Feminism in Literature: A Gale Critical Companion
Topics covered include misogyny and women's social roles in ancient civilizations, 16th-century women's devotional literature, 17th- and 18th-century women's captivity narratives, the women's suffrage movement in 19th-century America, women writers of the "Lost Generation," lesbian literature, and much more.
Trends in Educational Equity of Girls & Women
This report examines "the extent to which males and females have access to the same educational opportunities." It gives data, primarily from NCES surveys, involving 44 indicators of equality in education opportunities, success, and outcomes.
Women Artists in the United States: a Selective Bibliography and Resource Guide on the Fine and Decorative Arts, 1750-1986
Mortensen Library Reference N6536 .W65 1990
Academic Search Premier
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.
African Women's Bibliographic Database
English-language database contained over 35,000 citations from 1986 onward. The database indexes six types of materials: books and government documents; articles appearing in edited books; periodical and journal articles; Masters theses and Ph.D. dissertations as well as a few B.A. theses and honors papers; conference papers; and videocassettes.
Essay & General Literature Index with Retrospective
Years Covered: 1900-
Essay & General Literature offers access to tens of thousands of essays that are otherwise all but inaccessible. This resource also unlocks a wealth of information in thousands of collections and anthologies, making your library more valuable to researchers in a wide array of fields.
FindArticles (Look Smart)
Searches for articles in approximately 900 magazines and journals. Emphasis on trade publications. Text only - no graphic content available. Some articles available to subscribers or for a fee only.
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.
Strong resource index for all aspects of the Humanities including: Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology
ProQuest Social Science Journals
ProQuest Social Science Journals is a definitive resource for those who need access to a variety of social science journals. The database includes over 530 titles, with more than 300 available in full text.
Women Working, 1870-1930
Focuses on women's role in the United States economy and provides access to digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard University's library and museum collections.
Web site providing resources and suggestions of action to combat negative and distorted images of women in the media. Archive of images from magazines, billboards, TV and newspapers.
African American Women Writers of the 19th Century
A collection of 52 works by African American women reproduced digitally by the Schomburg Center of the New York Public Library. Included are poetry, fiction, biography, autobiography and essays. Searchable by author, title, genre, and keywords in the text.
American Women's History: A Research Guide
A clearly organized research guide providing links to biographical and reference sources, indexes of state and regional history resources, and a subject index. Information on finding primary sources, books , articles and theses is available.
Business Women's Network Interactive
The goal of this site is to provide "women with the real tools for financial success." This site serves business women, women entrepreneurs, and companies marketing to professional women with career information, a news and features section, information about conferences, meetings and seminars, updates on publications and a BWN directory.
A Celebration of Women Writers
Biographical information and links to many full text works of women writers in all fields from every country and historical period, from 3000 B.C. to the present. Searchable by name, date, country or ethnicity
EVE (Ecofeminist Visions Emerging) Online is an important site for the international ecofeminist community providing essays on the subject and links to other related sites as well as a bibliography of important books.
Five College Archives Digital Access Project
A developing digital archive of more than 24,000 items dealing primarily with women's history and the history of women's education at the Five Colleges(Amherst, Hampshire, Mount Holyoke, Smith, UMASS). The materials are primarily textual documents, handwritten manuscripts and printed publications.
GenderNet (World Bank)
Information about programs run by the World Bank designed to reduce gender disparities and enhance women's participation in economic development. Includes statistics, policy documents, and links to related sites.
Labyrinth (Georgetown University)
Indispensable guide to the Medieval world online, with extensive links to texts, images, and archival databases. A truly extraordinary resource.
Lesbian and Gay Aging Issues Network (LAIN)
This site quotes works to raise awareness about the special challenges that lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) elders face as they age, and about the unique barriers these often invisible populations encounter in gaining access to housing, healthcare, long-term care and social services."
The National Women's Hall of Fame
The National Women's Hall of Fame seeks to increase the awareness of women's contribution to American history and culture and their struggle for equal rights. This site contains the biographies of the inductees, an extensive bibliography of women's resources and a history of the First Women's Rights Convention held in Seneca Falls.
National Women's History Project
This site is sponsored by a nonprofit organization that started the drive for Women's History Month. Its goal is to promote awareness of women's history. Links are provided to speakers and performers, events and celebrations, and other women's history sites . Includes a timeline of women's history.
Sexual Harassment Resources
This annotated list of resources on sexual harassment covers sites from the US government and military, educational institutions, and professional organizations. Topics included are date rape, cyberstalking, and hostile work environments, among others.
Voice of the Shuttle
Extensive links to every variety of Web site in the humanities, law, political science, anthropology, business and media studies.
Women in World History Curriculum
This site primarily is geared toward introducing the concept of women's studies in middle school and high school world history classes. Although this is a commercial site, many of the entries have free sample activities for the unit.
Women's Human Rights Resources
Searchable web site covering twenty-six women's issue s including education, feminist theory and political rights. Each topic area has three sections: articles; documents; some full text and links to other sources.
Women's Legal History Biography Project
A collection of biographical papers by students at Stanford University Law School. The subjects include living and historic women lawyers. The site includes an index to the profiles, articles, research leads, bibliographies, photographs, and links to other sources.
Connecticut Women's Hall of Fame
This sites provides biographical information on Connecticut women, past and present, who have "broken new ground." It honors the achievements of these women who are considered leaders in their fields.
UNECE's Gender Statistics
The United Nations Economic Commission for Europe has posted comparative gender statistics from all of its member countries in a database that allows users to create their own tables by selecting relevant criteria. Also included are government policy statements and time use surveys.