Electrical Engineering - Subject Guide
Return to Subject Guide list
Return to Engineering category
Sections in this category:
General Resources
|
Dictionaries
|
Encyclopedias
General Resources
Alternative Energy
While there is significant discussion of the non-renewable resources now used to meet the majority of the world's energy needs (oil, coal and natural gas), the primary focus of the set is on newer options to meet the ever-growing demand.
Career Opportunities in Aviation & the Aerospace Industry
Mortensen Library Reference HD8039.A23 E285 2005
Check Status
Career Opportunities in Engineering
Career Services Shelves TA157 .M2135 2007
Check Status
Career Opportunities in the Automotive Industry
Career Services Shelves HD9710.A2 K46 2005
Check Status
Career Opportunities in the Energy Industry
Career Services Shelves TJ163.2 .T3485 2008
Check Status
Dictionary of Education (Greenwood)
Mortensen Library Reference LB15 .G68 2011
Check Status
Lasers
Discusses the scientific discovery and development of the use of high intensity light, called laser, and its use in our daily lives.
Profiles of Engineering & Engineering Technology Colleges
ASEE publishes the leading data on engineering colleges in the United States including both individual college statistics and national trends.
Dictionaries
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Energy
Provides easily accessible information about all aspects of energy, with articles written by leading international authorities, from Acid Deposition and Energy Use to World History and Energy
Worldwide Education Encyclopedia: a Survey of Educational Systems Worldwide
Mortensen Library Reference LB15 .W87 2002
Check Status
Broader Guides
Related Guides
Academic OneFile
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library. Updated daily.
Academic Search Premier
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.
Applied Science and Technology Index
Indexing of articles from over 400 English language journals covering technical fields, including engineering, computer science, mathematics, chemistry, physics, etc. Limited number of simultaneous users. Be sure to logout/exit before closing your browser.
Energy Citations Database
Searchable database of information on research sponsored by the US Department of Energy and its predecessors. Some full text online, ordering information for those not online.
E-Print Network
Searchable gateway to documents in scientific and technical fields of concern to the US Department of Energy. Full text available.
FindArticles (Look Smart)
Searches for articles in approximately 900 magazines and journals. Emphasis on trade publications. Text only - no graphic content available. Some articles available to subscribers or for a fee only.
Google Scholar
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.
National Institute of Standards and Technology Publication Portal
Includes many of the most recent publications of the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST).
PolySearch Energy
Search for abstracts (and occasional full text of articles) across up to 15 databases related to energy science. Results from each database display in a separate window.
Proquest Science Journals
Search full text and images for the leading periodicals in science and technology. Subject coverage includes computers, engineering, physics, telecommunications, and transportation. ProQuest Science Journals features over 620 titles - with more than 500 available in full text.
ScienceResearch.com
This site is a free, publicly available web portal allowing access to numerous scientific journals and public science databases. Search for materials in the topics of astronomy, biology, chemistry, computers, environmental sciences, engineering, health and medicine, materials science, mathematics, physics, and social sciences. Full text. Also includes links to related sites.
SciFinder
SciFinder Scholar is an application that provides access to the CAS databases, Chemical Abstracts and Registry. You must use your University email account to register (example: name@hartford.edu). Registration and use must occur on campus. Click this PDF for more detailed instructions:
SciFinder Instructions (PDF)
Link for registration:
SciFinder Registration
Scitation (AIP) and SPIN - formerly Online Journal Publishing Service
Free access to this index (some full text or abstracts) of more than 40 professional journals and 1 million articles in physics, engineering and computer science including full text for Physical Review & Physical Review Letters. SPIN contains 1.5 million articles from leading Physics publications. You may search Scitation and SPIN in one search or separately.
Broader Guides
Related Guides
Chaos at UMD (University of Maryland Chaos Group)
General information, publications (abstracts and/or full text), and pointers to additional sites on chaos and non -linear dynamics.
CMD First Source
Information about building products, construction industry news, building codes, architecture firms, and links to trade publications. Some sections require free registration.
EINet
Related to energy, gas, power generation and utilities. Links to academic, commercial, government, nonprofit organizations. Search engine included.
FREE - Federal Resources for Educational Excellence
Federally sponsored link of teaching and learning resources under subject categories
GlobalSpec
Specialized engineering information page. Find product and supplier information, or limit your search to "the engineering web" or specific types of engineering information on the web.
ResearchGate
ResearchGate is a social and professional network for researchers and
scientists with many features designed specifically for the sciences:
a search engine that searches 7 major databases (e.g., PubMed, NASA,
IEEE) and thousands of smaller Open Access ones, self-archiving,
information on thousands of journals and publishers, an events board,
job listings, file-sharing, a blogging platform, and much more.
TechTutorials
Free online tutorials on hardware, software, applications, etc. Designed for the "IT professional". New tutorials added constantly.
World Standards Services Network
Links to standards organizations around the world. Includes international, regional and national standardization activities.
Broader Guides
Related Guides