Key Concepts in Public Health
Identifies key concepts used across the discipline of public health in order to give the reader a broad perspective of the core topics relevant to training and practice.
The American Heritage Medical Dictionary
Provides students, health care professionals, and general consumers interested in medical vocabulary with a comprehensive reference that reflects the most recent developments in medicine and health care delivery.
Dictionary of Health Insurance and Managed Care
Mortensen Library Reference RA413 .D53 2006
Check Status
Dictionary of Medical Terms
This dictionary provides the user with the basic vocabulary - from A to zymotic - currently being used in a wide range of healthcare situations.
Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary
significant number of health-care terms, including abbreviations, medication names, and biographies of medical pioneers, includes pronunciations
Webster's New World Medical Dictionary
Invaluable resource that will help you make sense of confusing medical jargon, prepare for a doctor visit, or research treatment options.
Encyclopedia of Health and Aging
Mortensen Library Reference RA777.6 .E534 2007
Check Status
Encyclopedia of Medicine (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Search the full five volumes of the 2nd edition (2002) encyclopedia which presents information on medical disorders and concepts. Each article presents causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and related topics. UofH only.
Medical Encyclopedia Index
Part of the University of Maryland's Medical Reference section. Available in both English and Spanish.
ABI/INFORM Complete
Thousands of the leading English language business and management journals. Full text and/or full image available for most articles after 1989. Indexing and abstracts from 1970. Also searches Hoover's Company Records for company and industry information. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.
Academic OneFile
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library. Updated daily.
Academic Search Premier
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.
Campus Research
Westlaw's Campus Research combines breadth of news and business information with superior depth in law-related information. Database includes major newspapers, legal research, and United States Laws, Codes and Statutes.
NOTE: You must turn of all Pop-up Blockers to properly download and print articles from this database.
CINAHL with Full Text
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature with links to selected full text articles. Indexes English language journals, books, dissertations, standards, research instruments, etc. Includes cited references. Selected items include abstracts. Offered to the University of Hartford through iconn.
Google Scholar
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.
Health and Wellness Resource Center
Professional and consumer health information. Includes journals, reference sources, web links, pamphlets, etc. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library. Full text available.
Health Reference Center Academic
Multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources in InfoTrac's award-winning Health Reference Center. All in a single, easy-to-use database, the material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.
MEDLINE
Years Covered: 1840-Present
Comprehensive database of international literature, covering every aspect of medicine and healthcare. Accessible through two services. If one is busy, try another. Abstracts available.
ProQuest Health Management
Find complete, full-text information from leading publications covering all aspects of health administration, including public health and safety, hospitals, finance, personnel management, insurance, population studies, labor relations and law.
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source
Find complete, full-text information from leading nursing, allied health, and related publications. Designed to meet the needs of researchers at health-care facilities as well as students enrolled in nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions.
PubMed (MEDLINE)
Comprehensive database of international literature, covering every aspect of medicine and healthcare. Accessible through two services. If one is busy, try another. Abstracts available with limited full text.
PubMed Central
Free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journals, maintained by the US National Institutes of Health. Some journals do not include current issues. Digitization program underway to build complete back files. Full text available.
Smoking and Health Resource Library (CDC)
Contains abstracts of articles from medical and professional journals; books and book chapters; dissertations; reports; conference proceedings and conference papers; government documents from federal, state, local, and foreign entities; fact sheets and policy documents from U.S. and international nonprofit organizations; and other documents.
Westlaw's Campus Research
Westlaw's Campus Research combines breadth of news and business information with superior depth in law-related information. Database includes major newspapers, legal research, and United States Laws, Codes and Statutes. NOTE: You must turn of all Pop-up Blockers to properly download and print articles from this database.
Use these subject headings to search by general topic in our Library catalog. Copy the subject heading into the search box and use the drop down menu to search by "Subject". There are many more possible subjects than what we have listed here, but these should get you started.
Medical Subject Headings
Explanation of NLM's (Medline/Pubmed) MESH Subject Headings, how they work and how to use them.
AcademyHealth
Organization connecting health services researchers, health policymakers, and health providers. Includes publications and links to additional resources
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (HHS)
Background, research, news, statistics, etc. from the federal agency that administers Medicare and Medicaid. Formerly Health Care Financing Administration (HCFA)
The Commonwealth Fund
Research, publications, and other information from a health care policy group. Includes extensive related links.
The End of Life: Exploring Death in America
Covers a number of very real issues surrounding the experiences of death and dying. Site includes transcripts, bibliography, resources. A feedback section allows users to add their own death story to the page.
Healthcare Employment Links
Impressive collection of links to employment information in the healthcare industry, including management and scientists as well as clinicians, doctors, nurses, and other healthcare professionals.
Hospice Net
Guide to issues of life threatening illness. Addresses psychological, spiritual, and practical concerns of dying.
Hospital Compare
Patient Survey driven information collected by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services.
Institute for Healthcare Improvement
Organization working to improve the quality of healthcare in the U.S. Provides courses, sponsors conferences and research, includes links to related resources.
KaiserEDU
Resource for health policy analysis and information. Includes reference bibliographies, modules focusing on various policy issues, tutorials, and a syllabus library created by health policy professors
American Hospital Directory
Selected data on hospitals that treat Medicare patients. Data supplied by HCFA. More comprehensive information available only to (fee paying) subscribers.
State Health Facts Online (Kaiser Family Foundation)
Single state or comparative data on demographics, health policy and financing, insurance coverage, legislation, etc. Also provides access to research conducted by the K.F.F.