Mortensen Library Reference PN6727.W52 F343 2013
Myths & Legends
Myths and legends, with their fantastical settings and parade of exotic creatures and beautiful immortals, have inspired some of the most popular works in the National Gallery Collection.
Myths and Legends of the Celts
Myths and Legends of the Celts is a fascinating and wide-ranging introduction to the mythology of the peoples who inhabited the northwestern fringes of Europe - from Britain and the Isle of Man to Gaul and Brittany.
The Oxford Guide to Classical Mythology in the Arts, 1300-1990s
Mortensen Library Reference NX650.M9 R45 1993
Chambers Dictionary of the Unexplained
Alien abductions, bleeding trees, crop circles, phantom funerals and mysterious showers of fish all feature in this uniquely wide-ranging and balanced guide to unexplained phenomena.
Academic Search Premier
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.
Essay & General Literature Index with Retrospective
Years Covered: 1900-
Essay & General Literature offers access to tens of thousands of essays that are otherwise all but inaccessible. This resource also unlocks a wealth of information in thousands of collections and anthologies, making your library more valuable to researchers in a wide array of fields.
FindArticles (Look Smart)
Searches for articles in approximately 900 magazines and journals. Emphasis on trade publications. Text only - no graphic content available. Some articles available to subscribers or for a fee only.
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.
History Reference Center
Offers full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.
Strong resource index for all aspects of the Humanities including: Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology
ProQuest Social Science Journals
ProQuest Social Science Journals is a definitive resource for those who need access to a variety of social science journals. The database includes over 530 titles, with more than 300 available in full text.
This site includes the full text of Aesop's Fables in the public domain. The fairy tales of Hans Christian Anderson, and the fables of both Ambrose Bierce and Jean De La Fontaine are also included in this rich site of children's literature.
Retells American folktales, Native American myths and legends, tall tales and more. Indexed by state, ethnicity, and character.
Classical Myth: the Ancient Sources
Images, timelines, attributes, and sections of ancient texts all interlinked for a better sense of who those Greek and Roman gods in classical literature were. Indexed by Greek name only.
Folklore and Mythology Electronic Texts
Hundreds of fairy tales and legends are presented in this site. It is arranged alphabetically by title o r topic. The country of origin is listed, as well, for easy reference.
Grimms' Fairy Tales
Twelve Grimms brothers fairy tales are presented in the unvarnished versions that are close to the German folklore tradition. This visually appealing site also provides biographical information about the Grimms and links to other appropriate sites.
"Guaranteed Kidsafe", this site is appropriate for students and teachers wit h an interest in Greek mythology. It provides summaries of myths based on the ancient texts, lesson plans for teachers, and an Illustrated Encyclopedia of Greek Mythology.