European/Russian History - Subject Guide
Return to Subject Guide list
Return to History category
Sections in this category:
Brewer's Britain and Ireland
A browsable heritage tour of many places and place-names in Britain and Ireland.
The Companion to British History, Routledge
Guide to British History.
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world
Eastern Europe an Introduction to the People, Lands, and Culture
A contemporary analysis of the people, cultures, and society within the regions that make up Eastern Europe.
The Former Soviet Union's Diverse Peoples: A Reference Sourcebook
Guide to understanding the history of the ethnic diversity of the former Soviet Union and the current ethnic issues of the region.
The Former Yugoslavia's Diverse Peoples: A Reference Sourcebook
Exploration of the ethnic history of the former Yugoslavia traces the roots of the conflicts that convulsed the region in the 1990s.
Historical Companion to Postcolonial Literatures: Continental Europe and its Empires
Provides an integrated and authoritative body of information about the political, cultural and economic contexts of postcolonial literatures that have their provenance in the major European Empires of Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Italy, The Netherlands, Portugal, and Spain as well as places like Latin America and the Philippines.
Myths and Legends of the Celts
Myths and Legends of the Celts is a fascinating and wide-ranging introduction to the mythology of the peoples who inhabited the northwestern fringes of Europe - from Britain and the Isle of Man to Gaul and Brittany.
Reader's Guide to British History
Secondary material on British history from Roman times to present day.
World Eras. Industrial Revolution in Europe, 1750-1914
Provides in-depth coverage of the Industrial Revolution in Europe, 1750-1914.
World War II Reference Library
Provides background and information on major topics about the World War II period, biographies of significant men and women involved in the war, and primary sources such as full or excerpted speeches, diary entries, newspaper accounts and other original documents.
Britain and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History
Covers the close ties between Britain and the whole of the Americas, examining Britain's cultural and political legacy to the nations of the New World.
The Encyclopaedia of the Renaissance
World history during the Renaissance period.
Encyclopedia of the Romantic Era, 1760-1850
Analytical articles pertaining to the Romantic era.
Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450
Provides students and researchers with a much-needed, comprehensive resource on the subject of colonialism and expansion.
Encyclopedia of World Trade From Ancient Times to the Present
This is the definitive reference on the history of trade in all time periods. It traces the historical and contemporary interaction of trade, commerce, and culture in fascinating detail.
France and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History
Covers the impacts that French and American politics, foreign policy, and culture have had on shaping each country's identity.
Germany and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History
Details the close ties between the German-speaking world and the Americas.
Iberia and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History
Covers the reciprocal effects that the politics, foreign policy, and culture of Spain, Portugal, and the American nations have had on one another since the time of Columbus.
Ireland and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History
Covers the impact that Ireland and the nations of the Americas have had on one another since the time of Brendan the Navigator.
Science in the Enlightenment: An Encyclopedia
Guide to key scientific trends, discoveries, and personalities in science from 1600 to 1820.
Welsh Academy Encyclopaedia of Wales
Everything is contained within the covers of this magnificent book: Snowdonia to the pampas of Patagonia, the ancient bards to the super-modern Super Furry Animals, folk heroes to Welsh Olympians, and the men and women of Wales who have excelled in art, culture, commerce and politics.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures & Daily Life—Volume 4: Europe
Mortensen Library Reference GN333 .W67 1998 v.4
Africa and the West: A Documentary History from the Slave Trade to Independence
Mortensen Library Reference DT353.5.E9 A34 2001
Academic Search Premier
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.
Essay & General Literature Index Retrospective
Years Covered: 1900-1984
Essay & General Literature Retrospective offers access to tens of thousands of essays that are otherwise all but inaccessible. This resource also unlocks a wealth of information in thousands of collections and anthologies, making your library more valuable to researchers in a wide array of fields.
European History Primary Sources
Index of scholarly websites that offer online access to digitized primary sources on the history of Europe.
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750
This new bibliographic database is a valuable index for libraries, scholars and individuals interested in European works that relate to the Americas. EBSCO Publishing, in cooperation with the John Carter Brown Library, has created this resource from “European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750,” the authoritative bibliography that is well-known and respected by scholars worldwide. The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.
History Reference Center
Offers full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.
Strong resource index for all aspects of the Humanities including: Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology
ProQuest Social Science Journals
ProQuest Social Science Journals is a definitive resource for those who need access to a variety of social science journals. The database includes over 530 titles, with more than 300 available in full text.
Repositories of Primary Sources
A listing of over 5000 websites describing holdings of manuscripts, archives, rare books, historical photographs, and other primary sources for the research scholar. All links have been tested for correctness and appropriateness.
World Digital Library (WDL)
The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, digital images of significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.
Sections in this category:
American Memory Project (Library of Congress)
Superb collection of American historical links, plus prints, photographic images, and other excellent graphics.
Avalon Project - The International Military Tribunal for Germany
Primary sources from the Nurenburg Trials.
The Avalon Project (Yale Law School)
Provides digital primary documents in political and legal history. A rich and expanding resource which includes Jefferson's presidential papers and letters, the Hague Conventions Laws of War, the Nuremberg Trial Proceedings and much more.
Bank Information Center
Information on the projects, policies and practices of the World Bank and other development banks. Includes publications and "toolkits" for those working with the banks. Multilingual.
Britannia: Sources of British History
Excellent resource for full text primary documents in British history: the Laws of William the Conqueror, the Magna Carta, the Charter of St. Patrick, and much more.
A Cybrary of the Holocaust
Text and image resources which emphasize the moving accounts of Holocaust survivors.
The Decameron Web (Brown University)
Enjoyable, well-produced website exploring the world of the Italian Renaissance through an examination of Boccaccio's masterpiece, The Decameron.
End of Europe's Middle Ages (University of Calgary), The
Detailed resource on late European Medieval history summarizing the economic, political, religious and intellectual environment of the fourteenth and
The English Renaissance in Context
Access the full text of the original versions of major works of the English Renaissance, or work through multimedia, interactive tutorials offering background and contextual material on four Shakespearean plays (Romeo and Juliet, Merchant of Venice, Richard III, King Lear). Other tutorials on book production of the period.
EuroDocs (Brigham Young University Library)
Links to Western European (mainly primary) historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated.
European Voyages of Exploration (University of Calgary)
Thorough multimedia tutorial examining the economic, religious, political and cultural aspects of European exploration in the 15th and 16th centuries.
First Europe Tutorial (University of Calgary)
Excellent multidisciplinary resource examining the political, social, religious, and cultural dimension of the transition from the Roman to Early European worlds.
The Florence Art Guide
Explore Florence monuments, museums, historic periods, artists and images through its indexes, check current events, schedules, travel, and all sorts of tourist information.
Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies
Archive of a collection of videotaped interviews with witnesses and survivors. Some excerpts are online.
The Galileo Project (Rice University)
Information on the life and work of Galileo and the science of his time. "Resources" includes a searchable database of 16th and 17th century scientists, a bibliography, and an extensive collection of web links.
The Holocaust History Project
Extensive archive of documents, photographs, recordings, and essays regarding the Holocaust.
Internet Jewish History Sourcebook (Fordham University)
Superb and comprehensive resource that features extensive full-text primary source documents for Jewish history and culture. Fine supporting links are also a plus in this impressive website.
Intute - Social Sciences
Search or browse the database of social sciences resources.
Irish History WWW Resources
The emphasis is on modern Irish history in this impressive, carefully crafted site. Well-chosen links to genealogy resources, Irish political party homepages, primary documents, and Irish women's studies.
Les Trés Riches Heures du Duc de Berry
All 201 pages of one of the most beautiful illuminated manuscripts in existence are reproduced here. The images and many details may be greatly enlarged.
The Nizkor Project
This website seeks to combat Holocaust revisionism through extensive use of primary resource documents, war crime trial transcripts, and eyewitness testimonies.
Repositories of Primary Resources
A listing of over 5000 websites describing holdings of manuscripts, archives, rare books, historical photographs, and other primary sources for the research scholar.
Russian Language and Literature Resources (University of Pittsburgh)
Language, literature, and cultural resources on Russian, Slavic, and non-Slavic cultures from REESWeb.
US Holocaust Memorial Museum
Expanding website devoted to Holocaust Studies, with links to historic photographs and archival resources. Features full text of U.S. efforts to recover gold and other assets stolen in World War II.
Victoria Research Web: Victorian Resources
Studies in 19th century British history and literature.
World War I Document Archive (Brigham Young University Library), The
Extensive primary documents archive of the Great War, including conventions, treaties, personal reminiscences, WWI image archive, and a biographical dictionary.
World War I: Trenches on the Web
Detailed, well-crafted website exploring all aspects of the Great War. Great graphics include maps and photo archives.