World Factbook
Statistical information on every country of the world.
Companion to Hispanic Studies
Provides all the necessary introductory information on the subject and will be especially useful for students who have already started courses in Spanish / Hispanic Studies, or who are considering doing so in the future.
Companion to Latin American Studies
Covering all the possible topics, from colonial cultures and identity to US Latino culture and issues of race, gender and sexuality, this book situates Latin America in its historical, linguistic and cultural context.
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world
Eastern Europe an Introduction to the People, Lands, and Culture
A contemporary analysis of the people, cultures, and society within the regions that make up Eastern Europe.
The Edinburgh Encyclopaedia of Modern Criticism and Theory
Comprehensive guide to the history and development of criticism in the humanities.
Financial Times World Desk Reference
Gives a complete overview of the modern world with hundreds of maps, charts and diagrams, and facts and statistics on the world's nations.
Information Economy Report
Annual report for the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development, analyzing trends and issues regarding information and communication technologies and their use for, and effect on, trade and
Iran's Diverse Peoples: A Reference Sourcebook
Documents the origins, evolution, and current status of all major ethnic groups in Iran.
Nigeria's Diverse Peoples: A Reference Sourcebook
Explores the history of ethnic, regional and religious diversity in Nigeria.
Opportunities in Overseas Careers
Career Services Shelves HF5549.5.E45 C32 2005
South Africa's Diverse Peoples: A Reference Sourcebook
Traces the fascinating racial history of South Africa before, during, and after the apartheid years.
A Dictionary of Diplomacy
Includes entries on legal terms, political events, international organizations and major figures who have occupied the diplomatic scene.
Dictionary of Statistics & Methodology: A Nontechnical Guide to the Social Sciences
Mortensen Library Reference HA17 .V64 2005
Dictionary of World Philosophy
Covers the diverse and challenging terminology, concepts, schools and traditions of the vast field of world philosophy.
Britain and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History
Covers the close ties between Britain and the whole of the Americas, examining Britain's cultural and political legacy to the nations of the New World.
Encyclopedia of Nationalism: Fundamental Themes
Covers fundamental themes from Anthropology to Western Europe.
Encyclopedia of Nationalism: Leaders, Movements, and Concepts
covers leaders, movements, and key concepts of nationalism.
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East & North Africa
Search the complete text of this 4 volume encyclopedia on the nations, cultures and peoples of the Middle East and North Africa. UofH only.
Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450
Provides students and researchers with a much-needed, comprehensive resource on the subject of colonialism and expansion.
Encyclopedia of World Trade From Ancient Times to the Present
This is the definitive reference on the history of trade in all time periods. It traces the historical and contemporary interaction of trade, commerce, and culture in fascinating detail.
France and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History
Covers the impacts that French and American politics, foreign policy, and culture have had on shaping each country's identity.
Germany and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History
Details the close ties between the German-speaking world and the Americas.
Greenwood Encyclopedia of International Relations
Using humanistic principles to strip away the jargon and narrowness inherent in much of modern-day political scholarship, this historical encyclopedia reclaims the breadth of vision, the privileging of factual evidence over theory, and the moral tenor prevalent in classical political inquiry
Iberia and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History
Covers the reciprocal effects that the politics, foreign policy, and culture of Spain, Portugal, and the American nations have had on one another since the time of Columbus.
Ireland and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History
Covers the impact that Ireland and the nations of the Americas have had on one another since the time of Brendan the Navigator.
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library. Updated daily.
Academic Search Premier
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.
African Women's Bibliographic Database
English-language database contained over 35,000 citations from 1986 onward. The database indexes six types of materials: books and government documents; articles appearing in edited books; periodical and journal articles; Masters theses and Ph.D. dissertations as well as a few B.A. theses and honors papers; conference papers; and videocassettes.
Africana Periodical Literature Bibliographic Database
English-language database had indexed over 60,000 articles from over 500 English-language and multilingual journals and periodicals that specialize in African Studies or consistently cover the African continent.
European History Primary Sources
Index of scholarly websites that offer online access to digitized primary sources on the history of Europe.
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750
This new bibliographic database is a valuable index for libraries, scholars and individuals interested in European works that relate to the Americas. EBSCO Publishing, in cooperation with the John Carter Brown Library, has created this resource from “European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750,” the authoritative bibliography that is well-known and respected by scholars worldwide. The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.
Strong resource index for all aspects of the Humanities including: Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology
Labour Statistics (International Labour Organization: Laborsta Internet)
View and download data and metadata for over 200 countries or territories
Population Index on the Web
"Population Index" is the primary reference tool to the world's population literature. It presents an annotated bibliography of recently published books, journal articles, working papers, and other materials on population topics.
Sections in this category:
Background Notes (US State Department)
Periodically updated information on countries and international organizations.
Center for World Indigenous Studies
The Center for World Indigenous Studies website contains an extensive range of primary documents relating to issues of sovereignty, tribal law, human rights issues.
The European Union in the US
Access to publications, web sites and other information.
Flags of the World
Comprehensive collection of current and past world flags with graphic images and historical texts.
Foreign Consular Offices in the United States
Directory, by country, of consular offices, across the country. Also links to information about chanceries and embassies in Washington.
INFOMINE: Scholarly Internet Resource Collections
Virtual library of over 10,000 academically oriented resources. Browse by subject or title in broad categories, or search using keywords or Library of Congress Subject Headings. Brief annotations link to detailed descriptions. Lots of cross-references.
International Institute for Sustainable Development
News and publications on topics related to sustainable development, including international trade and investment, economic policy, climate change, and natural resource management.
The National Bureau of Asian Research
Conducts advanced independent research on strategic, political, economic, globalization, health, and energy issues affecting U.S. relations with Asia.
Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights
Information and publications from the principal UN official responsible for human rights.
Organization of American States
Links to member countries and with special emphasis on political, economic, and social issues.
Political Science Resources (University of Keele, UK)
Award-winning site which provides links to area studies, data archives, bibliographic tools, official government pages, and much more. A must.
Portals to the World (Library of Congress)
Carefully selected links to information on nations and other areas of the world.
State of World Population (United Nations)
Online version of annual reports focusing on special topics related to world population trends and problems.
Study Abroad Programs Directory
Background information as well as searchable databases of programs available.
Organization reporting on international corruption issues. Press releases, links to related news stories. The "Knowledge Centre" provides access to full text reports and to a continuously updated bibliography of related information.
WWW Virtual Library
Distributed subject catalog. Megasite, constantly updated.
International Council for Traditional Music
Site of the world organization that supports the study and practice of all musical traditions, including urban and popular music and dance, and music research and ethnomusicology.
Current information, primarily statistical, on countries around the world.
European Governments On-line
Links to official sites for members of the European Union as well as most other European nations.
Find statistics on regions and countries around the world, including cross national and historical comparison tables. Based on data from the CIA World Factbook.
OFFSTATS: Official Statistics on the Web
Links to sources of social, economic and general data. International list arranged by country and by topic.
Statistical Resources on the Web
Huge collection of links to statistical resources arranged by subject.