While there is significant discussion of the non-renewable resources now used to meet the majority of the world's energy needs (oil, coal and natural gas), the primary focus of the set is on newer options to meet the ever-growing demand.
American Environmental Leaders: From Colonial Times to the Present
A comprehensive and diverse, award-winning collection of biographies of the most important figures in American environmentalism. As our environment changes, and environmental concerns become more and more prevalent, this encyclopedia provides much-needed information on the key players in the environmental movement.
Career Opportunities in Conservation and the Environment
Career Services Shelves S945 .G74 2008
Career Opportunities in Science
Career Services Shelves Q147 .E33 2008
Discusses development of renewable energy sources such as wind, solar, and geothermal power.
Environmental Issues: Essential Primary Sources
Each title contains approximately 175 full or excerpted documents---speeches, legislation, magazine and newspaper articles, essays, memoirs, letters, interviews, novels, songs, and works of art---as well as overview information that places each document in context.
Field Guide to Rivers of North America
Describes North America's most significant rivers in a reader-friendly, concise format. The guide is organized by geographic regions - each section begins with a map showing the relationship of rivers within one territory and a summary of the region's most important elements
Discusses the many negative effects of rising temperatures on earth, and prevailing theories on what is causing the rise.
Living Planet Report (WWF)
Report analyzes environmental data in conjunction with global consumption patterns to calculate the cumulative effect humankind has on the earth's ecosystem. Enhanced site requires Macromedia Flash and RealPlayer.
Mortensen Library Reference [Index/Absts.] TD172 .P65
Princeton Guide to Ecology
Covers everything from the fundamentals of ecology to its applications to conservation biology, climate change and implications for ecosystems, as well as general problems of managing the biosphere and fisheries management. There also are several chapters on ecological economics, a new and rapidly developing field that examines the interplay between ecology and economics.
Rivers of North America
Exploratory guide to the physical, chemical, biological, and environmental aspects of North America's rivers.
Encyclopedia of Ecotourism
Includes definitions and other contextual material, regional perspectives, venues, impacts, planning and management considerations, and issues associated with ecotourism businesses, research and training.
Encyclopedia of Energy
Provides easily accessible information about all aspects of energy, with articles written by leading international authorities, from Acid Deposition and Energy Use to World History and Energy
Encyclopedia of Population (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Search two volumes of the 2003 Encyclopedia, providing up-to-date coverage of demographic issues and the broad topic of population studies, including population growth, low fertility rates, support for aging populations, environmental impact of dense population, etc. UofH only.
Encyclopedia of Science (Gale)
Covers all major areas of science, engineering, technology, as well as mathematics and the medical and health sciences, while providing a comprehensive overview of current scientific knowledge and technology.
Encyclopedia of Water Science - UXL
Topics covered include lakes and streams, oceans, aquatic animals, weather and climate, glaciers, wetlands, ecology, hydropower, commercial fishing, acid rain, recreation, pollution, economics, water conservation, international water law, global warming and much more.
Color photographs and maps provide further illustrate the many species threatened by extinction, including amphibians, birds, crustaceans, fish, insects, mammals, mollusks, reptiles, and more.
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library. Updated daily.
Academic Search Premier
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.
One of the world's largest and most accessible agricultural information collections and serves as the nexus for a national network of state land-grant and U.S. Department of Agriculture field libraries.
Covers all disciplines related to the region including biological and geological sciences, medical sciences, meteorology, oceanography, atmospheric and terrestrial physics, expeditions, logistics equipment and supplies, and tourism.
Applied Science and Technology Index
Indexing of articles from over 400 English language journals covering technical fields, including engineering, computer science, mathematics, chemistry, physics, etc. Limited number of simultaneous users. Be sure to logout/exit before closing your browser.
Bibliography on Cold Regions Science and Technology
Includes references to scientific and engineering research related to material and operations in a winter battlefield, the nature and impact of cold on facilities and activities, cold-related environmental problems, and the impact of human activity on cold environments.
Original, comprehensive reporting and analysis of issues in the news. Published 44 times each year, with each report covering a single issue in depth. Reports consist of background and chronology, assessment of the current situation, tables and maps, pro/con statements, and bibliographies of key resources. Html and pdf versions available. with reports published since 2001 in color. Includes full text.
Energy Citations Database
Searchable database of information on research sponsored by the US Department of Energy and its predecessors. Some full text online, ordering information for those not online.
Searchable gateway to documents in scientific and technical fields of concern to the US Department of Energy. Full text available.
FindArticles (Look Smart)
Searches for articles in approximately 900 magazines and journals. Emphasis on trade publications. Text only - no graphic content available. Some articles available to subscribers or for a fee only.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Search the tables of contents or full text of selected reference books in business, education, the environment, medicine biology, and the social sciences.
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
JSTOR Life Sciences Collection
Searchable full text of articles from selected scholarly journals in life sciences. No current issues available. Historical coverage varies, but database includes some titles from before 1950. Access to this database is made possible by Elisabeth R. Swain, PhD Endowment. Once you are in JSTOR, you are searching all of the University of Hartford owned JSTOR products.
Search for abstracts (and occasional full text of articles) across up to 15 databases related to energy science. Results from each database display in a separate window.
Research in primatology, covering ecology, biology, psychology, health sciences and other fields. Citations of articles in journals dating since 1940. Managed by the Wisconsin Primate Research Center, with funding from the National Institutes of Health. Bibliography.
Proquest Science Journals
Search full text and images for the leading periodicals in science and technology. Subject coverage includes computers, engineering, physics, telecommunications, and transportation. ProQuest Science Journals features over 620 titles - with more than 500 available in full text.
Public Library of Science
A nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a freely available public resource.
Science Resource Center
Information on the life, physical, and earth and space sciences from books, journals and reference works. Full text available.
This site is a free, publicly available web portal allowing access to numerous scientific journals and public science databases. Search for materials in the topics of astronomy, biology, chemistry, computers, environmental sciences, engineering, health and medicine, materials science, mathematics, physics, and social sciences. Full text. Also includes links to related sites.
SciFinder Scholar is an application that provides access to the CAS databases, Chemical Abstracts and Registry. You must use your University email account to register (example: email@example.com). Registration and use must occur on campus. Click this PDF for more detailed instructions: SciFinder Instructions (PDF)
TRID - The TRIS and ITRD Database
The TRIS/ITRD Online database contains over half a million records of published transportation research including technical reports, books, conference proceedings and journal articles. Currently there are almost 24,000 TRIS records with links to electronic copies of the full-text. The time span covers literature from the 1960s to the present, with some coverage of prior years. Highway Research Board publications are covered back to 1923. TRIS/ITRD coverage includes the disciplines of planning, finance, design and construction, materials, environmental issues, safety and human factors and operations for the modes of highways, transit, railroads, maritime and aviation. TRIS does not contain information on vehicle standards and specifications, patent information, market research, military transport or news articles.
Global science gateway—accelerating scientific discovery and progress through a multilateral partnership to enable federated searching of national and international scientific databases and portals.
Chemical Scorecard (Environmental Defense Fund)
Find information regarding type of chemicals released and the health risks associated. National ranking of polluters, maps locating toxic polluters by town, county and state, and includes regulatory controls.
Climate Analysis Branch
Includes a broad overview of climate diagnostics to research summaries on interseasonal/interannual climate variability.
Earth Island Institute
Develops and supports projects that counteract threats to the biological and cultural diversity that sustain the environment.
Energy Information Administration
EIA is an independent statistical and analytical agency within the US Department of Energy. Site maintains comprehensive data and information relevant to energy resources, Web links, production, demand and technology.
Provides the public with a single source for Environmental Protection Agency information, pollution levels, grants, toxic waste handlers, and related WWW sites.
Environmental Diseases from A to Z
Beyond the "alphabet diseases" is a site rich with suggested lesson plans, grades k-12, in environmental diseases, their causes, and some preventative measures.
Environmental Network News
ENN covers environmental issues all over the globe. Their categories includeA: wildlife, agriculture, energy, polluntion, health and more. The archive goes back to 1970.
Environmental Planning Online (UC Berkeley)
A selection of websites pertaining to environmental planning, supporting landscape architecture, environmental planning, and city planning programs at the University of California, Berkeley.
EVE (Ecofeminist Visions Emerging) Online is an important site for the international ecofeminist community providing essays on the subject and links to other related sites as well as a bibliography of important books.
Fuel Economy (US Department of Energy)
Information on mileage, emissions, safety, etc. for new and used cars and trucks. Provides additional information on fuel economy and advanced technology, as well as links to related sites.
Global Development Research Center
Independent nonprofit think tank that carries out initiatives in education, research and practice, in the spheres of environment, urban, community and information, and at scales that are effective.
International Spill Control Organization
Aims to raise worldwide preparedness and co-operation in response to oil and chemical spills, to promote technical development and professional competency, and to provide a focus for making the knowledge and experience of spill control professionals available to IMO, UNEP, EC and other organisations. Has International Directory for Spill Responses on page.
Science, engineering, and technology page for best web resources, education, and research.
Renewable Energy Policy Project
Internet Information Service of the Center for Renewable Energy and Sustainable Technology. Links to documents, databases, discussion groups, and organizations.
ResearchGate is a social and professional network for researchers and
scientists with many features designed specifically for the sciences:
a search engine that searches 7 major databases (e.g., PubMed, NASA,
IEEE) and thousands of smaller Open Access ones, self-archiving,
information on thousands of journals and publishers, an events board,
job listings, file-sharing, a blogging platform, and much more.
Searchable gateway to science and technology information from US government science agencies. Information available in fields including pure and applied sciences, health sciences, and science education.
Secrets of the Ice
Inspired by a four-year Antarctica expedition, the site will follow progress and report latest findings regarding climate, environment, ice core research.
ToxMap: Environmental Health e-Maps
Interactive, searchable maps linked to data from the EPA's Toxics Release Inventory and the Superfund National Priorities List. Maintained by the National Library of Medicine.
United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP-WCMC)
Purpose is the location and management of information on the conservation and use of the world's living resources. Site provides statistics, maps, national biodiversity profiles, and lists of threatened animals and plants (plants are available for Europe only).
National Statistics (UK)
Key statistics for the UK with selected figures for regions. Supplied by the Government Statistical Services, with links to other governmental departments, and related web sites.