Bridgeman History of Science
Images range from military surgery to medical instruments throughout the ages. Scientific scenes and subjects cover personalities, equipment, inventions, processes and portraits of important pioneers. The range also encompasses astronomy, charts, diagrams, geology and the medicine and science of world cultures and ancient civilisations.
Cambridge Handbook of Age and Ageing
Provides comprehensive, accessible and authoritative accounts of all the key topics in the field ranging from theories of ageing, to demography, physical aspects of ageing, mental processes and ageing, nursing and health care for older people, the social context of ageing, cross cultural perspectives, relationships, quality of life, gender, and financial and policy provision.
Career Opportunities in Biotechnology and Drug Development
Career Services Shelves TP248.2 .F737 2008
Career Opportunities in Health Care
Mortensen Library Reference R690 .F54 2002
Career Opportunities in Health Care
Career Services Shelves R690 .F54 2007 or Mortensen Library Reference R690 .F54 2002
Child Abuse: Law and Policy Across Boundaries
Mortensen Library Reference K5189 .H69 2007
Complete Health Resource - UXL
Covers the causes symptoms, diagnoses, tests, treatments and prognoses of health problems; the main systems of the human body, including the circulatory system, the endocrine system, special senses and much more; and a detailed examination of nutrition, and medical and mental health issues.
Criminal Poisoning: an Investigational Guide for Law Enforcement, Toxicologist, Forensic Scientists, and Attorneys
Mortensen Library Reference RA1228 .T74 2007
Death, Dying and the Ending of Life
Mortensen Library Reference R726 .D4413 2007
Domestic Violence and Child Abuse Sourcebook: Basic Consumer Health Information About Spousal/Partner, Child, Sibling, Parent, and Elder Abuse ...
Mortensen Library Reference HV6626.2 .D66 2000
West Nile Virus
West Nile virus had never been seen in the Western Hemisphere before 1999. Now, it's everywhere in the United States. Find out more about this new health threat and what's being done about it.
World of Microbiology and Immunology
Addresses current ethical, legal and social issues with special emphasis given to biological warfare and terrorism. Topical and biographical entries are alphabetically arranged and cross-referenced.
Youth violence and delinquency : monsters and myths
Mortensen Library Reference HV9104 .Y6854 2007
The American Heritage Medical Dictionary
Provides students, health care professionals, and general consumers interested in medical vocabulary with a comprehensive reference that reflects the most recent developments in medicine and health care delivery.
Encyclopedia of Aging
Encompasses all aspects of aging, covering a variety of disciplines including biology, medicine, economics, law psychology, sociology and history, and also explores related issues such as religion, spirituality, and ethics.
Encyclopedia of Applied Developmental Science
Mortensen Library Reference HQ767.84 .E52 2005
Encyclopedia of Population (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Search two volumes of the 2003 Encyclopedia, providing up-to-date coverage of demographic issues and the broad topic of population studies, including population growth, low fertility rates, support for aging populations, environmental impact of dense population, etc. UofH only.
Encyclopedia of Science (Gale)
Covers all major areas of science, engineering, technology, as well as mathematics and the medical and health sciences, while providing a comprehensive overview of current scientific knowledge and technology.
Encyclopedia of the Human Brain
Covering anatomy, physiology, neuropsychology, clinical neurology, neuropharmacology, evolutionary biology, genetics, and behavioral science, this encyclopedia contains peer reviewed signed articles from experts around the world.
Encyclopedia of the Human Genome
Presenting a comprehensive and rigorously detailed overview of current research and its groundbreaking applications, this major reference work examines many peripheral topics surrounding the field such as ethics and the law, medicine and public health, history, religion and industry.
Encyclopedia of Women's Health
Informed by current health issues and health-care realities, the Encyclopedia offers readers practical information, historical aspects, and future directions, all meticulously researched and conveniently presented.
Thousands of the leading English language business and management journals. Full text and/or full image available for most articles after 1989. Indexing and abstracts from 1970. Also searches Hoover's Company Records for company and industry information. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library. Updated daily.
Academic Search Premier
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.
Alcohol Studies Database
This database contains citations of over 55,000 documents indexed by the Rutgers University Center of Alcohol Studies. The database focuses on scholarly and professional materials on beverage alcohol, its use and related consequences.
Westlaw's Campus Research combines breadth of news and business information with superior depth in law-related information. Database includes major newspapers, legal research, and United States Laws, Codes and Statutes.
NOTE: You must turn of all Pop-up Blockers to properly download and print articles from this database.
Online chemistry and biology reference database. Must set up FREE account in order to use.
CINAHL with Full Text
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature with links to selected full text articles. Indexes English language journals, books, dissertations, standards, research instruments, etc. Includes cited references. Selected items include abstracts. Offered to the University of Hartford through iconn.
Original, comprehensive reporting and analysis of issues in the news. Published 44 times each year, with each report covering a single issue in depth. Reports consist of background and chronology, assessment of the current situation, tables and maps, pro/con statements, and bibliographies of key resources. Html and pdf versions available. with reports published since 2001 in color. Includes full text.
Dartmouth Atlas of Healthcare
For more than 20 years, the Dartmouth Atlas Project has documented glaring variations in how medical resources are distributed and used in the United States. The project uses Medicare data to provide information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as hospitals and their affiliated physicians.
Dissertations and Theses Abstracts + Full Text
Describes over 2 million dissertations from institutions around the U.S. (and some international), with citations from 1861 to the present. Includes full text for many of the Humanities and Social Sciences dissertations as well as most UH dissertations 1997-present. Many of the other dissertations are available through interlibrary loan .
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) database has abstracts of articles from over 775 journals. ERIC also indexes education research in books and contains a massive collection of ERIC documents, with full text online or in microfiche. (Univ. of Hartford has micro going back to 1980).
Note that a number of ERIC database full-text articles are currently unavailable. The Education Resources Information Center is working to restore access to these documents. If you would like to request a PDF to be returned online, please email ERICRequests@ed.gov with the record number, title, and link.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Search the tables of contents or full text of selected reference books in business, education, the environment, medicine biology, and the social sciences.
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.
Health and Wellness Resource Center
Professional and consumer health information. Includes journals, reference sources, web links, pamphlets, etc. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library. Full text available.
Health Reference Center Academic
Multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources in InfoTrac's award-winning Health Reference Center. All in a single, easy-to-use database, the material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.
Database of articles primarily in the sciences, including from Medline. Includes both freely accessible and subscription only titles. UofH does not subscribe.
Household Products Database
Learn about what's in general household products, about potential health effects, and about safety and handling of these materials.
JSTOR Life Sciences Collection
Searchable full text of articles from selected scholarly journals in life sciences. No current issues available. Historical coverage varies, but database includes some titles from before 1950. Access to this database is made possible by Elisabeth R. Swain, PhD Endowment. Once you are in JSTOR, you are searching all of the University of Hartford owned JSTOR products.
Years Covered: 1840-Present
Comprehensive database of international literature, covering every aspect of medicine and healthcare. Accessible through two services. If one is busy, try another. Abstracts available.
National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine
The National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (NCCAM) is the Federal Government's lead agency for scientific research on complementary and alternative medicine (CAM). NCCAM sponsors and conducts research using scientific methods and advanced technologies to study CAM. CAM is a group of diverse medical and health care systems, practices, and products that are not presently considered to be part of conventional medicine. Full text is available.
PEDro (The Physiotherapy Evidence Database)
Abstracts of randomized controlled trials and systematic reviews in physiotherapy. Most include quality ratings to assist in justifying validity and interpretability. Includes link to a Tutorial. Provided by the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy, and maintained at the University of Sydney.
Research in primatology, covering ecology, biology, psychology, health sciences and other fields. Citations of articles in journals dating since 1940. Managed by the Wisconsin Primate Research Center, with funding from the National Institutes of Health. Bibliography.
ProQuest Biology Journals
The database includes over 300 biology titles, with more than 265 available in full text. ProQuest Biology Journals includes some of the most popular information resources for users in academic, government, and public research environments.
ProQuest Health Management
Find complete, full-text information from leading publications covering all aspects of health administration, including public health and safety, hospitals, finance, personnel management, insurance, population studies, labor relations and law.
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source
Find complete, full-text information from leading nursing, allied health, and related publications. Designed to meet the needs of researchers at health-care facilities as well as students enrolled in nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions.
ProQuest Psychology Journals
ProQuest Psychology Journals™ provides abstracts and indexing for more than 615 titles, with over 520 titles available in full text. Both students and mental-health professionals get access to charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to psychological research from top psychology and related publications.
Years Covered: 1894-
PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains approximately 150,000 articles from over 70 journals published by the APA, and its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychology Association and Hogrefe Publishing Group.
International, multilingual index with abstracts of articles, books, and selected dissertations in psychology. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.
Comprehensive database of international literature, covering every aspect of medicine and healthcare. Accessible through two services. If one is busy, try another. Abstracts available with limited full text.
Free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journals, maintained by the US National Institutes of Health. Some journals do not include current issues. Digitization program underway to build complete back files. Full text available.
Search engine for the sciences and selected social sciences. Includes both web sources and citations from journals indexed by selected databases. Journal citations may include links to full text (where the Libraries subscribe) or to ordering options (credit card required) for full text.
Smoking and Health Resource Library (CDC)
Contains abstracts of articles from medical and professional journals; books and book chapters; dissertations; reports; conference proceedings and conference papers; government documents from federal, state, local, and foreign entities; fact sheets and policy documents from U.S. and international nonprofit organizations; and other documents.
SPIN (InfoEd International)
Searchable database of funding opportunities. Continuously updated. "Jump to GENIUS" to create a custom profile for updates. Made available by Office of Grants and Contracts, University of Hartford.
Westlaw's Campus Research
Westlaw's Campus Research combines breadth of news and business information with superior depth in law-related information. Database includes major newspapers, legal research, and United States Laws, Codes and Statutes. NOTE: You must turn of all Pop-up Blockers to properly download and print articles from this database.
Global science gateway—accelerating scientific discovery and progress through a multilateral partnership to enable federated searching of national and international scientific databases and portals.
Use these subject headings to search by general topic in our Library catalog. Copy the subject heading into the search box and use the drop down menu to search by "Subject". There are many more possible subjects than what we have listed here, but these should get you started.
Access Excellence @ the national health museum
This searchable site provides biology teachers access to "colleagues, scientists, and critical sources of new scientific information". Teaching tips, classroom activities, and graphics are among the resources offered.
Search engine for all 26 of Annual Reviews' products with table of contents and abstracts.
Autism Information Center
Essential information about Autism and Autism Spectrum Disorders for the Center for Disease Control and Prevention.
General information about autism. Links include book lists and lists of other web sites, as well as information for parents.
Autism Society of America (ASA)
Links to general information about autism, as well as news, conference information, and resources for families with autistic children.
Site includes general information about autism symptoms, treatment and research, as well as links to recent publications.
Bioethics Internet Project (U. of Pennsylvania)
The Center for Bioethics contains timely special reports, an extensive virtual library, and a Bioethics for Beginners Website with educational tools to help students learn more about what bioethics means and how to engage in bioethics research.
Provides rapid identification and reporting of research in biological sciences and clinical medicine. Provides service for authors wishing to publish research reports using either full peer-review process or a pre-print non-peer-reviewed deposition.
Site acts as a clearing house for the exchange of information for anyone interested in or living with AIDS or HIV.
Dewey Decimal subject based links to Web sites, concentrating on academic and research oriented sites. Selective rather than inclusive. Search engine also available.
Easy to understand medical information. Site has information regarding insurance, support groups, causes, treatment, and prevention.
Cancer Genome Anatomy Project
National Cancer Institute has established CGAP to utilize interdisciplinary research teams to achieve a comprehensive molecular characterization of normal, precancerous, and malignant cells.
Chemical Scorecard (Environmental Defense Fund)
Find information regarding type of chemicals released and the health risks associated. National ranking of polluters, maps locating toxic polluters by town, county and state, and includes regulatory controls.
Disability Information and Resources
This directory of resources for the disabled includes links to fact sheets about spinal cord injuries and disabling conditions, books, resources for equipment, support groups, travel information, and government sources.
A database listing most brand name and generic drug products approved by the Food and Drug Administration since 1939, including prescription and over-the-counter human drugs currently approved for sale in the U.S., as well as discontinued drugs.
Search or browse by subject through a carefully selected range of sites.
The End of Life: Exploring Death in America
Covers a number of very real issues surrounding the experiences of death and dying. Site includes transcripts, bibliography, resources. A feedback section allows users to add their own death story to the page.
Environmental Diseases from A to Z
Beyond the "alphabet diseases" is a site rich with suggested lesson plans, grades k-12, in environmental diseases, their causes, and some preventative measures.
Food Safety - CDC
Food-related diseases affect tens of millions of people and kill thousands. Tracking single cases of foodborne illness and investigating outbreaks are critical public health functions in which CDC is deeply involved.
Official site of the National Human Genome Research Institute.
Gero Nurse Online (Geriatric Nursing)
the official geriatric nursing Web site of the American Nurses Association (ANA). It was developed through the Nurse Competence in Aging initiative, to provide information regarding nursing care of older adults.
Healthcare Employment Links
Impressive collection of links to employment information in the healthcare industry, including management and scientists as well as clinicians, doctors, nurses, and other healthcare professionals.
A gateway to selected federal and nonfederal health information resources. Its intention is to organize and identify reliable consumer-level health information.
Comprehensive text book on HIV disease. Additional chapters will be posted. Clearinghouse for AIDS related information for practitioners, patients, and others. Includes resources, social issues, state statistics, US map. Searchable.
Guide to issues of life threatening illness. Addresses psychological, spiritual, and practical concerns of dying.
Human Anatomy Online
Interactive anatomy of ten systems of the human body: muscular, digestive, skeletal, endocrine, lymphatic, cardiovascular, nervous, reproductive (male and female), and urinary. Users must enable Java in their browser to use the site.
INFOMINE: Scholarly Internet Resource Collections
Virtual library of over 10,000 academically oriented resources. Browse by subject or title in broad categories, or search using keywords or Library of Congress Subject Headings. Brief annotations link to detailed descriptions. Lots of cross-references.
Partnership of Aetna with the Harvard Medical School and Columbia University College of Dental Medicine provides quality consumer health care information including access to articles on various health issues.
Internet Addiction Guide
In this article, John M. Grohol, Psy. D., presents "an objective source of information about Internet addiction, overuse, and pathology online.
Lesbian and Gay Aging Issues Network (LAIN)
This site quotes works to raise awareness about the special challenges that lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) elders face as they age, and about the unique barriers these often invisible populations encounter in gaining access to housing, healthcare, long-term care and social services."
Freely provides the highest quality health information and education services created and evaluated by faculty at partner universities.
NIDA: National Institute of Drug Abuse
Ensuring the rapid and effective dissemination and use of the results of that research to significantly improve prevention and treatment and to inform policy as it relates to drug abuse and addiction.
NLM Locator Plus
Search the catalog of the National Library of Medicine. Also links to Medline.
This USDA web site contains information about nutrition, food safety, consumer information, healthy eating, and physical activity. Users can perform basic and advanced searches, browse topics by subject, and view news.
This site focuses on providing information and news on issues related to diet and nutrition and how they influence human health.
Comprehensive, peer reviewed, international resource for professionals in obstetrics and gynecology, the medical industry, and the women they serve.
Comprehensive information compiled by the National Institutes of Health, on avian flu and the dangers of a worldwide flu pandemic.
Population Services International
Site provides country fact sheets explaining health problems addressed by PSI. Includes recent health research and evaluation, employment and internship opportunities.
Gateway to hundreds of sources of information in all areas of science. Arranged in broad subject categories. Searchable. Updated daily with science news.
Searchable gateway to science and technology information from US government science agencies. Information available in fields including pure and applied sciences, health sciences, and science education.
Access hundreds of high-quality Web sites. One time user registration is required, but site is free to use.
The Source: Autism Asperger's Syndrome
This site, maintained by ASPEN of America, provides up-to-date and comprehensive information on social and communication disorders, with particular focus on Asperger Syndrome and Nonverbal Learning Disorder. Included are a calendar of events in the US and Canada and a Reference Room including bibliographies of books, articles, audiotapes and videotapes.
Organization devoted to AIDS prevention in youth. Resources available on this site include a glossary of HIV/AIDS related terms, content in 14 languages, interactive forums, blogs, and personal stories from teens. TeenAIDS.org uses teen volunteers to help promote AIDS awareness and prevention in that age group.
ToxMap: Environmental Health e-Maps
Interactive, searchable maps linked to data from the EPA's Toxics Release Inventory and the Superfund National Priorities List. Maintained by the National Library of Medicine.
USP (US Pharmacopeia)
Searchable database of descriptions, precautions and side effects of over 750 generic drugs. Contains information on standard development for drugs and dosage, accidental poisoning, understanding medications, tampering tips, etc.
A detailed collection of anatomical images and surgical techniques.
Site presents seven real autopsies that allow user to click through the autopsy and arrive at cause of death. Clinical case histories and images with descriptions of various organs and system are provided.
Visible Human Project
Digitized images of male and female human cadavers which are scanned using CAT and MRI techniques.
Web of Addictions
Provides information about alcohol and other drug addictions. Includes a collection of fact sheets, links to other net resources, conference calendar, special topics, and a help "desk.
Offers more than 1,900 images with texts and self-directed tutorials on various topics in basic pathology.
Web Site for Internal Medicine
Meta site of selective annotated internal medicine topics. Includes selected articles from Annals of Internal Medicine and ACP Observer.
CURE: Connecticut's BioScience Cluster
Information, news, employment links, etc. on an organization linking private and public organizations involved in bioscience research and development in Connecticut.
National Statistics (UK)
Key statistics for the UK with selected figures for regions. Supplied by the Government Statistical Services, with links to other governmental departments, and related web sites.
Vital Statistics of the United States
Tables break down data on births, birth rates, and fertility rates by race, age, state and region, residency status, marital status and other indicators. Many tables include data from previous years some back to 1909.