Human Resources and Organization - Subject Guide
Return to Subject Guide list
Return to Business and Economics category
Sections in this category:
General Resources
|
Careers
|
Dictionaries
|
Encyclopedias
General Resources
American Salaries and Wages Survey: Statistical Data Derived From More Than 200 Government, Business & News Sources
Mortensen Library Reference HD4975 .A447 2001
Check Status
Career Opportunities in Banking, Finance, and Insurance
Career Services Shelves HG173 .F55 2007 or Mortensen Library Reference HG173 .F55 2002
Check Status
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Searchable text of the standard source of information about employment prospects for specific fields. Published by US Bureau of Labor Statistics.
Peterson’s MBA Programs
Mortensen Library Reference HF1131 .P44
Check Status
Reader's Guide to the Social Sciences
Includes numerous entries in A-Z order, critically reviewing the literature on specific topics from abortion to world systems theory.
Working Americans, 1880-2005
Mortensen Library Reference [HD8066 .D47]
Check Status
Careers
The Best 237 Business Schools
Career Services Shelves HF1131 .G54 2006 and Mortensen Library Reference HF1131 .G54 2005
Check Status
Peterson’s MBA Programs
Mortensen Library Reference HF1131 .P44
Check Status
Dictionaries
Encyclopedias
Broader Guides
Related Guides
ABI/INFORM Complete
Thousands of the leading English language business and management journals. Full text and/or full image available for most articles after 1989. Indexing and abstracts from 1970. Also searches Hoover's Company Records for company and industry information. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.
Academic OneFile
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library. Updated daily.
Academic Search Premier
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.
American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries
One of two major business and career information databases offered by Uniworld: American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries may be searched by specific country, region, state, keyword, zip code, NAICS industry code, revenue and number of employees. Full text articles are available.
Business Insights: Essentials (Formerly Business and Company Resource Center)
Information on companies and industries, including full text articles, financials, analysts' reports, etc.
Campus Research
Westlaw's Campus Research combines breadth of news and business information with superior depth in law-related information. Database includes major newspapers, legal research, and United States Laws, Codes and Statutes.
NOTE: You must turn of all Pop-up Blockers to properly download and print articles from this database.
CareerSearch
Find information on potential employers. Includes public, private, not-for-profits, etc. Provided by the University of Hartford Career Center. Password information available from Mortensen Library Reference or Career Services. Apply in person. University ID required. Limited number of simultaneous users. Be sure to logout/exit before closing your browser.
Emerald Fulltext
Database of articles from approximately 200 journals covering business, management, and administration issues. Full text. Available in both PDF and HTML formats.
FindArticles (Look Smart)
Searches for articles in approximately 900 magazines and journals. Emphasis on trade publications. Text only - no graphic content available. Some articles available to subscribers or for a fee only.
Foreign Firms Operating in the United States
One of two major business and career information databases offered by Uniworld. Foreign Firms Operating in the United States may be searched by specific country, region, state, keyword, zip code, NAICS industry code, revenue and number of employees. Full text available.
Global Financial Data
LOGIN as ANONYMOUS to use full database or create your own user name and password to save searches, etc. Global Financial Data provides accurate, verified financial data and statistics. Compiled from original sources, the GF Database is an online collection of more than 20,000 data series, which span decades or even centuries of information, and cover more than 200 countries. It is accessible anytime, anywhere 24 hours a day. Offers daily close data for US stocks, daily stock market histories begin as early as 1962 for major US stocks, and delivers original end-of-day trading values for individual United States stocks. PLEASE NOTE: There is a 20 person seat limit. So please, LOGOUT, to end your session properly.
Google Scholar
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.
ProQuest Health Management
Find complete, full-text information from leading publications covering all aspects of health administration, including public health and safety, hospitals, finance, personnel management, insurance, population studies, labor relations and law.
Uniworld
Contains two major business and career information databases: American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries and Foreign Firms Operating in the United States. Search either database by specific country, region, state, keyword, zip code, NAICS industry code, revenue and number of employees. Full text available.
Westlaw's Campus Research
Westlaw's Campus Research combines breadth of news and business information with superior depth in law-related information. Database includes major newspapers, legal research, and United States Laws, Codes and Statutes. NOTE: You must turn of all Pop-up Blockers to properly download and print articles from this database.
Broader Guides
Related Guides
Sections in this category:
General Resources
|
Statistics
|
Statistics- International
|
Statistics- United States
General Resources
ADA Home Page (US Dept of Justice)
Americans with Disabilities Act regulations and technical assistance documents as well as other information to assist business in complying with the law.
Affirmative Action and Diversity Project: A Web Page for Research
Model resource which explores diverse opinions on affirmative action topics. Extensive coverage of Proposition 209 debates in California with links to policy documents, news reports, editorials pro and con.
Bullying in the Workplace (Canada Safety Council)
Defines and describes the problem of workplace bullying, and presents statistics and psychological profiles on the perpetrators and their targets. Includes related links, including to US and UK sites.
Business and Management (intute)
Part of an even larger Social Science Information Gateway, this massive list provides carefully selected and annotated links. British slant. Searchable.
The Conference Board
Access to the most recent economics statistics and other information published by this business organization
Consortium for Research on Emotional Intelligence in Organizations
Research related to EI topics, including self-awareness, optimism and empathy in the workplace. Includes links to full text of reports, information about model programs, a bibliography and links to related sources.
CUErgo (Cornell University Ergonomics Web)
Faculty and student research focused on enhancing usability by improving the ergonomic design of hardware, software, and workplaces.
Disability Information and Resources
This directory of resources for the disabled includes links to fact sheets about spinal cord injuries and disabling conditions, books, resources for equipment, support groups, travel information, and government sources.
Employment and Disability (Catherwood Library, Cornell)
Carefully selected and annotated links to information for disabled workers and for employers.
Employment Policy Foundation
Advocacy group providing economic analysis and other research on employment and workplace policies such as family leave, pension plans, etc.
Entrepreneur.com
Variety of information for entrepreneurs, aimed at growing their businesses.
Entrepreneurship.org
Variety of information for entrepreneurs, aimed at growing their businesses.
Frequently Asked Questions about Benefits
Short, graphical answers to common questions about major benefit issues and trends. Includes links to more detailed data. From the Employee Benefit Research Institute.
Human Resource Professional's Gateway to the Internet
Includes listservs. Covers recruiting, company info, as well as a broad range of HR related info.
Human Resources (Yahoo)
Searchable collection of links in all areas of HR
Human Resources and the Internet (Catherwood Library, Cornell University)
Large collection of carefully selected links, arranged by topic. Includes government, associations, statistics, listservs, etc.
Knowledge @ Wharton (University of Pennsylvania)
Bi-Weekly e-zine for the latest in business. Includes interviews, current res4earch, conference reports, book reviews. Free registration is required.
Minority Business Development Agency
Resources to support the growth of minority owned businesses in the US. Includes business listings, online resources, statistics, etc. From US Department of Commerce.
Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA, U.S. Dept. of Labor)
Information about the agency's programs and services. Full text of selected publications. Links to related sites.
OSH.net
Links to a wide variety of information sources on all aspects of occupational safety and health issues.
The Salary Calculator
Compare cost of living in US and international cities by entering a salary earned in one city and to calculate what salary would have the same buying power in another.
Sexual Harassment Resources
This annotated list of resources on sexual harassment covers sites from the US government and military, educational institutions, and professional organizations. Topics included are date rape, cyberstalking, and hostile work environments, among others.
SHRM Online
Searchable collection of information from the Society for Human Resource Management.
Sloan Work and Family Research Network (Boston College)
Resources designed to support researchers, policy analysts, business leaders and others interested in work and family issues.
Telework (US Department of Labor and Office of Personnel Management)
Studies presented at an October 2000 symposium, providing "the most comprehensive review of the literature on telework now available."
US Equal Employment Opportunity Commission
Information about employment discrimination, including enforcement, information for small business, how to file a charge, etc.
Working Women (AFL-CIO)
Advocacy, statistics, links, etc. on issues of special interest to working women.
Statistics
Statistics- International
Statistics- United States
Broader Guides
Related Guides